Skip to main content
removed all-caps for emphasis
Source Link
V2Blast
  • 50.1k
  • 10
  • 221
  • 305

What I did

I am currently playing a similar character, except mine is a secret operative for the other side of the war with orders to assassinate a particular officer, rather than a serial killer. I took the approach of creating an alter-ego for my cover RP, and also creating a "real" personality/voice for my actual character. I also opted for doing all of my sneaking off screen. I usually have a conversation with my DM the following day to handle what I did, this usually involves any necessary rolls.

Additionally, if I want to do something secretly during a session, I text my DM who knows that I may text him with a secret action. He will usually quickly text back what roll he wants, I roll and relay my roll, then depending on the action he either says "you succeed/fail" or he will work it into the narrative. It is working out extremely well and is very fun for me, and also very fun for my DM who was actually hoping someone would want to play a double agent. It does require a TON of communication and also trust on the DM's part that you won't do something to horribly derail the campaign or get the party in trouble.

Work VERYvery closely with your DM

Any time you want to do secretive things (like being a secret serial killer) you need to work very closely with your DM and check before-hand to make sure your DM is ok with it. Keeping it off screen is a great way to handle it, and can even add a great element of surprise for the rest of your group when your actions begin to have consequences, but if you keep it from your DM then it didn't really happen.

DM's word is law.

Manage your expectations

While you think the idea is great, your DM might not really be into it. They might have reservations or not want to risk you messing up the campaign with a stupid action. If you try to do something that concerns them they might say "no". You will have to be prepared to be denied doing something you want to. Also, your off-screen actions will have on-screen consequences. Be fully prepared to be targeted, arrested, or even killed. At the end of the day, the campaign is for all the players and the DM, not just for you.

Lastly, some characters must end

With a secret character like this it is likely that you will be found out at some point. If this happens and nobody else at the table (DM included) seems to be enjoying playing with your character anymore, hang up your hat. Have the character die, run away, whatever, but don't sacrifice the fun of the party for a character that is likely to get the party killed or is taking away fun for the rest of the table.

That isn't to say immediately give it up....there are some great RP and character development opportunities hiding behind being caught at being a serial killer. If they discover it late enough, the party might even vouch for you or try to help you. I love some good RP driven character development. My point is at the end of the day you are all [hopefully] friends getting together to have fun. Pay attention to the mood of the party. If you are the only one having fun, you need to rethink your strategy.

What I did

I am currently playing a similar character, except mine is a secret operative for the other side of the war with orders to assassinate a particular officer, rather than a serial killer. I took the approach of creating an alter-ego for my cover RP, and also creating a "real" personality/voice for my actual character. I also opted for doing all of my sneaking off screen. I usually have a conversation with my DM the following day to handle what I did, this usually involves any necessary rolls.

Additionally, if I want to do something secretly during a session, I text my DM who knows that I may text him with a secret action. He will usually quickly text back what roll he wants, I roll and relay my roll, then depending on the action he either says "you succeed/fail" or he will work it into the narrative. It is working out extremely well and is very fun for me, and also very fun for my DM who was actually hoping someone would want to play a double agent. It does require a TON of communication and also trust on the DM's part that you won't do something to horribly derail the campaign or get the party in trouble.

Work VERY closely with your DM

Any time you want to do secretive things (like being a secret serial killer) you need to work very closely with your DM and check before-hand to make sure your DM is ok with it. Keeping it off screen is a great way to handle it, and can even add a great element of surprise for the rest of your group when your actions begin to have consequences, but if you keep it from your DM then it didn't really happen.

DM's word is law.

Manage your expectations

While you think the idea is great, your DM might not really be into it. They might have reservations or not want to risk you messing up the campaign with a stupid action. If you try to do something that concerns them they might say "no". You will have to be prepared to be denied doing something you want to. Also, your off-screen actions will have on-screen consequences. Be fully prepared to be targeted, arrested, or even killed. At the end of the day, the campaign is for all the players and the DM, not just for you.

