Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackRPG/status/1079255898261016577
added 133 characters in body
Source Link
Rubiksmoose
  • 95.1k
  • 21
  • 485
  • 580

I have recently joined a game and there were several instances where the dungeon master just shot down any idea that didn't fit her plot.

We were supposed to have this encounter in this forest with a bear and the druid cast animal friendship, but the game master just ruled that since we were in the bear's territory it was going to keep attacking us. But she ruled that Animal Handling was enough to distract the beast so that we could escape.

In another case we were suppose to find a doll for a girl and we found it with severe damage. I thought of casting mending, but she told me no, saying that the damage was too high. However, she allowed our local healer to use her medicine skill since it included sewing up torn parts.

There were other cases like this, and it is starting to get on my nerves as I play as a spellcaster. In most of the cases, she gives a rather reasonable excuse, like in the mending case the damage being too high, and in the animal friendship case the bear is not going to stop attacking something in its territory even if it believes they don't pose a threat.

The fact that she shoots down the ideas of me and the local druid is not the problem. Rather, my problem is whenever someone tries to accomplish what me and the druid tried to do via a skill check, she allows it to happen.

The setting is that we are a group of adventurers in a village that is mostly cut off from the world, solving problems for the village by doing quests posted at the local branch of the adventurers' guild.

How can I reason with my game master so that she allows me to be something more than a combatant with a fancy hat? I have not talked with my game master yet. I am not sure how to approach her about this issue without sounding accusative and angry.

I have recently joined a game and there were several instances where the dungeon master just shot down any idea that didn't fit her plot.

We were supposed to have this encounter in this forest with a bear and the druid cast animal friendship, but the game master just ruled that since we were in the bear's territory it was going to keep attacking us. But she ruled that Animal Handling was enough to distract the beast so that we could escape.

In another case we were suppose to find a doll for a girl and we found it with severe damage. I thought of casting mending, but she told me no, saying that the damage was too high. However, she allowed our local healer to use her medicine skill since it included sewing up torn parts.

There were other cases like this, and it is starting to get on my nerves as I play as a spellcaster. In most of the cases, she gives a rather reasonable excuse, like in the mending case the damage being too high, and in the animal friendship case the bear is not going to stop attacking something in its territory even if it believes they don't pose a threat.

The fact that she shoots down the ideas of me and the local druid is not the problem. Rather, my problem is whenever someone tries to accomplish what me and the druid tried to do via a skill check, she allows it to happen.

The setting is that we are a group of adventurers in a village that is mostly cut off from the world, solving problems for the village by doing quests posted at the local branch of the adventurers' guild.

How can I reason with my game master so that she allows me to be something more than a combatant with a fancy hat?

I have recently joined a game and there were several instances where the dungeon master just shot down any idea that didn't fit her plot.

We were supposed to have this encounter in this forest with a bear and the druid cast animal friendship, but the game master just ruled that since we were in the bear's territory it was going to keep attacking us. But she ruled that Animal Handling was enough to distract the beast so that we could escape.

In another case we were suppose to find a doll for a girl and we found it with severe damage. I thought of casting mending, but she told me no, saying that the damage was too high. However, she allowed our local healer to use her medicine skill since it included sewing up torn parts.

There were other cases like this, and it is starting to get on my nerves as I play as a spellcaster. In most of the cases, she gives a rather reasonable excuse, like in the mending case the damage being too high, and in the animal friendship case the bear is not going to stop attacking something in its territory even if it believes they don't pose a threat.

The fact that she shoots down the ideas of me and the local druid is not the problem. Rather, my problem is whenever someone tries to accomplish what me and the druid tried to do via a skill check, she allows it to happen.

The setting is that we are a group of adventurers in a village that is mostly cut off from the world, solving problems for the village by doing quests posted at the local branch of the adventurers' guild.

How can I reason with my game master so that she allows me to be something more than a combatant with a fancy hat? I have not talked with my game master yet. I am not sure how to approach her about this issue without sounding accusative and angry.

edited tags; fixed formatting; clarified wording to avoid confusion
Source Link
V2Blast
  • 50.1k
  • 10
  • 221
  • 305

I have recently joined a game and there were several instances where the gamedungeon master just shot down any idea that didn't fit her plot.

We were supposed to have this encounter in this forest with a bear and the druid cast animal friendship and, but the game master just ruled that since we were in the bear's territory it was going to keep attacking us. But she ruled that animal handlingAnimal Handling was enough to distract the beast so that we could escape.

In another case we were suppose to find a doll for a girl and we found it with severe damage. I thought of casting mending, but she told me no, saying that the damage was too high. However, she allowed our local healer to use her medicine skill since it included sewing up torn parts.

There were other cases like this, and it is starting to get on my nerves as I play as a spellcaster. In most of the cases, she gives a rather reasonable excuse, like in the mendingsmending case the damage being too high, and in the animal friendshipsanimal friendship case the bear is not going to stop attacking something in it'sits territory even if it believes they don't pose a threat.

The fact that she shoots down the ideas of me and the local druid is not the problem. Rather, my problem is whenever someone tries to accomplish what me and the druid tried to do via a skillcheckskill check, she allows it to happen.

The setting is that we are a group of adventurers in a village that is mostly cut off from the world, solving problems for the village by doing quests posted at the local branch of the adventurers leagueadventurers' guild.

How can I reason with my game master so that she allows me to be something more than a combatant with a fancy hat?

I have recently joined a game and there were several instances where the game master just shot down any idea that didn't fit her plot.

We were supposed to have this encounter in this forest with a bear and the druid cast animal friendship and the game master just ruled that since we were in the bear's territory it was going to keep attacking us. But she ruled that animal handling was enough to distract the beast so that we could escape.

