Skip to main content

Timeline for The many usernames of SFF.SE

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 11 at 10:25 comment added Basya +1 especially for the dial phones and dinosaurs comment. I'm only a little younger, remember when phones had dials, and no, I'm sure you did not ride dinosaurs to school :-)
Mar 20, 2016 at 14:00 comment added rosesunhill Ha, ha! I remember party lines and "Operator, please get me . . ." I also remember 10 cent a gallon gas and 15 cent pizza. Or was it the other way around? I remember milk in glass bottles with the cream on top, I remember zzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Feb 2, 2016 at 3:05 comment added Möoz I'm not that old and I remember dial phones. I would wake up to the whirring and jarred-crunches of the dial-up modem tone; and the phrase "Get off the Internet, I need the phone" is in no way strange to me.
Jan 24, 2016 at 4:11 comment added Peregrine Rook Ah, yes; pay phones.  I think I saw one five or ten years ago.  And phone booths — I loved the scene in the Superman movie where Clark Kent runs up to a pay phone that's just a phone on a pole and regards it with a look on his face that says, "So where can I change into my costume?"
Jan 23, 2016 at 23:25 comment added Slytherincess I, too, remember the joys of the rotary phone! Also, pay phones on every corner, leaded gas, and drive-in movie theaters :D
Oct 16, 2015 at 8:03 comment added user14111 Ha! I remember before telephones had dials.
Oct 16, 2015 at 7:23 history answered Peregrine Rook CC BY-SA 3.0