Skip to main content
added 17 characters in body
Source Link
SevenSidedDie
  • 244.1k
  • 44
  • 785
  • 1k

I've only played Dungeon and@ Dragons in its 5th edition, and I have only limited exposure ofto earlier editions from PC games, but never understandunderstood the rulerules behind itthem (or knowknew the calculations), so I've never noticedknown whether the term natural 20“natural 20” and its significance, includingmeaning of critical hits and success, is applied in earlier editions.

I've watched and read and watched some DnDD&D-themed comics and clipsvideos, and I've noticed there are plenty of examples that suggest that rolling a natural 20 means critical success, i.e:., succeeding in whatever you are attempting, regardless how stupid and bizarre the result may be, including seducing the BBEG and marrying them.

I'm mainly interested in how and when rolling a natural 20 iswas introduced as resulting in a critical success. This may be in attack rollrolls, ability checkchecks, or saving throwthrows. The earlier the better.

I've only played Dungeon and Dragons in its 5th edition, and only limited exposure of earlier editions from PC games, but never understand the rule behind it (or know the calculations), so I've never noticed whether the term natural 20 and its significance, including critical hits and success, is applied in earlier editions.

I've watched and read some DnD-themed comics and clips, and I've noticed there are plenty examples that suggest that rolling natural 20 means critical success, i.e: succeeding in whatever you are attempting, regardless how stupid and bizarre the result may be, including seducing the BBEG and marrying them.

I'm mainly interested how and when rolling natural 20 is introduced as critical success. This may be in attack roll, ability check, or saving throw. The earlier the better.

I've only played Dungeon @ Dragons in its 5th edition, and I have only limited exposure to earlier editions from PC games, but never understood the rules behind them (or knew the calculations), so I've never known whether the term “natural 20” and its meaning of critical hits and success is in earlier editions.

I've read and watched some D&D-themed comics and videos, and I've noticed there are plenty of examples that suggest that rolling a natural 20 means critical success, i.e., succeeding in whatever you are attempting, regardless how stupid and bizarre the result may be, including seducing the BBEG and marrying them.

I'm mainly interested in how and when rolling a natural 20 was introduced as resulting in a critical success. This may be in attack rolls, ability checks, or saving throws. The earlier the better.

Tweeted twitter.com/StackRPG/status/1082607988991500288
fixed title; edited tags
Link
V2Blast
  • 50.1k
  • 10
  • 221
  • 305

When did rolling a natural 20 on the d20 become critical successa "critical success" in the history of Dungeon andDungeons & Dragons?

Source Link
Vylix
  • 32.9k
  • 17
  • 148
  • 290

When did rolling natural 20 become critical success in history of Dungeon and Dragons?

I've only played Dungeon and Dragons in its 5th edition, and only limited exposure of earlier editions from PC games, but never understand the rule behind it (or know the calculations), so I've never noticed whether the term natural 20 and its significance, including critical hits and success, is applied in earlier editions.

I've watched and read some DnD-themed comics and clips, and I've noticed there are plenty examples that suggest that rolling natural 20 means critical success, i.e: succeeding in whatever you are attempting, regardless how stupid and bizarre the result may be, including seducing the BBEG and marrying them.

I'm mainly interested how and when rolling natural 20 is introduced as critical success. This may be in attack roll, ability check, or saving throw. The earlier the better.