Skip to main content
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Bumped by Community user
Tweeted twitter.com/StackQuant/status/1165141828611510276
added 7 characters in body
Source Link

I was thinking about how to figure aut duration for portfolio of bonds denominated in different currencies… I would like to compare sensitivity of portfolio to shift of yield with competitive portfolios, which have only EUR denominated bonds and the only indicator I know is modified duration of portfolios.

The duration of bond portfolio is equal to the weighted average of bond durations. Modified duration does measure the sensitivity of changes in bond price to changes in yield. But, if I counted modified duration (MD) of the portfolio as a weighted average of bond MD aside from denominated currency of bonds, I'd get measure for sensitivity of portfolio to parallel shift of all yield curves (in all currencies) at the same time, by assuming that curves are perfectly correlated. But they are not.

So, I would like to measure sensitivity of multi-currency bond portfolio to changes in EUR yield. I have modified duration of bond in denominated currency (for example USD), let’s name it Modified duration (USD). We can say, that Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration x Yield Change

So, for that bond (bond in USD):

Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration(USD) x Yield Change(USD)

First idea was that if I had correlation, or Beta from regression, where dependent variable would be yield (USD) and independent variable would be yield (EUR), I could write: Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration(USD) x Beta x Yield Change(EUR) *

But can I? Or is there any other way how to do it correctly? Thank you very much for your comments.

Note*: If bond Modified duration (USD) of USD bond was 5.2, I would seek dependence of 5-year USD swap rate from 5-year euro swap rate ...

I was thinking about how to figure aut duration for portfolio of bonds denominated in different currencies… I would like to compare sensitivity of portfolio to shift of yield with competitive portfolios, which have only EUR denominated bonds and the only indicator I know is modified duration of portfolios.

The duration of bond portfolio is equal to the weighted average of bond durations. Modified duration does measure the sensitivity of changes in bond price to changes in yield. But, if I counted modified duration (MD) of the portfolio as a weighted average of bond MD aside from denominated currency of bonds, I'd get measure for sensitivity of portfolio to parallel shift of all yield curves (in all currencies) at the same time, by assuming that curves are perfectly correlated. But they are not.

So, I would like to measure sensitivity of multi-currency bond portfolio to changes in EUR yield. I have modified duration of bond in denominated currency (for example USD), let’s name it Modified duration (USD). We can say, that Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration x Yield Change

So, for that bond (bond in USD):

Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration(USD) x Yield Change(USD)

First idea was that if I had correlation, or Beta from regression, where dependent variable would be yield (USD) and independent variable would be yield (EUR), I could write: Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration(USD) x Beta x Yield Change(EUR) *

But can I? Or is there any other way how to do it correctly? Thank you very much for your comments.

Note*: If bond Modified duration (USD) was 5.2, I would seek dependence of 5-year USD swap rate from 5-year euro swap rate ...

I was thinking about how to figure aut duration for portfolio of bonds denominated in different currencies… I would like to compare sensitivity of portfolio to shift of yield with competitive portfolios, which have only EUR denominated bonds and the only indicator I know is modified duration of portfolios.

The duration of bond portfolio is equal to the weighted average of bond durations. Modified duration does measure the sensitivity of changes in bond price to changes in yield. But, if I counted modified duration (MD) of the portfolio as a weighted average of bond MD aside from denominated currency of bonds, I'd get measure for sensitivity of portfolio to parallel shift of all yield curves (in all currencies) at the same time, by assuming that curves are perfectly correlated. But they are not.

So, I would like to measure sensitivity of multi-currency bond portfolio to changes in EUR yield. I have modified duration of bond in denominated currency (for example USD), let’s name it Modified duration (USD). We can say, that Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration x Yield Change

So, for that bond (bond in USD):

Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration(USD) x Yield Change(USD)

First idea was that if I had correlation, or Beta from regression, where dependent variable would be yield (USD) and independent variable would be yield (EUR), I could write: Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration(USD) x Beta x Yield Change(EUR) *

But can I? Or is there any other way how to do it correctly? Thank you very much for your comments.

Note*: If Modified duration (USD) of USD bond was 5.2, I would seek dependence of 5-year USD swap rate from 5-year euro swap rate ...

deleted 4 characters in body
Source Link

I was thinking about how to figure aut duration for portfolio of bonds denominated in different currencies… I would like to compare sensitivity of portfolio to shift of yield with competitive portfolios, which have only EUR denominated bonds and the only indicator I know is modified duration of portfolios.

The duration of bond portfolio is equal to the weighted average of bond durations. Modified duration does measure the sensitivity of changes in bond price to changes in yield. But, if I counted modified duration (MD) of the portfolio as a weighted average of bond MD aside from denominated currency of bonds, I'd get measure for sensitivity of portfolio to parallel shift of all yield curves (in all currencies) at the same time, by assuming that curves are perfectly correlated. But they are not.

