Skip to main content
deleted 6 characters in body
Source Link
Gandalfmeansme
  • 38.3k
  • 8
  • 160
  • 203

Develop a code with your DM

I've played a similar character before: one that was delusional and paranoid, and became quickly convinced that random passerbys were part of a vast and sinister conspiracy against him. My GM knew all this about my character, and we developed a particular way of describing my actions. In my case I said that I was "questioning" the person (my code for murdering them), and would give very vague descriptors of what that meant. For example:

  • "I question this person quickly: I am concerned that their roommate may return soon."
  • "I question this person thoroughly, but make sure to do so somewhere out of the way."

The GM knew what I was saying, and would give similarly vague and brief descriptions of how that went down. Such as:

  • "Ok, you succeed."
  • "It's not without complications, but nothing of consequence goes wrong."

The descriptors were sufficiently vague that other players didn't feel an immediate need to be a part of that interaction, but it also allowed me to gradually build up the perception (on the part of the other party membersplayers) that something peculiar was going on (for example, at one point my GM let me know that my target didn't speak any languages I spoke: I said "I don't see how that's relevant. I question them.").

My other piece of advice would be to be careful that you either keep these interactions brief (in real time), or give other characters an opportunity to interact with you (e.g. have them see you stumble out of a bar without knowing that you are currently stalking a target, and either make an excuse to go about your business or [perhaps even better] divert from you plan and spend some time with them to prevent them from being suspicious). A scene that only has you in it is likely to be less entertaining for other players. Besides, the thrill of almost being discovered could add an interesting spice to your element of the story.

Develop a code with your DM

I've played a similar character before: one that was delusional and paranoid, and became quickly convinced that random passerbys were part of a vast and sinister conspiracy against him. My GM knew all this about my character, and we developed a particular way of describing my actions. In my case I said that I was "questioning" the person (my code for murdering them), and would give very vague descriptors of what that meant. For example:

  • "I question this person quickly: I am concerned that their roommate may return soon."
  • "I question this person thoroughly, but make sure to do so somewhere out of the way."

The GM knew what I was saying, and would give similarly vague and brief descriptions of how that went down. Such as:

  • "Ok, you succeed."
  • "It's not without complications, but nothing of consequence goes wrong."

The descriptors were sufficiently vague that other players didn't feel an immediate need to be a part of that interaction, but it also allowed me to gradually build up the perception (on the part of the other party members) that something peculiar was going on (for example, at one point my GM let me know that my target didn't speak any languages I spoke: I said "I don't see how that's relevant. I question them.").

My other piece of advice would be to be careful that you either keep these interactions brief (in real time), or give other characters an opportunity to interact with you (e.g. have them see you stumble out of a bar without knowing that you are currently stalking a target, and either make an excuse to go about your business or [perhaps even better] divert from you plan and spend some time with them to prevent them from being suspicious). A scene that only has you in it is likely to be less entertaining for other players. Besides, the thrill of almost being discovered could add an interesting spice to your element of the story.

Develop a code with your DM

I've played a similar character before: one that was delusional and paranoid, and became quickly convinced that random passerbys were part of a vast and sinister conspiracy against him. My GM knew all this about my character, and we developed a particular way of describing my actions. In my case I said that I was "questioning" the person (my code for murdering them), and would give very vague descriptors of what that meant. For example:

  • "I question this person quickly: I am concerned that their roommate may return soon."
  • "I question this person thoroughly, but make sure to do so somewhere out of the way."

The GM knew what I was saying, and would give similarly vague and brief descriptions of how that went down. Such as:

  • "Ok, you succeed."
  • "It's not without complications, but nothing of consequence goes wrong."

The descriptors were sufficiently vague that other players didn't feel an immediate need to be a part of that interaction, but it also allowed me to gradually build up the perception (on the part of the other players) that something peculiar was going on (for example, at one point my GM let me know that my target didn't speak any languages I spoke: I said "I don't see how that's relevant. I question them.").

