Skip to main content
17 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 25, 2020 at 14:50 comment added oAlt I just saw the update to the answer. If only I could star the question twice..
May 25, 2020 at 14:43 history edited Stiv CC BY-SA 4.0
Added OP's inspiration
May 25, 2020 at 7:25 comment added Anon @Hugh I got time to do it. Here's a run-through of my lazy code: pastebin.com/raw/mFtbpX0t You'll need to install a lot of packages to run this code I think (although I probably didn't end up using all the ones I installed). I can't remember what all of them were since they were in the console. It's not a lot of code as is, but I've not used R much, and a ridiculous amount of trial and error went into it.
May 25, 2020 at 5:12 comment added user46002 @Anon no no, that's totally fine. I too have written some pretty botched-together crap in my lifetime. I just want to be able to play around with your scripts to see if I can discover anything cool.
May 25, 2020 at 4:23 comment added Anon @Hugh I'll try to post it later. Maybe tomorrow; I probably won't have time when I get back from work this afternoon. I coded in a very slapdash fashion though, some in the console, some in scripts, so it might be hard to get too much useful out of it.
May 25, 2020 at 3:12 comment added user46002 @Anon would you be willing to share your R code? I'd be interested in seeing that. :)
May 25, 2020 at 1:41 comment added Anon @Stiv I definitely learned more about how R works than I expected to making this puzzle :) I'm glad it seems to have been fun to solve
May 24, 2020 at 23:49 comment added Anon @Stiv Avpr fbyhgvba! V jnf ubcvat guvf bar jbhyq or sha. Znxvat vg jnf punyyratvat... V unq gb perngr n zngevk jubfr ebjf naq pbyhzaf unq gubfr fcrpvsvp fhzf va juvpu bayl fcrpvsvp ryrzragf jrer abaartngvir. Gura V unq gb svaq na Rhyrevna pvephvg guebhtu gur erfhygvat tencu (naq unq gb jevgr zl bja E cebtenz gb qb vg fvapr abar bs gur barf V pbhyq svaq pbhyq unaqyr qverpgrq zhygvtencuf). Gura bs pbhefr znxvat gur tvs va E juvpu jnf dhvgr n punyyratr... Znepry jnf npghnyyl n abq gb this guy.
May 24, 2020 at 23:20 vote accept Anon
May 24, 2020 at 22:45 history edited Stiv CC BY-SA 4.0
Blew my own mind
May 24, 2020 at 22:25 comment added Stiv @Anon I've just worked it out and it is a thing of beauty! Writing up now - I see now why it took you so long! Oh, this is exciting...
May 24, 2020 at 21:53 comment added Anon @Stiv This one is relatively simple though
May 24, 2020 at 21:40 comment added Anon @Stiv There is more. So far all you have is a guess... ;) In counting the total number of times each player passes the ball, what might you have overlooked? Your grid idea is on the right track...
May 24, 2020 at 16:23 comment added Stiv @Anon Is there anything more to find within this puzzle? I noticed that certain sequences repeat over and over for a while and I also spent a chunk of time rearranging the numbers from the CSV file into various size grids to see if you formed any ASCII-art-style pictures within them, but couldn't spot anything. As I couldn't find anything further I thought it worth posting this answer - but do say if you've hidden something else that needs solving! (Just going off the complexity of the last one of yours that I solved!) Thanks :)
May 24, 2020 at 14:50 history edited Stiv CC BY-SA 4.0
Explained the OP's choice of character name
May 24, 2020 at 14:45 comment added F1Krazy Oh my god, I actually called it.
May 24, 2020 at 14:21 history answered Stiv CC BY-SA 4.0