Skip to main content
deleted 1 character in body
Source Link
KorvinStarmast
  • 143.9k
  • 35
  • 475
  • 764

What bothered me in playing a wild magic sorcerorWild Magic sorcerer whose backstory has their magic out of control but building up the more magic he uses(or conversely his resistance to it goes down) is that I could cast cantrips till the cows came home with no chance of a surge. t It just doesn't seem right or sensible. At this level 2 I am finding cantrips very effective and so far see little need to dip into level spells. The idea the DM and I are discussing is rolling a chance for a surge after so many cantrips, say 10. I also like the idea mentioned here that chances go up under combat stress - which would match my personality as well. I admit I have not yet fully gotten my head around Tides of Chaos so maybe that is another way to scratch my itch.

What bothered me in playing a wild magic sorceror whose backstory has their magic out of control but building up the more magic he uses(or conversely his resistance to it goes down) is that I could cast cantrips till the cows came home with no chance of a surge. t just doesn't seem right or sensible. At this level 2 I am finding cantrips very effective and so far see little need to dip into level spells. The idea the DM and I are discussing is rolling a chance for a surge after so many cantrips, say 10. I also like the idea mentioned here that chances go up under combat stress - which would match my personality as well. I admit I have not yet fully gotten my head around Tides of Chaos so maybe that is another way to scratch my itch.

What bothered me in playing a Wild Magic sorcerer whose backstory has their magic out of control but building up the more magic he uses(or conversely his resistance to it goes down) is that I could cast cantrips till the cows came home with no chance of a surge. It just doesn't seem right or sensible. At this level 2 I am finding cantrips very effective and so far see little need to dip into level spells. The idea the DM and I are discussing is rolling a chance for a surge after so many cantrips, say 10. I also like the idea mentioned here that chances go up under combat stress - which would match my personality as well. I admit I have not yet fully gotten my head around Tides of Chaos so maybe that is another way to scratch my itch.

Source Link

What bothered me in playing a wild magic sorceror whose backstory has their magic out of control but building up the more magic he uses(or conversely his resistance to it goes down) is that I could cast cantrips till the cows came home with no chance of a surge. t just doesn't seem right or sensible. At this level 2 I am finding cantrips very effective and so far see little need to dip into level spells. The idea the DM and I are discussing is rolling a chance for a surge after so many cantrips, say 10. I also like the idea mentioned here that chances go up under combat stress - which would match my personality as well. I admit I have not yet fully gotten my head around Tides of Chaos so maybe that is another way to scratch my itch.