Skip to main content
deleted 2 characters in body
Source Link
Eddymage
  • 31.6k
  • 3
  • 82
  • 166

Following the suggestions from the answers to my previous question, the Javelin of LightningJavelin of Lightning was the baseline for damage and save DC, but I modified the AoE and the damage to the target:

 

Is this magic weapon appropriate for a 2nd tier (level 10) Barbarian? In particular I have the following concerns: Is this magic weapon appropriate for a 2nd tier (level 10) Barbarian? In particular I have the following concerns:

Following the suggestions from the answers to my previous question, the Javelin of Lightning was the baseline for damage and save DC, but I modified the AoE and the damage to the target:

Is this magic weapon appropriate for a 2nd tier (level 10) Barbarian? In particular I have the following concerns:

Following the suggestions from the answers to my previous question, the Javelin of Lightning was the baseline for damage and save DC, but I modified the AoE and the damage to the target:

 

Is this magic weapon appropriate for a 2nd tier (level 10) Barbarian? In particular I have the following concerns:

edited body
Source Link
Eddymage
  • 31.6k
  • 3
  • 82
  • 166
  • If used on a single target, the damage is 4d63d6 rather than 3d64d6 because with 3 charges this can be done 3 times per day, instead of only once as for the Javelin. Moreover, in this way the damage output is only slightly larger than the expected damage of a normal attack (1d6+7, under rage).
  • The range has increased to 40/80 ft.
  • She throws a copy of the handaxe, instead of the weapon itself: this is meant to be a replacement of the classical returning property (like Mjöllnir's), I designed in this way to add some flavor and cinematic.
  • The weapon counts as magical, even if it does not have any +1 to attack roll or damage.
  • I removed the attunement requirement.
  • If used on a single target, the damage is 4d6 rather than 3d6 because with 3 charges this can be done 3 times per day, instead of only once as for the Javelin. Moreover, in this way the damage output is only slightly larger than the expected damage of a normal attack (1d6+7, under rage).
  • The range has increased to 40/80 ft.
  • She throws a copy of the handaxe, instead of the weapon itself: this is meant to be a replacement of the classical returning property (like Mjöllnir's), I designed in this way to add some flavor and cinematic.
  • The weapon counts as magical, even if it does not have any +1 to attack roll or damage.
  • I removed the attunement requirement.
  • If used on a single target, the damage is 3d6 rather than 4d6 because with 3 charges this can be done 3 times per day, instead of only once as for the Javelin. Moreover, in this way the damage output is only slightly larger than the expected damage of a normal attack (1d6+7, under rage).
  • The range has increased to 40/80 ft.
  • She throws a copy of the handaxe, instead of the weapon itself: this is meant to be a replacement of the classical returning property (like Mjöllnir's), I designed in this way to add some flavor and cinematic.
  • The weapon counts as magical, even if it does not have any +1 to attack roll or damage.
  • I removed the attunement requirement.
Formatting and clarifying. It said force damage but I am sure, lightning damage was meant.
Source Link
Anagkai
  • 16.6k
  • 6
  • 64
  • 133

Following the suggestions from the answers to my previous question, the javelin of lightningJavelin of Lightning was the baseline for damage and save DC, but I modified the AoE and the damage to the target.:

  • If used on a single target, I reduced the damage fromis 4d6 torather than 3d6 because with 3 charges this can be done 3 times per day, instead of only once as for the javelinJavelin. Moreover, in this way the damage output is only slightly larger than the expected damage of a normal attack (1d6+7, under rage).
  • The range has increased to 40/80 ft.
  • She throws a copy of the handaxe, instead of the weapon itself: this is meant to be a replacement of the classical returning property (like Mjöllnir's), I designed in this way to add some flavor and cinematic.
  • The weapon counts as magical, even if it does not have any +1 to attack roll or damage.
  • I removed the attunement requirement.

Down below I list some doubts that I still have.Is this magic weapon appropriate for a 2nd tier (level 10) Barbarian? In particular I have the following concerns:

  • Maybe the description of the point of origin of the cone is quite convoluted: but I wanted to emphasize that the point of origin must be in a particular position and that it cannot be chosenpositioned anywhere.
  • I allowed thatallow the damage of the AoE affectsto also affect the original target of the ranged attack. Indeed, even against a single target, the Barbarian can still use this feature using 2 charges. If all the charges are spent against a single target (2 for the AoE and 1 for the other attack), assuming that she hits all the times, a grand total of 10d6 (or 8d6, if the STsaving throw is successful) forcelightning damage is dealt, against 9d6 using 3 separate charges: from a damage point of view I do not see so much differences, I think it leaves some strategy to the player, but maybe I am missing something here.
  • I doubled the range, but I wonder if it sufficient.
  • With 3 charges, she can use the AoE once per day: this was deliberate, because I do not want her to replace the role of the spellcasters with AoE spells (which already are difficult to put in place, since the melee fighters are always close to enemies).
  • for a soon-to-be 10 level barbarian, maybe the damage is too low: should it be a +1 weapon?