My other piece of advice would be to be careful that you either keep these interactions brief (in real time), or give other characters an opportunity to interact with you (e.g. have them see you stumble out of a bar without knowing that you are currently stalking a target, and either make an excuse to go about your business or [perhaps even better] divert from you plan and spend some time with them to prevent them from being suspicious). A scene that only has you in it is likely to be less entertaining for other players. Besides, the thrill of almost being discovered could add an interesting spice to your element of the story.

added 248 characters in body
Source Link
Gandalfmeansme
  • 38.3k
  • 8
  • 160
  • 203

Develop a code with your DM

I've played a similar character before: one that was delusional and paranoid, and became quickly convinced that random passerbys were part of a vast and sinister conspiracy against him. My GM knew all this about my character, and we developed a particular way of describing my actions. In my case I said that I was "questioning" the person (my code for murdering them), and would give very vague descriptors of what that meant. For example:

  • "I question this person quickly: I am concerned that their roommate may return soon."
  • "I question this person thoroughly, but make sure to do so somewhere out of the way."

The GM knew what I was saying, and would give similarly vague and brief descriptions of how that went down. Such as:

  • "Ok, you succeed."
  • "It's not without complications, but nothing of consequence goes wrong."

The descriptors were sufficiently vague that other players didn't feel an immediate need to be a part of that interaction, but it also allowed me to gradually build up athe perception (on the part of the other party members) that something peculiar was going on (for example, at one point my GM let me know that my target didn't speak any languages I spoke: I said "I don't see how that's relevant. I question them.").

My other piece of advice would be to be careful that you either keep these interactions brief (in real time), or give other characters an opportunity to interact with you (e.g. have them see you stumble out of a bar without knowing that you are currently stalking a target, and either make an excuse to go about your business or [perhaps even better] divert from you plan and spend some time with them to prevent them from being suspicious). A scene that only has you in it is likely to be less entertaining for other players. Besides, the thrill of almost being discovered could add an interesting spice to your element of the story.

Develop a code with your DM

I've played a similar character before: one that was delusional and paranoid, and became quickly convinced that random passerbys were part of a vast and sinister conspiracy against him. My GM knew all this about my character, and we developed a particular way of describing my actions. In my case I said that I was "questioning" the person (my code for murdering them), and would give very vague descriptors of what that meant. For example:

  • "I question this person quickly: I am concerned that their roommate may return soon."
  • "I question this person thoroughly, but make sure to do so somewhere out of the way."

The GM knew what I was saying, and would give similarly vague and brief descriptions of how that went down. Such as:

  • "Ok, you succeed."
  • "It's not without complications, but nothing of consequence goes wrong."

The descriptors were sufficiently vague that other players didn't feel an immediate need to be a part of that interaction, but it also allowed me to gradually build up a perception that something peculiar was going on (for example, at one point my GM let me know that my target didn't speak any languages I spoke: I said "I don't see how that's relevant. I question them.").

My other piece of advice would be to be careful that you either keep these interactions brief (in real time), or give other characters an opportunity to interact with you (e.g. have them see you stumble out of a bar without knowing that you are currently stalking a target, and either make an excuse to go about your business or [perhaps even better] divert from you plan and spend some time with them to prevent them from being suspicious). A scene that only has you in it is likely to be less entertaining for other players. Besides, the thrill of almost being discovered could add an interesting spice to your element of the story.

Develop a code with your DM

I've played a similar character before: one that was delusional and paranoid, and became quickly convinced that random passerbys were part of a vast and sinister conspiracy against him. My GM knew all this about my character, and we developed a particular way of describing my actions. In my case I said that I was "questioning" the person (my code for murdering them), and would give very vague descriptors of what that meant. For example:

  • "I question this person quickly: I am concerned that their roommate may return soon."
  • "I question this person thoroughly, but make sure to do so somewhere out of the way."

The GM knew what I was saying, and would give similarly vague and brief descriptions of how that went down. Such as:

  • "Ok, you succeed."
  • "It's not without complications, but nothing of consequence goes wrong."

The descriptors were sufficiently vague that other players didn't feel an immediate need to be a part of that interaction, but it also allowed me to gradually build up the perception (on the part of the other party members) that something peculiar was going on (for example, at one point my GM let me know that my target didn't speak any languages I spoke: I said "I don't see how that's relevant. I question them.").

