Skip to main content
added 10 characters in body
Source Link
SevenSidedDie
  • 244.1k
  • 4
  • 143
  • 371

Elder Scrolls Online has a bustling online community of roleplayers. I found myself recently playing the game that way for quite a bit, and I've found a great amount of joy getting together with my guildmates and doing stuff while in-character - be it dodging bosses in dungeons or just sitting around in a tavern in Daggerfall.

So far, I've playing with a rather "generic fantasy" character. It worked fine so far, but this last weekend I decided to take the dive and make a proper, more lore-abiding character with proper hooks and ties to that setting.

I had already fired up Word and began typing out the background for my Breton Sorcerer when I came to realization that I actually know very little of that lore.

My first impulse was to come here and ask a couple of lore-related questions in the Elder Scrolls setting, but I'm not sure if this is the proper place to ask those questions.

On one hand, ESO is an online videogame. It isn't a traditional tabletop RPG by any means.

On the other hand, it has a vast roleplaying community, a very dense lore, and even an unofficial adaptation for a true tabletop game.

Lore questions about Forgotten Realms, Ravenloft, and other settings appear to be on-topic. We have a few of those around the site already. A few of them follow below.

Is giving a kobold a weapon considered a marriage proposal?

Do dragons smell of lilacs?

What do Unicorns want?

Whose portrait is printed on the Waterdhavian gold coin?

How common is homosexuality in the Forgotten Realms?

Now, say, by analogy - Would a question about how common is homosexuality in Tamriel during the ESO timeline, or what is the marriage protocol of the Altmer, for example - while in the scope of either writing a character or a campaign for a RPG on that setting- on topic?


There seems to be a consensus that any form of roleplaying is on-topic, whatever the platform may be. That said, I feel there is a difference between, say - player relationships, which certainly is always on topic, and lore, that may or may not be depending on the context.

I'll wait a few days before going ahead in any direction or dumping the idea to see what the community has to say.

Elder Scrolls Online has a bustling online community of roleplayers. I found myself recently playing the game that way for quite a bit, and I've found a great amount of joy getting together with my guildmates and doing stuff while in-character - be it dodging bosses in dungeons or just sitting around in a tavern in Daggerfall.

So far, I've playing with a rather "generic fantasy" character. It worked fine so far, but this last weekend I decided to take the dive and make a proper, more lore-abiding character with proper hooks and ties to that setting.

I had already fired up Word and began typing out the background for my Breton Sorcerer when I came to realization that I actually know very little of that lore.

My first impulse was to come here and ask a couple of lore-related questions in the Elder Scrolls setting, but I'm not sure if this is the proper place to ask those questions.

On one hand, ESO is an online videogame. It isn't a traditional tabletop RPG by any means.

On the other hand, it has a vast roleplaying community, a very dense lore, and even an unofficial adaptation for a true tabletop game.

Lore questions about Forgotten Realms, Ravenloft, and other settings appear to be on-topic. We have a few of those around the site already. A few of them follow below.

Is giving a kobold a weapon considered a marriage proposal?

Do dragons smell of lilacs?

What do Unicorns want?

Whose portrait is printed on the Waterdhavian gold coin?

How common is homosexuality in the Forgotten Realms?

Now, say, by analogy - Would a question about how common is homosexuality in Tamriel during the ESO timeline, or what is the marriage protocol of the Altmer, for example - while in the scope of either writing a character or a campaign for a RPG on that setting- on topic?


There seems to be a consensus that any form of roleplaying is on-topic, whatever the platform may be. That said, I feel there is a difference between, say - player relationships, which certainly is always on topic, and lore, that may or may not be depending on the context.

I'll wait a few days before going ahead in any direction or dumping the idea to see what the community has to say.

Elder Scrolls Online has a bustling online community of roleplayers. I found myself recently playing the game that way for quite a bit, and I've found a great amount of joy getting together with my guildmates and doing stuff while in-character - be it dodging bosses in dungeons or just sitting around in a tavern in Daggerfall.

So far, I've playing with a rather "generic fantasy" character. It worked fine so far, but this last weekend I decided to take the dive and make a proper, more lore-abiding character with proper hooks and ties to that setting.

I had already fired up Word and began typing out the background for my Breton Sorcerer when I came to realization that I actually know very little of that lore.

My first impulse was to come here and ask a couple of lore-related questions in the Elder Scrolls setting, but I'm not sure if this is the proper place to ask those questions.

On one hand, ESO is an online videogame. It isn't a traditional tabletop RPG by any means.

On the other hand, it has a vast roleplaying community, a very dense lore, and even an unofficial adaptation for a true tabletop game.

Lore questions about Forgotten Realms, Ravenloft, and other settings appear to be on-topic. We have a few of those around the site already. A few of them follow below.

Now, say, by analogy - Would a question about how common is homosexuality in Tamriel during the ESO timeline, or what is the marriage protocol of the Altmer, for example - while in the scope of either writing a character or a campaign for a RPG on that setting- on topic?


There seems to be a consensus that any form of roleplaying is on-topic, whatever the platform may be. That said, I feel there is a difference between, say - player relationships, which certainly is always on topic, and lore, that may or may not be depending on the context.