Lastly, some characters must end

With a secret character like this it is likely that you will be found out at some point. If this happens and nobody else at the table (DM included) seems to be enjoying playing with your character anymore, hang up your hat. Have the character die, run away, whatever, but don't sacrifice the fun of the party for a character that is likely to get the party killed or is taking away fun for the rest of the table.

That isn't to say immediately give it up....there are some great RP and character development opportunities hiding behind being caught at being a serial killer. If they discover it late enough, the party might even vouch for you or try to help you. I love some good RP driven character development. My point is at the end of the day you are all [hopefully] friends getting together to have fun. Pay attention to the mood of the party. If you are the only one having fun, you need to rethink your strategy.

What I did

I am currently playing a similar character, except mine is a secret operative for the other side of the war with orders to assassinate a particular officer, rather than a serial killer. I took the approach of creating an alter-ego for my cover RP, and also creating a "real" personality/voice for my actual character. I also opted for doing all of my sneaking off screen. I usually have a conversation with my DM the following day to handle what I did, this usually involves any necessary rolls.

Additionally, if I want to do something secretly during a session, I text my DM who knows that I may text him with a secret action. He will usually quickly text back what roll he wants, I roll and relay my roll, then depending on the action he either says "you succeed/fail" or he will work it into the narrative. It is working out extremely well and is very fun for me, and also very fun for my DM who was actually hoping someone would want to play a double agent. It does require a TON of communication and also trust on the DM's part that you won't do something to horribly derail the campaign or get the party in trouble.

Work very closely with your DM

Any time you want to do secretive things (like being a secret serial killer) you need to work very closely with your DM and check before-hand to make sure your DM is ok with it. Keeping it off screen is a great way to handle it, and can even add a great element of surprise for the rest of your group when your actions begin to have consequences, but if you keep it from your DM then it didn't really happen.

DM's word is law.

Manage your expectations

While you think the idea is great, your DM might not really be into it. They might have reservations or not want to risk you messing up the campaign with a stupid action. If you try to do something that concerns them they might say "no". You will have to be prepared to be denied doing something you want to. Also, your off-screen actions will have on-screen consequences. Be fully prepared to be targeted, arrested, or even killed. At the end of the day, the campaign is for all the players and the DM, not just for you.

Lastly, some characters must end

With a secret character like this it is likely that you will be found out at some point. If this happens and nobody else at the table (DM included) seems to be enjoying playing with your character anymore, hang up your hat. Have the character die, run away, whatever, but don't sacrifice the fun of the party for a character that is likely to get the party killed or is taking away fun for the rest of the table.

That isn't to say immediately give it up....there are some great RP and character development opportunities hiding behind being caught at being a serial killer. If they discover it late enough, the party might even vouch for you or try to help you. I love some good RP driven character development. My point is at the end of the day you are all [hopefully] friends getting together to have fun. Pay attention to the mood of the party. If you are the only one having fun, you need to rethink your strategy.

added 126 characters in body
Source Link
Newbie12345
  • 1.8k
  • 2
  • 10
  • 26

What I did

I am currently playing a similar character, except mine is a secret operative for the other side of the war with orders to assassinate a particular officer, rather than a serial killer. I took the approach of creating an alter-ego for my cover RP, and also creating a "real" personality/voice for my actual character. I also opted for doing all of my sneaking off screen. I usually have a conversation with my DM the following day to handle what I did, this usually involves any necessary rolls.

Additionally, if I want to do something secretly during a session, I text my DM who knows that I may text him with a secret action. He will usually quickly text back what roll he wants, I roll and relay my roll, then depending on the action he either says "you succeed/fail" or he will work it into the narrative. It is working out extremely well and is very fun for me, and also very fun for my DM who was actually hoping someone would want to play a double agent. It does require a TON of communication and also trust on the DM's part that you won't do something to horribly derail the campaign or get the party in trouble.

