Skip to main content

Timeline for When did IBM start to use ASCII?

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 18, 2020 at 14:37 comment added MKhomo I suppose you're right if one discounts as processing, the holding on to what you've 'keyed' until you 'Hit' the Xmit key. My mainframe exposure is limited, but I remember when they wanted to provide me with a remote 'smart' terminal, the thing was as big as my desk and had more keys than an alligator had teeth, and the mainframe techs liked it because it could waltz with the consoles, in an arcane console-speak VTAM is all I remember of it; whereas I was more used to the little pedestals that fed little punched tapes with pre-ASCII BCD for a mini (HP3000 I think).
Aug 17, 2020 at 12:48 comment added John Doty @MKhomo Nope, they were "dumb" because they couldn't process text without help. The "smart" terminals could do simple text manipulation themselves, without help from the mainframe.
Jul 9, 2020 at 11:45 comment added Bob Jarvis - Слава Україні It should be mentioned that BCDIC is an acronym for "Binary-Coded Decimal Interchange Code".
Jul 8, 2020 at 23:29 comment added MKhomo And one may add that true blue professionals referred to ASCII terminals as DUMB terminals (as they could not probe the mainframe functions directly)
Jul 8, 2020 at 14:57 history answered John Doty CC BY-SA 4.0