I'll wait a few days before going ahead in any direction or dumping the idea to see what the community has to say.

edited tags
Link
V2Blast
  • 50.1k
  • 1
  • 23
  • 51
added 422 characters in body
Source Link
T. Sar
  • 16.3k
  • 13
  • 22

Elder Scrolls Online has a bustling online community of roleplayers. I found myself recently playing the game that way for quite a bit, and I've found a great amount of joy getting together with my guildmates and doing stuff while in-character - be it dodging bosses in dungeons or just sitting around in a tavern in Daggerfall.

So far, I've playing with a rather "generic fantasy" character. It worked fine so far, but this last weekend I decided to take the dive and make a proper, more lore-abiding character with proper hooks and ties to that setting.

I had already fired up Word and began typing out the background for my Breton Sorcerer when I came to realization that I actually know very little of that lore.

My first impulse was to come here and ask a couple of lore-related questions in the Elder Scrolls setting, but I'm not sure if this is the proper place to ask those questions.

On one hand, ESO is an online videogame. It isn't a traditional tabletop RPG by any means.

On the other hand, it has a vast roleplaying community, a very dense lore, and even an unofficial adaptation for a true tabletop game.

Lore questions about Forgotten Realms, Ravenloft, and other settings appear to be on-topic. We have a few of those around the site already. A few of them follow below.

Is giving a kobold a weapon considered a marriage proposal?

Do dragons smell of lilacs?

What do Unicorns want?

Whose portrait is printed on the Waterdhavian gold coin?

How common is homosexuality in the Forgotten Realms?

Now, say, by analogy - Would a question about how common is homosexuality in Tamriel during the ESO timeline, or what is the marriage protocol of the Altmer, for example - while in the scope of either writing a character or a campaign for a RPG on that setting- on topic?


There seems to be a consensus that any form of roleplaying is on-topic, whatever the platform may be. That said, I feel there is a difference between, say - player relationships, which certainly is always on topic, and lore, that may or may not be depending on the context.

I'll wait a few days before going ahead in any direction or dumping the idea to see what the community has to say.

Elder Scrolls Online has a bustling online community of roleplayers. I found myself recently playing the game that way for quite a bit, and I've found a great amount of joy getting together with my guildmates and doing stuff while in-character - be it dodging bosses in dungeons or just sitting around in a tavern in Daggerfall.

So far, I've playing with a rather "generic fantasy" character. It worked fine so far, but this last weekend I decided to take the dive and make a proper, more lore-abiding character with proper hooks and ties to that setting.

I had already fired up Word and began typing out the background for my Breton Sorcerer when I came to realization that I actually know very little of that lore.

My first impulse was to come here and ask a couple of lore-related questions in the Elder Scrolls setting, but I'm not sure if this is the proper place to ask those questions.

On one hand, ESO is an online videogame. It isn't a traditional tabletop RPG by any means.

On the other hand, it has a vast roleplaying community, a very dense lore, and even an unofficial adaptation for a true tabletop game.

Lore questions about Forgotten Realms, Ravenloft, and other settings appear to be on-topic. We have a few of those around the site already. A few of them follow below.

Is giving a kobold a weapon considered a marriage proposal?

Do dragons smell of lilacs?

What do Unicorns want?

Whose portrait is printed on the Waterdhavian gold coin?

How common is homosexuality in the Forgotten Realms?

Now, say, by analogy - Would a question about how common is homosexuality in Tamriel during the ESO timeline, or what is the marriage protocol of the Altmer, for example - while in the scope of either writing a character or a campaign for a RPG on that setting- on topic?

Elder Scrolls Online has a bustling online community of roleplayers. I found myself recently playing the game that way for quite a bit, and I've found a great amount of joy getting together with my guildmates and doing stuff while in-character - be it dodging bosses in dungeons or just sitting around in a tavern in Daggerfall.

So far, I've playing with a rather "generic fantasy" character. It worked fine so far, but this last weekend I decided to take the dive and make a proper, more lore-abiding character with proper hooks and ties to that setting.

I had already fired up Word and began typing out the background for my Breton Sorcerer when I came to realization that I actually know very little of that lore.

My first impulse was to come here and ask a couple of lore-related questions in the Elder Scrolls setting, but I'm not sure if this is the proper place to ask those questions.

On one hand, ESO is an online videogame. It isn't a traditional tabletop RPG by any means.

On the other hand, it has a vast roleplaying community, a very dense lore, and even an unofficial adaptation for a true tabletop game.

Lore questions about Forgotten Realms, Ravenloft, and other settings appear to be on-topic. We have a few of those around the site already. A few of them follow below.

Is giving a kobold a weapon considered a marriage proposal?

Do dragons smell of lilacs?

What do Unicorns want?

Whose portrait is printed on the Waterdhavian gold coin?

How common is homosexuality in the Forgotten Realms?

Now, say, by analogy - Would a question about how common is homosexuality in Tamriel during the ESO timeline, or what is the marriage protocol of the Altmer, for example - while in the scope of either writing a character or a campaign for a RPG on that setting- on topic?


There seems to be a consensus that any form of roleplaying is on-topic, whatever the platform may be. That said, I feel there is a difference between, say - player relationships, which certainly is always on topic, and lore, that may or may not be depending on the context.

I'll wait a few days before going ahead in any direction or dumping the idea to see what the community has to say.

added 91 characters in body
Source Link
T. Sar
  • 16.3k
  • 13
  • 22
Loading
Source Link
T. Sar
  • 16.3k
  • 13
  • 22
Loading