Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 11, 2020 at 18:51 comment added Mark Wells This seems like it could be fixed in the wording of the feature, if the intent is to allow casting cantrips: "You may spend a spell slot one level higher than the spell's level to both cast the spell and make an attack..."
Mar 11, 2020 at 16:05 vote accept mjmartis
Mar 11, 2020 at 15:59 comment added mjmartis Ah - thank you for that context which I was not aware of. I would still contest that you can cast cantrips using spell slots in RAW, since a cantrip's spell level is 0 (PHB pg 201), nothing in the "Casting a Spell at a Higher Level" rules (PHB pg 201) excludes 0th level spells, and there is no relevant errata (media.wizards.com/2018/dnd/downloads/PH-Errata.pdf). However, I understand that it makes this feature more problematic. Edit: my apologies, your latter link addresses my concern. I agree that (even in RAW) this feature doesn't work as I intended.
Mar 11, 2020 at 15:51 comment added MikeQ @mjmartis Cantrips don't expend spell slots. In 5E, you can't expend a spell slot to cast a cantrip. Can a cantrip be cast using a higher-level spell slot?, Can I cast cantrips using spell slots to get a more potent effect?
Mar 11, 2020 at 15:42 comment added mjmartis To be more explicit: I believe the wording of the feature would allow a 1st level War Cleric to make an attack when they cast a cantrip like Sacred Flame by expending a 1st level spell slot.
Mar 11, 2020 at 15:20 history answered Chowlett CC BY-SA 4.0