Maybe there are some other issues that I fail to see.

Following the suggestions from the answers to my previous question, the javelin of lightning was the baseline for damage and DC, but I modified AoE and damage to the target.

  • If used on a single target, I reduced the damage from 4d6 to 3d6 because with 3 charges this can be done 3 times per day, instead once as for the javelin. Moreover, in this way the damage output is only slightly larger than the expected damage of a normal attack (1d6+7, under rage).
  • The range has increased to 40/80 ft.
  • She throws a copy of the handaxe, instead of the weapon itself: this is meant to be a replacement of the classical returning property (like Mjöllnir's), I designed in this way to add some flavor and cinematic.
  • The weapon counts as magical, even if it does not have any +1 to attack roll or damage.
  • I removed the attunement requirement.

Down below I list some doubts that I still have.

  • Maybe the description of the point of origin of the cone is quite convoluted: but I wanted to emphasize that the point of origin must be in a particular position and that it cannot be chosen anywhere.
  • I allowed that the damage of the AoE affects also the original target of the ranged attack. Indeed, even against a single target, the Barbarian can still use this feature using 2 charges. If all the charges are spent against a single target (2 for the AoE and 1 for the other attack), assuming that she hits all the times, a grand total of 10d6 (or 8d6, if the ST is successful) force damage is dealt, against 9d6 using 3 separate charges: from a damage point of view I do not see so much differences, I think it leaves some strategy to the player, but maybe I am missing something here.
  • I doubled the range, but I wonder if it sufficient.
  • With 3 charges, she can use the AoE once per day: this was deliberate, because I do not want her to replace the role of the spellcasters with AoE spells (which already are difficult to put in place, since the melee fighters are always close to enemies).
  • for a soon-to-be 10 level barbarian, maybe the damage is too low: should it be a +1 weapon?

Maybe there are some other issues that I fail to see.

Following the suggestions from the answers to my previous question, the Javelin of Lightning was the baseline for damage and save DC, but I modified the AoE and the damage to the target:

  • If used on a single target, the damage is 4d6 rather than 3d6 because with 3 charges this can be done 3 times per day, instead of only once as for the Javelin. Moreover, in this way the damage output is only slightly larger than the expected damage of a normal attack (1d6+7, under rage).
  • The range has increased to 40/80 ft.
  • She throws a copy of the handaxe, instead of the weapon itself: this is meant to be a replacement of the classical returning property (like Mjöllnir's), I designed in this way to add some flavor and cinematic.
  • The weapon counts as magical, even if it does not have any +1 to attack roll or damage.
  • I removed the attunement requirement.

Is this magic weapon appropriate for a 2nd tier (level 10) Barbarian? In particular I have the following concerns:

  • Maybe the description of the point of origin of the cone is quite convoluted: I wanted to emphasize that the point of origin must be in a particular position and that it cannot be positioned anywhere.
  • I allow the damage of the AoE to also affect the original target of the ranged attack. Indeed, even against a single target, the Barbarian can still use this feature using 2 charges. If all the charges are spent against a single target (2 for the AoE and 1 for the other attack), assuming that she hits all the times, a grand total of 10d6 (or 8d6, if the saving throw is successful) lightning damage is dealt, against 9d6 using 3 separate charges: from a damage point of view I do not see so much differences, I think it leaves some strategy to the player, but maybe I am missing something here.
  • I doubled the range, but I wonder if it sufficient.
  • With 3 charges, she can use the AoE once per day: this was deliberate, because I do not want her to replace the role of the spellcasters with AoE spells (which already are difficult to put in place, since the melee fighters are always close to enemies).
  • for a soon-to-be 10 level barbarian, maybe the damage is too low: should it be a +1 weapon?
edited body; edited title
Source Link
Laurel
  • 4.2k
  • 2
  • 21
  • 43
Loading
Source Link
Eddymage
  • 31.6k
  • 3
  • 82
  • 166
Loading