Skip to main content
deleted 1 character in body
Source Link
Excited Raichu
  • 9.9k
  • 2
  • 19
  • 81

I was recently talking to one of my friends who played chess (much better than me, I'll admit). He said he had a different kind of chess problem, one that may be a little easier, oneor that may be a little bit harder than usual. He said it was a chess lock puzzle.

He then grabbed two(!) chess sets and set up the following position:

enter image description here

He challenged me to find the least number of moves to capture the black king, using the following rules:

  1. White gets an infinite number of moves.
  2. White may only capture undefended pieces, and the black king (checkmate isn't a thing, just capture the black king)
  3. Rooks are the only keys that work. You must capture the black king with a rook.

He said his best was to do it in 17 moves. Can you do it quicker?

I was recently talking to one of my friends who played chess (much better than me, I'll admit). He said he had a different kind of chess problem, one that may be a little easier, one that may be a little bit harder than usual. He said it was a chess lock puzzle.

He then grabbed two(!) chess sets and set up the following position:

enter image description here

He challenged me to find the least number of moves to capture the black king, using the following rules:

  1. White gets an infinite number of moves.
  2. White may only capture undefended pieces, and the black king (checkmate isn't a thing, just capture the black king)
  3. Rooks are the only keys that work. You must capture the black king with a rook.

He said his best was to do it in 17 moves. Can you do it quicker?

I was recently talking to one of my friends who played chess (much better than me, I'll admit). He said he had a different kind of chess problem, one that may be a little easier, or that may be a little bit harder than usual. He said it was a chess lock puzzle.

He then grabbed two(!) chess sets and set up the following position:

enter image description here

He challenged me to find the least number of moves to capture the black king, using the following rules:

  1. White gets an infinite number of moves.
  2. White may only capture undefended pieces, and the black king (checkmate isn't a thing, just capture the black king)
  3. Rooks are the only keys that work. You must capture the black king with a rook.

He said his best was to do it in 17 moves. Can you do it quicker?

Source Link
Excited Raichu
  • 9.9k
  • 2
  • 19
  • 81

A Chess Lock Puzzle?

I was recently talking to one of my friends who played chess (much better than me, I'll admit). He said he had a different kind of chess problem, one that may be a little easier, one that may be a little bit harder than usual. He said it was a chess lock puzzle.

He then grabbed two(!) chess sets and set up the following position:

enter image description here

He challenged me to find the least number of moves to capture the black king, using the following rules:

  1. White gets an infinite number of moves.
  2. White may only capture undefended pieces, and the black king (checkmate isn't a thing, just capture the black king)
  3. Rooks are the only keys that work. You must capture the black king with a rook.

He said his best was to do it in 17 moves. Can you do it quicker?