Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackRPG/status/1100500947552423936
add information from comments
Source Link
doppelgreener
  • 36.6k
  • 16
  • 162
  • 254

A character of mine has died in a game - the "do no harm, break no law" type of paladin - and I wanted to switch it up. I want to play a serial killer type, who believes what he's doing is not wrong, but also recognizes that society doesn't agree with him. (He's loosely based off Jhin.)

I've had experience with other characters that are evil in a group of good characters, and if they do their evil thing "on screen", the party will usually go out of their way to make excuses to be places that the evil character is, follow him with no reason, or generally be suspicious with no in character reason. I still want to develop my character "on screen", but I don't know how to do so without incurring the meta-game wrath of the party.

To be clear, none of this character's actions would hamper the do-goodness of the party. Distinct from murder hobo. The evil serial killer would carry out his killings at night on people that are unimportant, like a random drunkard in the bar or a criminal in the stocks, and he would work towards the party's good goals, like stopping the evil lich man.

I recognize that if I'm ever caught, I'll surely die at the hands of my party, I just want to organically get there, instead of being "caught" by out of game knowledge on day one.

I've discussed this with my DM and they like the idea, but they also agree with my analysis of the problem. We're playing a sandbox type game where we're free to do what we'd like during downtime. Simple stuff like buying supplies is glossed over but more detailed stuff like this would be played out.

How can I play this character "on stage" and not encounter the problems listed above? Is this even feasible, without becoming a problem player?

A character of mine has died in a game - the "do no harm, break no law" type of paladin - and I wanted to switch it up. I want to play a serial killer type, who believes what he's doing is not wrong, but also recognizes that society doesn't agree with him.

I've had experience with other characters that are evil in a group of good characters, and if they do their evil thing "on screen", the party will usually go out of their way to make excuses to be places that the evil character is, follow him with no reason, or generally be suspicious with no in character reason. I still want to develop my character "on screen", but I don't know how to do so without incurring the meta-game wrath of the party.

To be clear, none of this character's actions would hamper the do-goodness of the party. Distinct from murder hobo. The evil serial killer would carry out his killings at night on people that are unimportant, like a random drunkard in the bar or a criminal in the stocks, and he would work towards the party's good goals, like stopping the evil lich man.

I recognize that if I'm ever caught, I'll surely die at the hands of my party, I just want to organically get there, instead of being "caught" by out of game knowledge on day one.

How can I play this character "on stage" and not encounter the problems listed above? Is this even feasible, without becoming a problem player?

A character of mine has died in a game - the "do no harm, break no law" type of paladin - and I wanted to switch it up. I want to play a serial killer type, who believes what he's doing is not wrong, but also recognizes that society doesn't agree with him. (He's loosely based off Jhin.)

I've had experience with other characters that are evil in a group of good characters, and if they do their evil thing "on screen", the party will usually go out of their way to make excuses to be places that the evil character is, follow him with no reason, or generally be suspicious with no in character reason. I still want to develop my character "on screen", but I don't know how to do so without incurring the meta-game wrath of the party.

To be clear, none of this character's actions would hamper the do-goodness of the party. Distinct from murder hobo. The evil serial killer would carry out his killings at night on people that are unimportant, like a random drunkard in the bar or a criminal in the stocks, and he would work towards the party's good goals, like stopping the evil lich man.

I recognize that if I'm ever caught, I'll surely die at the hands of my party, I just want to organically get there, instead of being "caught" by out of game knowledge on day one.

I've discussed this with my DM and they like the idea, but they also agree with my analysis of the problem. We're playing a sandbox type game where we're free to do what we'd like during downtime. Simple stuff like buying supplies is glossed over but more detailed stuff like this would be played out.

How can I play this character "on stage" and not encounter the problems listed above? Is this even feasible, without becoming a problem player?

clarified title; edited tags
Source Link
V2Blast
  • 50.1k
  • 10
  • 221
  • 305

How tocan I play a serial killer in a game withparty of good PCs?

A character of mine has died in a game, - the "do no harm, break no law" type of paladin, - and I wanted to switch it up. I want to play a serial killer type, who believes what he's doing is not wrong, but also recognizes that society doesn't agree with him.