My other piece of advice would be to be careful that you either keep these interactions brief (in real time), or give other characters an opportunity to interact with you (e.g. have them see you stumble out of a bar without knowing that you are currently stalking a target, and either make an excuse to go about your business or [perhaps even better] divert from you plan and spend some time with them to prevent them from being suspicious). A scene that only has you in it is likely to be less entertaining for other players. Besides, the thrill of almost being discovered could add an interesting spice to your element of the story.

added 248 characters in body
Source Link
Gandalfmeansme
  • 38.3k
  • 8
  • 160
  • 203

Develop a code with your DM

I've played a similar character before: one that was delusional and paranoid, and became quickly convinced that random passerbys were part of a vast and sinister conspiracy against him. My GM knew all this about my character, and we developed a particular way of describing my actions. In my case I said that I was "questioning" the person (my code for murdering them), and would give very vague descriptors of what that meant ("I question this person quickly: I am concerned that their roommate may return soon." "I question this person thoroughly, but make sure to do so somewhere out of the way."). For example:

  • "I question this person quickly: I am concerned that their roommate may return soon."
  • "I question this person thoroughly, but make sure to do so somewhere out of the way."

The GM knew what I was saying, and would give similarly vague and brief descriptions of how that went down ("Ok, you succeed." "It's not without complications, but nothing of consequence goes wrong."). Such as:

  • "Ok, you succeed."
  • "It's not without complications, but nothing of consequence goes wrong."

The descriptor wasdescriptors were sufficiently vague that other players didn't feel an immediate need to be a part of that interaction, but it also allowed me to gradually build up a perception that something peculiar was going on it also allowed me to gradually build up a perception that something peculiar was going on (for example, at one point my GM let me know that my target didn't speak any languages I spoke: I said "I don't see how that's relevant. I question them.").

My other piece of advice would be to be careful that you either keep these interactions brief (in real time), or give other characters an opportunity to interact with you (e.g. have them see you stumble out of a bar without knowing that you are currently stalking a target, and either make an excuse to go about your business or [perhaps even better] divert from you plan and spend some time with them to prevent them from being suspicious). A scene that only has you in it is likely to be less entertaining for other players. Besides, the thrill of almost being discovered could add an interesting spice to your element of the story.

Develop a code with your DM

I've played a similar character before: one that was delusional and paranoid, and became quickly convinced that random passerbys were part of a vast and sinister conspiracy against him. My GM knew all this about my character, and we developed a particular way of describing my actions. In my case I said that I was "questioning" the person, and would give very vague descriptors of what that meant ("I question this person quickly: I am concerned that their roommate may return soon." "I question this person thoroughly, but make sure to do so somewhere out of the way."). The GM knew what I was saying, and would give similarly vague and brief descriptions of how that went down ("Ok, you succeed." "It's not without complications, but nothing of consequence goes wrong.").

The descriptor was sufficiently vague that other players didn't feel an immediate need to be a part of that interaction, but it also allowed me to gradually build up a perception that something peculiar was going on (for example, at one point my GM let me know that my target didn't speak any languages I spoke: I said "I don't see how that's relevant. I question them.").

My other piece of advice would be to be careful that you either keep these interactions brief (in real time), or give other characters an opportunity to interact with you (e.g. have them see you stumble out of a bar without knowing that you are currently stalking a target). A scene that only has you in it is likely to be less entertaining for other players. Besides, the thrill of almost being discovered could add an interesting spice to your element of the story.

Develop a code with your DM

I've played a similar character before: one that was delusional and paranoid, and became quickly convinced that random passerbys were part of a vast and sinister conspiracy against him. My GM knew all this about my character, and we developed a particular way of describing my actions. In my case I said that I was "questioning" the person (my code for murdering them), and would give very vague descriptors of what that meant. For example:

  • "I question this person quickly: I am concerned that their roommate may return soon."
  • "I question this person thoroughly, but make sure to do so somewhere out of the way."

The GM knew what I was saying, and would give similarly vague and brief descriptions of how that went down. Such as:

  • "Ok, you succeed."
  • "It's not without complications, but nothing of consequence goes wrong."

The descriptors were sufficiently vague that other players didn't feel an immediate need to be a part of that interaction, but it also allowed me to gradually build up a perception that something peculiar was going on (for example, at one point my GM let me know that my target didn't speak any languages I spoke: I said "I don't see how that's relevant. I question them.").

My other piece of advice would be to be careful that you either keep these interactions brief (in real time), or give other characters an opportunity to interact with you (e.g. have them see you stumble out of a bar without knowing that you are currently stalking a target, and either make an excuse to go about your business or [perhaps even better] divert from you plan and spend some time with them to prevent them from being suspicious). A scene that only has you in it is likely to be less entertaining for other players. Besides, the thrill of almost being discovered could add an interesting spice to your element of the story.

Source Link
Gandalfmeansme
  • 38.3k
  • 8
  • 160
  • 203
Loading