Skip to main content
Mod Moved Comments To Chat
added 111 characters in body
Source Link
user-781943
  • 21.8k
  • 3
  • 80
  • 138

Talk to them

I know you probably know you need to talk to Hannah and the DM. Everyone knows it is the right thing to do. Confrontation is hard, but it is the only way that will resolve this kind of problem.

Remind them that you are all there to have fun playing a game together. Don't try to place blame, just state what you don't like and why. Be honest, be clear about what the problem is, and what kind of solution will work for you. Talk with everyone present.

When the whole group is gathered up, tell them "listen"I enjoy playing games with all of you, but I am not having fun with this game any more because I feel that Hannah's sword is overpowered, and the ability to silence people in real life is demeaning. This has left me bummed out and annoyed, and we seriously considered executing Hannah's character but we know they like their character a lot, so I want to talk it out instead."

Leaving is a last resort

I do not recommend leaving without talking to them first. At some point you enjoyed this game and clearly you still want to keep playing. Discussion helps people understand each other better, most of the time if you are clear and firm about your expectations people are willing to meet them and as a result your game and friendships will improve.

If you absolutely can't work something out, then consider leaving.

Talk to them

I know you probably know you need to talk to Hannah and the DM. Everyone knows it is the right thing to do. Confrontation is hard, but it is the only way that will resolve this kind of problem. Don't try to place blame, just state what you don't like and why. Be honest, be clear about what the problem is, and what kind of solution will work for you. Talk with everyone present.

When the whole group is gathered up, tell them "listen, I am not having fun with this game any more because I feel that Hannah's sword is overpowered, and the ability to silence people in real life is demeaning. This has left me bummed out and annoyed, and we seriously considered executing Hannah's character but we know they like their character a lot, so I want to talk it out instead."

I do not recommend leaving without talking to them first. At some point you enjoyed this game and clearly you still want to keep playing. If you absolutely can't work something out, then consider leaving.

Talk to them

I know you probably know you need to talk to Hannah and the DM. Everyone knows it is the right thing to do. Confrontation is hard, but it is the only way that will resolve this kind of problem.

Remind them that you are all there to have fun playing a game together. Don't try to place blame, just state what you don't like and why. Be honest, be clear about what the problem is, and what kind of solution will work for you. Talk with everyone present.

When the whole group is gathered up, tell them "I enjoy playing games with all of you, but I am not having fun with this game any more because I feel that Hannah's sword is overpowered, and the ability to silence people in real life is demeaning. This has left me bummed out and annoyed, and we seriously considered executing Hannah's character but we know they like their character a lot, so I want to talk it out instead."

Leaving is a last resort

I do not recommend leaving without talking to them first. At some point you enjoyed this game and clearly you still want to keep playing. Discussion helps people understand each other better, most of the time if you are clear and firm about your expectations people are willing to meet them and as a result your game and friendships will improve.

If you absolutely can't work something out, then consider leaving.

Source Link
user-781943
  • 21.8k
  • 3
  • 80
  • 138

Talk to them

I know you probably know you need to talk to Hannah and the DM. Everyone knows it is the right thing to do. Confrontation is hard, but it is the only way that will resolve this kind of problem. Don't try to place blame, just state what you don't like and why. Be honest, be clear about what the problem is, and what kind of solution will work for you. Talk with everyone present.

When the whole group is gathered up, tell them "listen, I am not having fun with this game any more because I feel that Hannah's sword is overpowered, and the ability to silence people in real life is demeaning. This has left me bummed out and annoyed, and we seriously considered executing Hannah's character but we know they like their character a lot, so I want to talk it out instead."

I do not recommend leaving without talking to them first. At some point you enjoyed this game and clearly you still want to keep playing. If you absolutely can't work something out, then consider leaving.