Skip to main content

Timeline for Homebrew Parchment Golem monster

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

16 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 16, 2023 at 5:14 comment added Xisnue Also both suggest 72 hours before making an edit/post.
Feb 16, 2023 at 5:13 comment added Xisnue @MivaScott when looking into the homebrew review precedent that's been agreed on, I've seen statements that seem to suggest both edits and new posts of the same idea are valid. Idk what may help get better feedback, probably a new post; but I'm worried if this topic gets searched again it will be filled with multiple versions of this topic, and it may not even be what they're looking for.
Feb 15, 2023 at 21:16 comment added MivaScott @Xisnue, you shouldn't update the original question beyond formatting and typos. If you implement changes and improvements it invalidates existing answers. For instance, if you updated the immunities, then this answer looks stupid because they are taking about a problem that doesn't exist. Or making suggestions that are already included in the now edited question. So you should leave this be for at least 72 hours, then create a new question with your improvements that reference this question. I have a home brew bard class that is up to v4
Feb 15, 2023 at 20:43 comment added Xisnue @Trish I keep getting mixed messages on this, so I'm just gonna follow pre existing protocol.
Feb 14, 2023 at 19:05 comment added Trish @Xisnue no, you can not edit this post, it would invalidate answers.
Feb 14, 2023 at 18:39 comment added Xisnue @Alan so add a resistance to even magical bludgeoning lol. That could be interesting.
Feb 14, 2023 at 18:38 comment added Xisnue @Trish there's a waiting period before I can edit or post a revision. I would prefer just to edit this post and properly acknowledge the answers that have been implemented, but it does look like there's precedent to just post the same monster idea anew with any changes.
Feb 14, 2023 at 15:18 comment added Alan I'd personally consider moving the damage resistance to bashing. Paper beats rock, after all :)
Feb 14, 2023 at 13:20 comment added Trish @Xisnue if you want someone to look over your revised creature, ask a new question with the new statistics.
Feb 14, 2023 at 8:06 comment added Xisnue I can see several things I can immediately change, and I hope I can uncover more info to refine this encounter. Thank you for your time and input.
Feb 14, 2023 at 8:06 comment added Xisnue I should add what they look like in my head, may help emphasize why I see them fighting the party the way they do. I'll add an edit with that when I get a chance. Fire is an immunity from the Palimpsest, why as a construct it has that specifically I'm not sure, would appreciate additional info. Flesh Golems are immune to Swords that aren't Magic or Adamantine, despite swords being specifically designed to cut flesh. I am leaning towards making them resist non magical slashing rather than immunity, as maybe even golem magic can't make paper completely immune.
Feb 14, 2023 at 8:05 comment added Xisnue Tbf paper looks out of place in many settings with medieval tech, but it was a feature on a lot of constructs. I wouldn't expect the DC for a player to be suspicious to be anything contestable in most scenarios. Except if the party felled a number of these golems already, and the survivors hide among the 'dead' to blend in. Should definitely alter this feature for just hiding among paper, as 1 by itself would likely stand out even to a 5 Int PC.
Feb 14, 2023 at 8:04 comment added Xisnue Find it weird you point out how grapples normally work, then acknowledge that this feature comes from straight from the Rug of Smothering, which is a grapple from an Attack Roll. Even with minimal damage (0 being possible because paper), and easily broken grapples, being restrained while grappled is a dangerous precedent when there's over a dozen of this monster potentially ganging up on a PC. I should probably drop the DC for this feature.
Feb 14, 2023 at 7:13 comment added Mołot @TheDragonOfFlame paper mache look doesn't fit the False Appearance trait.
Feb 14, 2023 at 0:01 comment added TheDragonOfFlame I was picturing paper mache, though I don’t know if that’s what OP was thinking.
Feb 13, 2023 at 22:24 history answered MivaScott CC BY-SA 4.0