Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

9
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ I'm new to chess enigmas, so I have a couple questions : when you say "8 moves", are these 4 white moves and 4 black moves, or 8 of each ? Must I assume I am the White Player (i.e. should all of the Black Player's moves be forced by mine?) Should I assume the White Pawns move upward, and the Black ones downward? $\endgroup$ Commented Jul 11, 2019 at 14:51
  • $\begingroup$ There is no way for me to always limit his actions for 8 turns straigth to only one move by constantly checking him. At some point, he will be free to move one pawn or the other, right? $\endgroup$ Commented Jul 11, 2019 at 16:05
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Damn it Pawns, you failed me ! They were my first choice, but I just can't see how they can inflict mate. Whenever I tried with them, my King could escape the check either by moving in C4 or C5 (depending on where the B6 pawn ended up). Please, no more hints now, I feel babysitted ._. $\endgroup$ Commented Jul 12, 2019 at 18:33
  • 3
    $\begingroup$ Dropping the FEN here: 4B1r1/P2pP2p/1p3p2/3P4/1PpK1N2/1pP2kB1/1P5P/8 w - - $\endgroup$ Commented Jul 31, 2019 at 12:39
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ That anyone could downvote this puzzle is the greatest mystery I've seen on PSE. $\endgroup$ Commented Aug 7, 2019 at 22:23