Skip to main content
edit for formatting
Source Link
mattdm
  • 30k
  • 16
  • 135
  • 176

Everyone gets excited when they see that dice roll turning up a 20. A 20 on a test means that you suceededsucceeded on what you were trying to do in the best way possible, it's a rewarding situation that makes up for all those critical failures.
But

But, sometimes in combat, it doesn't quite feel like that. You see that 20, you roll one more weapon dice and... you roll so bad that the damage doesn't feel critical at all, doing less or as much damage as a normal attack.
I

I know that there are feats for rerrolingre-rolling that 1/2 or 2, but I wanted crits to feel more deadly either way.

I was thinking about instead of rolling the weapon dice twice on a critical, give the player/monster a maximized weapon dice and then rolling one weapon dice+mods as normal.

I'm just worried about 2 things that comes to my head:
First, that

  • First, that I might be making weapons with higher damage dices like the greataxe (1d12) too strong, but again, these kind of weapons always had a higher crit modifier on 3.5e and pathfinder.

  • Second, classes and skills that work with advantage (Rogue especially) could end up with a high damage boost.

I might be making weapons with higher damage dices like the greataxe (1d12) too strong, but again, these kind of weapons always had a higher crit modifier on 3.5e and pathfinder.
Second, classes and skills that work with advantage (Rogue speacially) could end up with a high damage boost.
I suck at math so I don't know how this will turn out, also, I might be missing some other skills/mechanics that could take too much advantage of this change. So So, would applying this rule unbalance my game in some way?
Thanks in advance.

Everyone gets excited when they see that dice roll turning up a 20. A 20 on a test means that you suceeded on what you were trying to do in the best way possible, it's a rewarding situation that makes up for all those critical failures.
But, sometimes in combat, it doesn't quite feel like that. You see that 20, you roll one more weapon dice and... you roll so bad that the damage doesn't feel critical at all, doing less or as much damage as a normal attack.
I know that there are feats for rerroling that 1/2, but I wanted crits to feel more deadly either way.

I was thinking about instead of rolling the weapon dice twice on a critical, give the player/monster a maximized weapon dice and then rolling one weapon dice+mods as normal.

I'm just worried about 2 things that comes to my head:
First, that I might be making weapons with higher damage dices like the greataxe (1d12) too strong, but again, these kind of weapons always had a higher crit modifier on 3.5e and pathfinder.
Second, classes and skills that work with advantage (Rogue speacially) could end up with a high damage boost.
I suck at math so I don't know how this will turn out, also, I might be missing some other skills/mechanics that could take too much advantage of this change. So, would applying this rule unbalance my game in some way?
Thanks in advance.

Everyone gets excited when they see that dice roll turning up a 20. A 20 on a test means that you succeeded on what you were trying to do in the best way possible it's a rewarding situation that makes up for all those critical failures.

But, sometimes in combat, it doesn't quite feel like that. You see that 20, you roll one more weapon dice and... you roll so bad that the damage doesn't feel critical at all, doing less or as much damage as a normal attack.

I know that there are feats for re-rolling that 1 or 2, but I wanted crits to feel more deadly either way.

I was thinking about instead of rolling the weapon dice twice on a critical, give the player/monster a maximized weapon dice and then rolling one weapon dice+mods as normal.

I'm just worried about 2 things that comes to my head:

  • First, that I might be making weapons with higher damage dices like the greataxe (1d12) too strong, but again, these kind of weapons always had a higher crit modifier on 3.5e and pathfinder.

  • Second, classes and skills that work with advantage (Rogue especially) could end up with a high damage boost.

I suck at math so I don't know how this will turn out, also, I might be missing some other skills/mechanics that could take too much advantage of this change. So, would applying this rule unbalance my game in some way?

Tweeted twitter.com/StackRPG/status/894024749965340673
added 1 character in body
Source Link
Miniman
  • 144.8k
  • 45
  • 648
  • 783

Everyone gets excited when they see that dice roll turning up a 20. A 20 on a test means that you suceeded on what you were trying to do in the best way possible, it's a rewarding situation that makes up for all those critical failures.
But, sometimes in combat, it doesn't quite feel like that. You see that 20, you roll one more weapon dice and... you roll so bad that the damage doesn't feel critical at all, doing less or as much damage as a normal attack.
I know that there are feats for rerroling that 1/2, but I wanted crits to feel more deadly either way.

I was thinking about instead of rolling the weapon dice twice on a critialcritical, give the player/monster a maximized weapon dice and then rolling one weapon dice+mods as normal.

I'm just worried about 2 things that comes to my head:
First, that I might be making weapons with higher damage dices like the greataxe (1d12) too strong, but again, these kind of weapons always had a higher crit modifier on 3.5e and pathfinder.
Second, classes and skills that work with advantage (Rogue speacially) could end up with a high damage boost.
I suck at math so I don't know how this will turn out, also, I might be missing some other skills/mechanics that could take too much advantage of this change. So, would applying this rule unbalance my game in some way?
Thanks in advance.

Everyone gets excited when they see that dice roll turning up a 20. A 20 on a test means that you suceeded on what you were trying to do in the best way possible, it's a rewarding situation that makes up for all those critical failures.
But, sometimes in combat, it doesn't quite feel like that. You see that 20, you roll one more weapon dice and... you roll so bad that the damage doesn't feel critical at all, doing less or as much damage as a normal attack.
I know that there are feats for rerroling that 1/2, but I wanted crits to feel more deadly either way.

I was thinking about instead of rolling the weapon dice twice on a critial, give the player/monster a maximized weapon dice and then rolling one weapon dice+mods as normal.

I'm just worried about 2 things that comes to my head:
First, that I might be making weapons with higher damage dices like the greataxe (1d12) too strong, but again, these kind of weapons always had a higher crit modifier on 3.5e and pathfinder.
Second, classes and skills that work with advantage (Rogue speacially) could end up with a high damage boost.
I suck at math so I don't know how this will turn out, also, I might be missing some other skills/mechanics that could take too much advantage of this change. So, would applying this rule unbalance my game in some way?
Thanks in advance.

Everyone gets excited when they see that dice roll turning up a 20. A 20 on a test means that you suceeded on what you were trying to do in the best way possible, it's a rewarding situation that makes up for all those critical failures.
But, sometimes in combat, it doesn't quite feel like that. You see that 20, you roll one more weapon dice and... you roll so bad that the damage doesn't feel critical at all, doing less or as much damage as a normal attack.
I know that there are feats for rerroling that 1/2, but I wanted crits to feel more deadly either way.

I was thinking about instead of rolling the weapon dice twice on a critical, give the player/monster a maximized weapon dice and then rolling one weapon dice+mods as normal.

I'm just worried about 2 things that comes to my head:
First, that I might be making weapons with higher damage dices like the greataxe (1d12) too strong, but again, these kind of weapons always had a higher crit modifier on 3.5e and pathfinder.
Second, classes and skills that work with advantage (Rogue speacially) could end up with a high damage boost.
I suck at math so I don't know how this will turn out, also, I might be missing some other skills/mechanics that could take too much advantage of this change. So, would applying this rule unbalance my game in some way?
Thanks in advance.

edited title
Link
Manner
  • 5.4k
  • 7
  • 32
  • 49

How would changing critical hits like this would affect my game?

Source Link
Manner
  • 5.4k
  • 7
  • 32
  • 49
Loading