Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

7
  • 1
    I'm not sure how the letter 154 quote proves that he doesn't believe in absolute good - only that all the created beings in this world weren't absolutely good. Commented Jan 6, 2016 at 14:13
  • Interesting, but not what I'm after; I should perhaps have made it more clear that what I was looking for was related to Tolkien's fictional world, not necessarily his real-life opinions Commented Jan 6, 2016 at 17:06
  • @MattGutting - And that was actually the whole point (unless I misunderstood your statement which I might have); Tolkien didn't believe in absolute good or bad as applied to his LOTR and The Hobbit world and so used his characters and their actions and reactions to demonstrate accordingly.
    – Aith
    Commented Jan 7, 2016 at 10:13
  • @JasonBaker - Whoops! I guess I ought to have asked. I've actually been in the middle of re-reading The Silmarillion (ought to finish by tomorrow if not later tonight). If I happen to find a Silmarillion-specific quote (or another quote specific to his created world) which might answer your question, how ought I share it with you?
    – Aith
    Commented Jan 7, 2016 at 10:17
  • So is it by virtue of 'fundamentally religious' that Tolkien believes in the concept of absolute good and evil as applied to his world or does he actually state somewhere (like in a Letter) that he believes in absolutes in his world when in reality, there are several letters in the Letters book which go to lengths to describe how un-absolute his characters are and how important this is? In Letter 154, he's indignant about people boiling down his story to simplistic 'good versus evil' terms which is why he goes to lengths to explain how non-absolute his characters are.
    – Aith
    Commented Jan 7, 2016 at 12:05