In another case we were suppose to find a doll for a girl and we found it with severe damage. I thought of casting mending but she told me no saying that the damage was too high. However she allowed our local healer to use her medicine skill since it included sewing up torn parts.

There were other cases like this and it is starting to get on my nerves as I play as a spellcaster. In most of the cases she gives a rather reasonable excuse like in the mendings case the damage being too high and in the animal friendships case the bear is not going to stop attacking something in it's territory even if it believes they don't pose a threat.

The fact that she shoots down the ideas of me and the local druid is not the problem. Rather my problem is whenever someone tries to accomplish what me and the druid tried to do via a skillcheck she allows it to happen.

The setting is that we are a group of adventurers in a village that is mostly cut off from the world solving problems for the village by doing quests posted at the local branch of the adventurers league.

How can I reason with my game master so that she allows me to be something more than a combatant with a fancy hat?

I have recently joined a game and there were several instances where the dungeon master just shot down any idea that didn't fit her plot.

We were supposed to have this encounter in this forest with a bear and the druid cast animal friendship, but the game master just ruled that since we were in the bear's territory it was going to keep attacking us. But she ruled that Animal Handling was enough to distract the beast so that we could escape.

In another case we were suppose to find a doll for a girl and we found it with severe damage. I thought of casting mending, but she told me no, saying that the damage was too high. However, she allowed our local healer to use her medicine skill since it included sewing up torn parts.

There were other cases like this, and it is starting to get on my nerves as I play as a spellcaster. In most of the cases, she gives a rather reasonable excuse, like in the mending case the damage being too high, and in the animal friendship case the bear is not going to stop attacking something in its territory even if it believes they don't pose a threat.

The fact that she shoots down the ideas of me and the local druid is not the problem. Rather, my problem is whenever someone tries to accomplish what me and the druid tried to do via a skill check, she allows it to happen.

The setting is that we are a group of adventurers in a village that is mostly cut off from the world, solving problems for the village by doing quests posted at the local branch of the adventurers' guild.

How can I reason with my game master so that she allows me to be something more than a combatant with a fancy hat?

added 483 characters in body
Source Link
Maiko Chikyu
  • 21.7k
  • 9
  • 57
  • 178

I have recently joined a game and there were several instances where the game master just shot down any idea that didn't fit her plot.

We were supposed to have this encounter in this forest with a bear and the druid cast animal friendship and the game master just ruled that since we were in the bear's territory it was going to keep attacking us. But she ruled that animal handling was enough to distract the beast so that we could escape.

In another case we were suppose to find a doll for a girl and we found it with severe damage. I thought of casting mending but she told me no saying that the damage was too high. However she allowed our local healer to use her medicine skill since it included sewing up torn parts.

There were other cases like this and it is starting to get on my nerves as I play as a spellcaster. In most of the cases she gives a rather reasonable excuse like in the mendings case the damage being too high and in the animal friendships case the bear is not going to stop attacking something in it's territory even if it believes they don't pose a threat.

The fact that she shoots down the ideas of me and the local druid is not the problem. Rather my problem is whenever someone tries to accomplish what me and the druid tried to do via a skillcheck she allows it to happen.

The setting is that we are a group of adventurers in a village that is mostly cut off from the world solving problems for the village by doing quests posted at the local branch of the adventurers league.

How can I reason with my game master so that she allows me to be something more than a combatant with a fancy hat?

I have recently joined a game and there were several instances where the game master just shot down any idea that didn't fit her plot.

We were supposed to have this encounter in this forest with a bear and the druid cast animal friendship and the game master just ruled that since we were in the bear's territory it was going to keep attacking us. But she ruled that animal handling was enough to distract the beast so that we could escape.

In another case we were suppose to find a doll for a girl and we found it with severe damage. I thought of casting mending but she told me no saying that the damage was too high. However she allowed our local healer to use her medicine skill since it included sewing up torn parts.

There were other cases like this and it is starting to get on my nerves as I play as a spellcaster. How can I reason with my game master so that she allows me to be something more than a combatant with a fancy hat?

I have recently joined a game and there were several instances where the game master just shot down any idea that didn't fit her plot.

We were supposed to have this encounter in this forest with a bear and the druid cast animal friendship and the game master just ruled that since we were in the bear's territory it was going to keep attacking us. But she ruled that animal handling was enough to distract the beast so that we could escape.

In another case we were suppose to find a doll for a girl and we found it with severe damage. I thought of casting mending but she told me no saying that the damage was too high. However she allowed our local healer to use her medicine skill since it included sewing up torn parts.

There were other cases like this and it is starting to get on my nerves as I play as a spellcaster. In most of the cases she gives a rather reasonable excuse like in the mendings case the damage being too high and in the animal friendships case the bear is not going to stop attacking something in it's territory even if it believes they don't pose a threat.

The fact that she shoots down the ideas of me and the local druid is not the problem. Rather my problem is whenever someone tries to accomplish what me and the druid tried to do via a skillcheck she allows it to happen.

The setting is that we are a group of adventurers in a village that is mostly cut off from the world solving problems for the village by doing quests posted at the local branch of the adventurers league.

How can I reason with my game master so that she allows me to be something more than a combatant with a fancy hat?

edited title
Link
Rubiksmoose
  • 95.1k
  • 21
  • 485
  • 580
Loading
added 36 characters in body
Source Link
Maiko Chikyu
  • 21.7k
  • 9
  • 57
  • 178
Loading
added 7 characters in body
Source Link
Rubiksmoose
  • 95.1k
  • 21
  • 485
  • 580
Loading
Source Link
Maiko Chikyu
  • 21.7k
  • 9
  • 57
  • 178
Loading