So, I would like to measure sensitivity of multi-currency bond portfolio to changes in EUR yield. I have modified duration of bond in denominated currency (for example USD), let’s name it Modified duration (USD). We can say, that Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration x Yield Change

So, for that bond (bond in USD):

Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration(USD) x Yield Change(USD)

First idea was that if I would havehad correlation, or Beta from regression, where dependent variable would be yield (USD) and independent variable would be yield (EUR), I could write: Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration(USD) x Beta x Yield Change(EUR) *

But can I? Or is there any other way how to do it correctly? Thank you very much for your comments.

Note*: If bond Modified duration (USD) was 5.2, I would seek dependence of 5-year USD swap rate from 5-year euro swap rate ...

I was thinking about how to figure aut duration for portfolio of bonds denominated in different currencies… I would like to compare sensitivity of portfolio to shift of yield with competitive portfolios, which have only EUR denominated bonds and the only indicator I know is modified duration of portfolios.

The duration of bond portfolio is equal to the weighted average of bond durations. Modified duration does measure the sensitivity of changes in bond price to changes in yield. But, if I counted modified duration (MD) of the portfolio as a weighted average of bond MD aside from denominated currency of bonds, I'd get measure for sensitivity of portfolio to parallel shift of all yield curves (in all currencies) at the same time, by assuming that curves are perfectly correlated. But they are not.

So, I would like to measure sensitivity of multi-currency bond portfolio to changes in EUR yield. I have modified duration of bond in denominated currency (for example USD), let’s name it Modified duration (USD). We can say, that Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration x Yield Change

So, for that bond (bond in USD):

Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration(USD) x Yield Change(USD)

First idea was that I would have correlation, or Beta from regression, where dependent variable would be yield (USD) and independent variable would be yield (EUR), I could write: Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration(USD) x Beta x Yield Change(EUR) *

But can I? Or is there any other way how to do it correctly? Thank you very much for your comments.

Note*: If bond Modified duration (USD) was 5.2, I would seek dependence of 5-year USD swap rate from 5-year euro swap rate ...

I was thinking about how to figure aut duration for portfolio of bonds denominated in different currencies… I would like to compare sensitivity of portfolio to shift of yield with competitive portfolios, which have only EUR denominated bonds and the only indicator I know is modified duration of portfolios.

The duration of bond portfolio is equal to the weighted average of bond durations. Modified duration does measure the sensitivity of changes in bond price to changes in yield. But, if I counted modified duration (MD) of the portfolio as a weighted average of bond MD aside from denominated currency of bonds, I'd get measure for sensitivity of portfolio to parallel shift of all yield curves (in all currencies) at the same time, by assuming that curves are perfectly correlated. But they are not.

So, I would like to measure sensitivity of multi-currency bond portfolio to changes in EUR yield. I have modified duration of bond in denominated currency (for example USD), let’s name it Modified duration (USD). We can say, that Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration x Yield Change

So, for that bond (bond in USD):

Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration(USD) x Yield Change(USD)

First idea was that if I had correlation, or Beta from regression, where dependent variable would be yield (USD) and independent variable would be yield (EUR), I could write: Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration(USD) x Beta x Yield Change(EUR) *

But can I? Or is there any other way how to do it correctly? Thank you very much for your comments.

Note*: If bond Modified duration (USD) was 5.2, I would seek dependence of 5-year USD swap rate from 5-year euro swap rate ...

Source Link

Modified duration in multi-currency portfolio

I was thinking about how to figure aut duration for portfolio of bonds denominated in different currencies… I would like to compare sensitivity of portfolio to shift of yield with competitive portfolios, which have only EUR denominated bonds and the only indicator I know is modified duration of portfolios.

The duration of bond portfolio is equal to the weighted average of bond durations. Modified duration does measure the sensitivity of changes in bond price to changes in yield. But, if I counted modified duration (MD) of the portfolio as a weighted average of bond MD aside from denominated currency of bonds, I'd get measure for sensitivity of portfolio to parallel shift of all yield curves (in all currencies) at the same time, by assuming that curves are perfectly correlated. But they are not.

So, I would like to measure sensitivity of multi-currency bond portfolio to changes in EUR yield. I have modified duration of bond in denominated currency (for example USD), let’s name it Modified duration (USD). We can say, that Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration x Yield Change

So, for that bond (bond in USD):

Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration(USD) x Yield Change(USD)

First idea was that I would have correlation, or Beta from regression, where dependent variable would be yield (USD) and independent variable would be yield (EUR), I could write: Bond Price Change (in %) is approximately –Modified Duration(USD) x Beta x Yield Change(EUR) *

But can I? Or is there any other way how to do it correctly? Thank you very much for your comments.

Note*: If bond Modified duration (USD) was 5.2, I would seek dependence of 5-year USD swap rate from 5-year euro swap rate ...