Skip to main content
edited body
Source Link
KorvinStarmast
  • 143.9k
  • 1
  • 37
  • 75

They are if you are dealing with the RPG issue involved: cheating.

I think you have an X-Y problem going on here. The problem with loaded, or badly balanced, dice is that they can (but aren'tnot necessarily in the latter case) lead to some non-trivially bad at-the-table experience if someone is not relying on RNG but is instead using a loaded or badly balanced dice on purpose to achieve something at the table.

That has at-the-table ramifications that can get ugly. I have seen this IRL, and I threw a guy off of my table for it. There were RL issues that followed and a friendship more or less destroyed. (Mid 80's).

The science is interesting, sure, but for RPG purposes, the Problem To Solve is either cheating, or one player always getting that high roll when everyone else gets the broader distribution.

I'd suggest that you re-frame the question along those lines.

They are if you are dealing with the RPG issue involved: cheating.

I think you have an X-Y problem going on here. The problem with loaded, or badly balanced, dice is that they can (but aren't necessarily in the latter case) lead to some non-trivially bad at-the-table experience if someone is not relying on RNG but is instead using a loaded or badly balanced dice on purpose to achieve something at the table.

That has at-the-table ramifications that can get ugly. I have seen this IRL, and I threw a guy off my table for it. There were RL issues that followed and a friendship more or less destroyed. (Mid 80's).

The science is interesting, sure, but for RPG purposes, the Problem To Solve is either cheating, or one player always getting that high roll when everyone else gets the broader distribution.

I'd suggest that you re-frame the question along those lines.

They are if you are dealing with the RPG issue involved: cheating.

I think you have an X-Y problem going on here. The problem with loaded, or badly balanced, dice is that they can (but not necessarily in the latter case) lead to some non-trivially bad at-the-table experience if someone is not relying on RNG but is instead using a loaded or badly balanced dice on purpose to achieve something at the table.

That has at-the-table ramifications that can get ugly. I have seen this IRL, and I threw a guy off of my table for it. There were RL issues that followed and a friendship more or less destroyed. (Mid 80's).

The science is interesting, sure, but for RPG purposes, the Problem To Solve is either cheating, or one player always getting that high roll when everyone else gets the broader distribution.

I'd suggest that you re-frame the question along those lines.

edited body
Source Link

They are if you are dealing with the RPG issue involved: cheating.

I think you have an X-Y problem going on here. The problem with loaded, or badly balanced, dice is that they can (but aren't necessarily in the latter case) lead to some non-trivially bad at-the-table experience if someone is not relying on RNG but is instead using a loaded or badly balanced dice on purpose to achieve something at the table.

That has at=the=tableat-the-table ramifications that can get ugly. I have seen this IRL, and I threw a guy off my table for it. There were RL issues that followed and a friendship more or less destroyed. (Mid 80's).

The science is interesting, sure, but for RPG purposes, the Problem To Solve is either cheating, or one player always getting that high roll when everyone else gets the broader distribution.

I'd suggest that you re-frame the question along those lines.

They are if you are dealing with the RPG issue involved: cheating.

I think you have an X-Y problem going on here. The problem with loaded, or badly balanced, dice is that they can (but aren't necessarily in the latter case) lead to some non-trivially bad at-the-table experience if someone is not relying on RNG but is instead using a loaded or badly balanced dice on purpose to achieve something at the table.

That has at=the=table ramifications that can get ugly. I have seen this IRL, and I threw a guy off my table for it. There were RL issues that followed and a friendship more or less destroyed. (Mid 80's).

The science is interesting, sure, but for RPG purposes, the Problem To Solve is either cheating, or one player always getting that high roll when everyone else gets the broader distribution.

I'd suggest that you re-frame the question along those lines.

They are if you are dealing with the RPG issue involved: cheating.

I think you have an X-Y problem going on here. The problem with loaded, or badly balanced, dice is that they can (but aren't necessarily in the latter case) lead to some non-trivially bad at-the-table experience if someone is not relying on RNG but is instead using a loaded or badly balanced dice on purpose to achieve something at the table.

That has at-the-table ramifications that can get ugly. I have seen this IRL, and I threw a guy off my table for it. There were RL issues that followed and a friendship more or less destroyed. (Mid 80's).

The science is interesting, sure, but for RPG purposes, the Problem To Solve is either cheating, or one player always getting that high roll when everyone else gets the broader distribution.

I'd suggest that you re-frame the question along those lines.

added 28 characters in body
Source Link
KorvinStarmast
  • 143.9k
  • 1
  • 37
  • 75

They are if you are dealing with the RPG issue involved: cheating.

I think you have an XYX-Y problem going on here. The problem with loaded, or badly balanced dice, dice is that they can (but don'taren't necessarily in the latter case) lead to some non trivially-trivially bad at table-the-table experience if someone is not relying on RNG but is instead using a loaded/badly or badly balanced dice on purpose to achieve something at the table.

That has at tableat=the=table ramifications that can get ugly. Seen in I have seen this IRL, and I threw a guy off my table for it, and there. There were RL issues that followed and a friendship more or less destroyed. (Mid 80's).

The science is interesting, sure, but for RPG purposes, the Problem To Solve is either cheating, or one player always getting that high roll when everyone else gets the broader distribution.

I'd suggest that you re-frame the question along those lines.

They are if you are dealing with the RPG issue involved: cheating.

I think you have an XY problem going on here. The problem with loaded, or badly balanced dice, is that they can (but don't necessarily in the latter case) lead to some non trivially bad at table experience if someone is not relying on RNG but is using a loaded/badly balanced dice on purpose to achieve something at the table.

That has at table ramifications that can get ugly. Seen in IRL, and I threw a guy off my table for it, and there were RL issues that followed and a friendship more or less destroyed. (Mid 80's).

The science is interesting, sure, but for RPG purposes, the Problem To Solve is either cheating, or one player always getting that high roll when everyone else gets the broader distribution.

I'd suggest that you re-frame the question along those lines.

They are if you are dealing with the RPG issue involved: cheating.

I think you have an X-Y problem going on here. The problem with loaded, or badly balanced, dice is that they can (but aren't necessarily in the latter case) lead to some non-trivially bad at-the-table experience if someone is not relying on RNG but is instead using a loaded or badly balanced dice on purpose to achieve something at the table.

That has at=the=table ramifications that can get ugly. I have seen this IRL, and I threw a guy off my table for it. There were RL issues that followed and a friendship more or less destroyed. (Mid 80's).

The science is interesting, sure, but for RPG purposes, the Problem To Solve is either cheating, or one player always getting that high roll when everyone else gets the broader distribution.

I'd suggest that you re-frame the question along those lines.

Source Link
KorvinStarmast
  • 143.9k
  • 1
  • 37
  • 75
Loading