Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 23, 2022 at 16:01 comment added Geo... @StephenKitt, thanks for the explanation. I was doing desktop applications during that time period so I missed all the fun associated with early web development. I remember trying to build a page (as an experiment, maybe 1997-ish) that would receive a live-feed of data from my server and refresh/update content before (I think) AJAX was a thing (I might have just been ignorant of AJAX)... After some trial and error, jiggery-pokery, a few iframes, etc... I got it sort of working, but it was at that moment I decided web development was not for me. :-)
Nov 23, 2022 at 15:39 comment added Stephen Kitt @Geo... that’s also some of the thinking, at least for some developers, behind modern HTML5 + CSS; it’s possible to build highly interactive web pages using only HTML and CSS, and then if necessary, more complex behaviours can be implemented on top in JS.
Nov 23, 2022 at 15:37 comment added Stephen Kitt @Geo... that’s how HTML + JS was used back in the day (I did lots of HTML + JS development in the early 2000s). You’d have a complete HTML page with CSS, and references to JS; if the JS loaded, it would enrich HTML controls and provide additional behaviour (up to and including full-blown AJAX). The whole thing (HTML, CSS, JS) had to be written carefully so that it would be compatible with the desired target browsers, which could be painful, but it was doable.
Nov 23, 2022 at 15:14 comment added Geo... I realize this goes beyond the scope of a retro-computing question, but this answer begs the question, "If you initially serve 'old' HTML by default, and you assume the browser doesn't support javascript, then how would the page 'enrich itself' on more capable browsers? Is this a matter of sending the javascript and 'seeing what happens'?
Nov 21, 2022 at 12:47 comment added Austin Hemmelgarn This also has the distinct advantage that it will give non-visual users a working site in most cases without you having to code for their browsers separately.
Nov 20, 2022 at 14:53 vote accept Borg Drone
Nov 20, 2022 at 13:53 history answered Stephen Kitt CC BY-SA 4.0