Skip to main content
deleted 3 characters in body
Source Link
Ben
  • 23.1k
  • 25
  • 101
  • 185

Sometimes you just gotta put your foot down.

I have actually been in a very similar situation myself, from the player's perspective. I wanted to try and free some slaves from captivity, and I had a whole plan formulated. Using stealth, and a few of my druidic spells, I could slip past the guards, and free the prisoners. However, the ultimate outcome was that it was me, vs 5 very highly trained, and well armed guards. It would not work, no matter how you spun it.

If you can't explain to the player that the plan won't work, you can eitherneed to put your foot down, and state that it won't work. Talk to the player, and explain that the situation is unfeasible. The PC is not a one-man army, the party is not a 4-man army. You'll end up in jail, best case scenario. Stop wasting time, because it's hindering the gameplay.

That said...

The player's investment in this task could potentially open up a sidequest. Right now, the target is well protected behind walls and guards, but maybe, somewhere down the line, they may become exposed. Perhaps somewhere in a future game, you can drop a hint to the player, maybe another NPC is clued in to the target's activities, and has learned of an opening. This could be the opportunity they're looking for. Player investment can't always be dealt with on the spot, but it should not be denied, if you can help it.

Sometimes you just gotta put your foot down.

I have actually been in a very similar situation myself, from the player's perspective. I wanted to try and free some slaves from captivity, and I had a whole plan formulated. Using stealth, and a few of my druidic spells, I could slip past the guards, and free the prisoners. However, the ultimate outcome was that it was me, vs 5 very highly trained, and well armed guards. It would not work, no matter how you spun it.

If you can't explain to the player that the plan won't work, you can either put your foot down, and state that it won't work. Talk to the player, and explain that the situation is unfeasible. The PC is not a one-man army, the party is not a 4-man army. You'll end up in jail, best case scenario. Stop wasting time, because it's hindering the gameplay.

That said...

The player's investment in this task could potentially open up a sidequest. Right now, the target is well protected behind walls and guards, but maybe, somewhere down the line, they may become exposed. Perhaps somewhere in a future game, you can drop a hint to the player, maybe another NPC is clued in to the target's activities, and has learned of an opening. This could be the opportunity they're looking for. Player investment can't always be dealt with on the spot, but it should not be denied, if you can help it.

Sometimes you just gotta put your foot down.

I have actually been in a very similar situation myself, from the player's perspective. I wanted to try and free some slaves from captivity, and I had a whole plan formulated. Using stealth, and a few of my druidic spells, I could slip past the guards, and free the prisoners. However, the ultimate outcome was that it was me, vs 5 very highly trained, and well armed guards. It would not work, no matter how you spun it.

If you can't explain to the player that the plan won't work, you need to put your foot down, and state that it won't work. Talk to the player, and explain that the situation is unfeasible. The PC is not a one-man army, the party is not a 4-man army. You'll end up in jail, best case scenario. Stop wasting time, because it's hindering the gameplay.

That said...

The player's investment in this task could potentially open up a sidequest. Right now, the target is well protected behind walls and guards, but maybe, somewhere down the line, they may become exposed. Perhaps somewhere in a future game, you can drop a hint to the player, maybe another NPC is clued in to the target's activities, and has learned of an opening. This could be the opportunity they're looking for. Player investment can't always be dealt with on the spot, but it should not be denied, if you can help it.

Source Link
Ben
  • 23.1k
  • 25
  • 101
  • 185

Sometimes you just gotta put your foot down.

I have actually been in a very similar situation myself, from the player's perspective. I wanted to try and free some slaves from captivity, and I had a whole plan formulated. Using stealth, and a few of my druidic spells, I could slip past the guards, and free the prisoners. However, the ultimate outcome was that it was me, vs 5 very highly trained, and well armed guards. It would not work, no matter how you spun it.

If you can't explain to the player that the plan won't work, you can either put your foot down, and state that it won't work. Talk to the player, and explain that the situation is unfeasible. The PC is not a one-man army, the party is not a 4-man army. You'll end up in jail, best case scenario. Stop wasting time, because it's hindering the gameplay.

That said...

The player's investment in this task could potentially open up a sidequest. Right now, the target is well protected behind walls and guards, but maybe, somewhere down the line, they may become exposed. Perhaps somewhere in a future game, you can drop a hint to the player, maybe another NPC is clued in to the target's activities, and has learned of an opening. This could be the opportunity they're looking for. Player investment can't always be dealt with on the spot, but it should not be denied, if you can help it.