Work VERY closely with your DM

Any time you want to do secretive things (like being a secret serial killer) you need to work very closely with your DM and check before-hand to make sure your DM is ok with it. Keeping it off screen is a great way to handle it, and can even add a great element of surprise for the rest of your group when your actions begin to have consequences, but if you keep it from your DM then it didn't really happen.

DM's word is law.

Manage your expectations

While you think the idea is great, your DM might not really be into it. They might have reservations or not want to risk you messing up the campaign with a stupid action. If you try to do something that concerns them they might say "no". You will have to be prepared to be denied doing something you want to. Also, your off-screen actions will have on-screen consequences. Be fully prepared to be targeted, arrested, or even killed. At the end of the day, the campaign is for all the players and the DM, not just for you.

Lastly, some characters must end

With a secret character like this it is likely that you will be found out at some point. If this happens and nobody else at the table (DM included) seems to be enjoying playing with your character anymore, hang up your hat. Have the character die, run away, whatever, but don't sacrifice the fun of the party for a character that is likely to get the party killed or is taking away fun for the rest of the table.

That isn't to say immediately give it up....there are some great RP and character development opportunities hiding behind being caught at being a serial killer. If they discover it late enough, the party might even vouch for you or try to help you. I love some good RP driven character development. My point is at the end of the day you are all [hopefully] friends getting together to payhave fun. Pay attention to the restmood of your friendsthe party. If you are the only one having fun, you need to rethink your strategy.

What I did

I am currently playing a similar character, except mine is a secret operative for the other side of the war with orders to assassinate a particular officer, rather than a serial killer. I took the approach of creating an alter-ego for my cover RP, and also creating a "real" personality/voice for my actual character. I also opted for doing all of my sneaking off screen. I usually have a conversation with my DM the following day to handle what I did, this usually involves any necessary rolls.

Additionally, if I want to do something secretly during a session, I text my DM who knows that I may text him with a secret action. He will usually quickly text back what roll he wants, I roll and relay my roll, then depending on the action he either says "you succeed/fail" or he will work it into the narrative. It is working out extremely well and is very fun for me, and also very fun for my DM who was actually hoping someone would want to play a double agent. It does require a TON of communication and also trust on the DM's part that you won't do something to horribly derail the campaign or get the party in trouble.

Work VERY closely with your DM

Any time you want to do secretive things (like being a secret serial killer) you need to work very closely with your DM and check before-hand to make sure your DM is ok with it. Keeping it off screen is a great way to handle it, and can even add a great element of surprise for the rest of your group when your actions begin to have consequences, but if you keep it from your DM then it didn't really happen.

DM's word is law.

Manage your expectations

While you think the idea is great, your DM might not really be into it. They might have reservations or not want to risk you messing up the campaign with a stupid action. If you try to do something that concerns them they might say "no". You will have to be prepared to be denied doing something you want to. Also, your off-screen actions will have on-screen consequences. Be fully prepared to be targeted, arrested, or even killed. At the end of the day, the campaign is for all the players and the DM, not just for you.

Lastly, some characters must end

With a secret character like this it is likely that you will be found out at some point. If this happens and nobody else at the table (DM included) seems to be enjoying playing with your character anymore, hang up your hat. Have the character die, run away, whatever, but don't sacrifice the fun of the party for a character that is likely to get the party killed.

That isn't to say immediately give it up....there are some great RP and character development opportunities hiding behind being caught at being a serial killer. If they discover it late enough, the party might even vouch for you or try to help you. I love some good RP driven character development. My point is to pay attention to the rest of your friends. If you are the only one having fun, you need to rethink your strategy.

What I did

I am currently playing a similar character, except mine is a secret operative for the other side of the war with orders to assassinate a particular officer, rather than a serial killer. I took the approach of creating an alter-ego for my cover RP, and also creating a "real" personality/voice for my actual character. I also opted for doing all of my sneaking off screen. I usually have a conversation with my DM the following day to handle what I did, this usually involves any necessary rolls.