I've had experience with other characters that are evil in a group of good characters, and if they do their evil thing "on screen", the party will usually go out of their way to make excuses to be places that the evil character is, follow him with no reason, or generally be suspicious with no in character reason. I still want to develop my character "on screen", but I don't know how to do so without incurring the meta-game wrath of the party.

To be clear, none of this character's actions would hamper the do-goodness of the party. Distinct from murder hobo. The evil serial killer would carry out his killings at night on people that are unimportant, like a random drunkard in the bar or a criminal in the stocks, and he would work towards the party's good goals, like stopping the evil lich man.

I recognize that if I'm ever caught, I'll surely die at the hands of my party, I just want to organically get there, instead of being "caught" by out of game knowledge on day one.

How can I play this character "on stage" and not encounter the problems listed above? Is this even feasible, without becoming a problem player?

How to play a serial killer in a game with good PCs?

A character of mine has died in a game, the "do no harm, break no law" type of paladin, and I wanted to switch it up. I want to play a serial killer type, who believes what he's doing is not wrong, but also recognizes that society doesn't agree with him.

I've had experience with other characters that are evil in a group of good characters, and if they do their evil thing "on screen", the party will usually go out of their way to make excuses to be places that the evil character is, follow him with no reason, or generally be suspicious with no in character reason. I still want to develop my character "on screen", but I don't know how to do so without incurring the meta-game wrath of the party.

To be clear, none of this character's actions would hamper the do-goodness of the party. Distinct from murder hobo. The evil serial killer would carry out his killings at night on people that are unimportant, like a random drunkard in the bar or a criminal in the stocks, and he would work towards the party's good goals, like stopping the evil lich man.

I recognize that if I'm ever caught, I'll surely die at the hands of my party, I just want to organically get there, instead of being "caught" by out of game knowledge on day one.

How can I play this character "on stage" and not encounter the problems listed above? Is this even feasible, without becoming a problem player?

How can I play a serial killer in a party of good PCs?

A character of mine has died in a game - the "do no harm, break no law" type of paladin - and I wanted to switch it up. I want to play a serial killer type, who believes what he's doing is not wrong, but also recognizes that society doesn't agree with him.

I've had experience with other characters that are evil in a group of good characters, and if they do their evil thing "on screen", the party will usually go out of their way to make excuses to be places that the evil character is, follow him with no reason, or generally be suspicious with no in character reason. I still want to develop my character "on screen", but I don't know how to do so without incurring the meta-game wrath of the party.

To be clear, none of this character's actions would hamper the do-goodness of the party. Distinct from murder hobo. The evil serial killer would carry out his killings at night on people that are unimportant, like a random drunkard in the bar or a criminal in the stocks, and he would work towards the party's good goals, like stopping the evil lich man.

I recognize that if I'm ever caught, I'll surely die at the hands of my party, I just want to organically get there, instead of being "caught" by out of game knowledge on day one.

How can I play this character "on stage" and not encounter the problems listed above? Is this even feasible, without becoming a problem player?

Source Link
Blake Steel
  • 7.2k
  • 4
  • 28
  • 72

How to play a serial killer in a game with good PCs?

A character of mine has died in a game, the "do no harm, break no law" type of paladin, and I wanted to switch it up. I want to play a serial killer type, who believes what he's doing is not wrong, but also recognizes that society doesn't agree with him.

I've had experience with other characters that are evil in a group of good characters, and if they do their evil thing "on screen", the party will usually go out of their way to make excuses to be places that the evil character is, follow him with no reason, or generally be suspicious with no in character reason. I still want to develop my character "on screen", but I don't know how to do so without incurring the meta-game wrath of the party.

To be clear, none of this character's actions would hamper the do-goodness of the party. Distinct from murder hobo. The evil serial killer would carry out his killings at night on people that are unimportant, like a random drunkard in the bar or a criminal in the stocks, and he would work towards the party's good goals, like stopping the evil lich man.

I recognize that if I'm ever caught, I'll surely die at the hands of my party, I just want to organically get there, instead of being "caught" by out of game knowledge on day one.

How can I play this character "on stage" and not encounter the problems listed above? Is this even feasible, without becoming a problem player?