Skip to main content

Timeline for RIP Ursula Le Guin

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Dec 19, 2020 at 21:35 history edited Rand al'ThorMod CC BY-SA 4.0
edited body; edited title
Feb 5, 2018 at 7:58 comment added Nic I read about a dozen books by Le Guin over the course of a few years without ever realizing it was the same author. It was only when I was putting together a list of books I'd loved for an assignment that I realized that her name kept popping up, over and over. I think I speak for everyone when I say her loss is a loss for the entire species.
Jan 25, 2018 at 23:27 comment added Wildcard My sole exposure to Le Guin has been the Catwings books, but I found them delightful and shared them with my son. Perhaps I shall pick up her better known works as well.
Jan 25, 2018 at 15:13 comment added user65648 To me, Le Guin is one of the few who could see beyond the capitalist system and describe a perfectly functioning anarcho-communist society to skeptics. Her works, while being one of the best sci-fi works I ever read, are much more than sci-fi. I will miss her.
Jan 25, 2018 at 13:42 comment added razethestray Whilst not my favourite fantasy series, I've never read anything that so effectively evokes a fear of darkness and shadows as the Earthsea books (not even Lovecraft), nor a magical system as interesting as the 'true name' concept. Definitely a very notable series and author. I should try some of her other works.
Jan 24, 2018 at 22:40 history tweeted twitter.com/StackSciFi/status/956295784131112960
Jan 24, 2018 at 18:58 comment added KRyan @Radhil I didn’t realize The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas was LeGuin! I read it in high school; excellent story. Earthsea has been on my to-read list for ages, and I never realized I had actually already read something by her.
Jan 24, 2018 at 14:03 comment added Radhil I admit to never really understanding Earthsea, but someone handed me a collection that had The Ones Who Walk Away From Omelas, which clawed into a deep place and never let go. I'll miss her.
Jan 24, 2018 at 6:07 comment added Adamant So sad. Her mother lived to a very old age. I had hoped she'd stay with us into her 90s or beyond.
Jan 24, 2018 at 0:38 comment added Helbent IV Le Guin influenced me more than perhaps any other sci-fi/fantasy writer I've read. I've always marveled at her ability to write so concisely, while still creating worlds rich with cultural and philosophical trappings. The Earthsea series remains of my all time favorites to this day (I swear, if I read one more Amazon review calling them "A poor man's Harry Potter"...), particularly The Tombs of Atuan.
Jan 23, 2018 at 23:06 history asked Rand al'ThorMod CC BY-SA 3.0