Additionally, if I want to do something secretly during a session, I text my DM who knows that I may text him with a secret action. He will usually quickly text back what roll he wants, I roll and relay my roll, then depending on the action he either says "you succeed/fail" or he will work it into the narrative. It is working out extremely well and is very fun for me, and also very fun for my DM who was actually hoping someone would want to play a double agent. It does require a TON of communication and also trust on the DM's part that you won't do something to horribly derail the campaign or get the party in trouble.

Work VERY closely with your DM

Any time you want to do secretive things (like being a secret serial killer) you need to work very closely with your DM and check before-hand to make sure your DM is ok with it. Keeping it off screen is a great way to handle it, and can even add a great element of surprise for the rest of your group when your actions begin to have consequences, but if you keep it from your DM then it didn't really happen.

DM's word is law.

Manage your expectations

While you think the idea is great, your DM might not really be into it. They might have reservations or not want to risk you messing up the campaign with a stupid action. If you try to do something that concerns them they might say "no". You will have to be prepared to be denied doing something you want to. Also, your off-screen actions will have on-screen consequences. Be fully prepared to be targeted, arrested, or even killed. At the end of the day, the campaign is for all the players and the DM, not just for you.

Lastly, some characters must end

With a secret character like this it is likely that you will be found out at some point. If this happens and nobody else at the table (DM included) seems to be enjoying playing with your character anymore, hang up your hat. Have the character die, run away, whatever, but don't sacrifice the fun of the party for a character that is likely to get the party killed or is taking away fun for the rest of the table.

That isn't to say immediately give it up....there are some great RP and character development opportunities hiding behind being caught at being a serial killer. If they discover it late enough, the party might even vouch for you or try to help you. I love some good RP driven character development. My point is at the end of the day you are all [hopefully] friends getting together to have fun. Pay attention to the mood of the party. If you are the only one having fun, you need to rethink your strategy.

Source Link
Newbie12345
  • 1.8k
  • 2
  • 10
  • 26

What I did

I am currently playing a similar character, except mine is a secret operative for the other side of the war with orders to assassinate a particular officer, rather than a serial killer. I took the approach of creating an alter-ego for my cover RP, and also creating a "real" personality/voice for my actual character. I also opted for doing all of my sneaking off screen. I usually have a conversation with my DM the following day to handle what I did, this usually involves any necessary rolls.

Additionally, if I want to do something secretly during a session, I text my DM who knows that I may text him with a secret action. He will usually quickly text back what roll he wants, I roll and relay my roll, then depending on the action he either says "you succeed/fail" or he will work it into the narrative. It is working out extremely well and is very fun for me, and also very fun for my DM who was actually hoping someone would want to play a double agent. It does require a TON of communication and also trust on the DM's part that you won't do something to horribly derail the campaign or get the party in trouble.

Work VERY closely with your DM

Any time you want to do secretive things (like being a secret serial killer) you need to work very closely with your DM and check before-hand to make sure your DM is ok with it. Keeping it off screen is a great way to handle it, and can even add a great element of surprise for the rest of your group when your actions begin to have consequences, but if you keep it from your DM then it didn't really happen.

DM's word is law.

Manage your expectations

While you think the idea is great, your DM might not really be into it. They might have reservations or not want to risk you messing up the campaign with a stupid action. If you try to do something that concerns them they might say "no". You will have to be prepared to be denied doing something you want to. Also, your off-screen actions will have on-screen consequences. Be fully prepared to be targeted, arrested, or even killed. At the end of the day, the campaign is for all the players and the DM, not just for you.

Lastly, some characters must end

With a secret character like this it is likely that you will be found out at some point. If this happens and nobody else at the table (DM included) seems to be enjoying playing with your character anymore, hang up your hat. Have the character die, run away, whatever, but don't sacrifice the fun of the party for a character that is likely to get the party killed.

That isn't to say immediately give it up....there are some great RP and character development opportunities hiding behind being caught at being a serial killer. If they discover it late enough, the party might even vouch for you or try to help you. I love some good RP driven character development. My point is to pay attention to the rest of your friends. If you are the only one having fun, you need to rethink your strategy.