Skip to main content
9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 7, 2012 at 13:33 comment added DJClayworth @Martha I'm not a Latin scholar either, and I will defer if you think I'm wrong.
May 6, 2012 at 12:15 vote accept DavRob60
May 6, 2012 at 12:15 vote accept DavRob60
May 6, 2012 at 12:15
May 4, 2012 at 22:10 comment added user1030 I think debating the precise connotations of a ritualistic blessing removed by at least three translations is both not productive and off-topic; regardless of whether it means immanence or a form of favor or congruence, the Star Wars saying derives from it all the same.
May 4, 2012 at 21:16 comment added Martha @DJClayworth, granted, I'm not a Latin scholar, but as far as I know, Latin -cum has pretty much the same range of meanings as English with. In other words, "not against you" is certainly a possible meaning, but it's not the most probable one.
May 4, 2012 at 21:00 comment added DJClayworth Also, as I understand it in this blessing "with you" means "not against you" rather than "not absent from you", meaning the the question of the omnipresence of God or midichlorians is not an issue.
May 4, 2012 at 20:11 comment added Reinstate Monica - Goodbye SE Is this the fastest upvoted answer ever?
May 4, 2012 at 19:33 comment added user6168 Knowing the origins of this one in particular, and knowing the proper response of congregants to be "and also with you," some friends and I at the opening of Star Wars: Episode III agreed that we would respond accordingly. The joke was on me when they said nothing, and I received angry stares. I was thankful this was still overshadowed by the pre-show impromptu battle between a very rotund Darth Vader and a rather slender Obi-Wan, which resulted in two broken lightsabers.
May 4, 2012 at 13:04 history answered user1030 CC BY-SA 3.0