Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 13, 2010 at 13:37 comment added mxyzplk I agree we have to decide what an RPG is and what's in scope. Having said that, I don't see any reason that Montsegur or Sweet Agatha stuff isn't on topic here.
Oct 6, 2010 at 6:51 comment added Pat Ludwig Completely disagree with the first statement. We need to definitely decide what is and is not an RPG. That defines the scope of this site.
Aug 30, 2010 at 16:22 comment added SevenSidedDie Ah, ok. It never occurred to me to play a freeform scene game as a larp, so I wouldn't consider a story game to be not a roleplaying game.
Aug 29, 2010 at 23:06 comment added J. Walton Seven, it's more that I was thinking of Montsegur as an example of increasing number of freeform or semi-larp games, like A Penny for My Thoughts, A Flower for Mara, and the like. In some of these games, you act out scenes, while in others you sit around the table and describe them, and some are agnostic about how you perform them.
Aug 29, 2010 at 21:20 comment added SevenSidedDie Incidentally, I'm curious what you mean by "semi-larp". Is there something about Montsegur 1244 that I missed reading it, or is this just an unusual way of saying "freeform scenes"?
Aug 28, 2010 at 22:58 comment added Bryant I was thinking about the rather elegant solution: "if it calls itself a roleplaying game, it's in the club."
Aug 28, 2010 at 22:01 history edited J. Walton CC BY-SA 2.5
added 40 characters in body
Aug 28, 2010 at 21:10 history answered J. Walton CC BY-SA 2.5