Skip to main content
replaced http://puzzling.stackexchange.com/ with https://puzzling.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

I'm DaveDave.

In revenge for my calculator key-switching prank, RyboRybo has performed a similar prank on me!

My calculator has the usual number keys, and keys for the usual four arithmetic operations:

0123456789 ; +-x÷

All of the digits are where they should be, but two of the arithmetic-operation keys have been swapped. I don't know which two. Rybo says I'm only allowed to perform one operation - compute one sum using some of the ten digits and the four operation keys, as well as brackets () if necessary, any number of times - in such a way that the result of the calculation will tell me which two have been swapped.

Is this possible? If so, how can I do it?

Out-of-character disclaimer: I don't know the answer to this question.

I'm Dave.

In revenge for my calculator key-switching prank, Rybo has performed a similar prank on me!

My calculator has the usual number keys, and keys for the usual four arithmetic operations:

0123456789 ; +-x÷

All of the digits are where they should be, but two of the arithmetic-operation keys have been swapped. I don't know which two. Rybo says I'm only allowed to perform one operation - compute one sum using some of the ten digits and the four operation keys, as well as brackets () if necessary, any number of times - in such a way that the result of the calculation will tell me which two have been swapped.

Is this possible? If so, how can I do it?

Out-of-character disclaimer: I don't know the answer to this question.

I'm Dave.

In revenge for my calculator key-switching prank, Rybo has performed a similar prank on me!

My calculator has the usual number keys, and keys for the usual four arithmetic operations:

0123456789 ; +-x÷

All of the digits are where they should be, but two of the arithmetic-operation keys have been swapped. I don't know which two. Rybo says I'm only allowed to perform one operation - compute one sum using some of the ten digits and the four operation keys, as well as brackets () if necessary, any number of times - in such a way that the result of the calculation will tell me which two have been swapped.

Is this possible? If so, how can I do it?

Out-of-character disclaimer: I don't know the answer to this question.

added 60 characters in body
Source Link
Rand al'Thor
  • 117.3k
  • 28
  • 324
  • 630

I'm Dave.

In revenge for my calculator key-switching prank, Rybo has performed a similar prank on me!

My calculator has the usual number keys, and keys for the usual four arithmetic operations:

0123456789 ; +-x÷

All of the digits are where they should be, but two of the arithmetic-operation keys have been swapped. I don't know which two. Rybo says I'm only allowed to perform one operation - compute one sum using some of the ten digits and the four operation keys, as well as brackets () if necessary, any number of times - in such a way that the result of the calculation will tell me which two have been swapped.

Is this possible? If so, how can I do it?

Out-of-character disclaimer: I don't know the answer to this question.

I'm Dave.

In revenge for my calculator key-switching prank, Rybo has performed a similar prank on me!

My calculator has the usual number keys, and keys for the usual four arithmetic operations:

0123456789 ; +-x÷

All of the digits are where they should be, but two of the arithmetic-operation keys have been swapped. I don't know which two. Rybo says I'm only allowed to perform one operation - compute one sum using some of the ten digits and the four operation keys any number of times - in such a way that the result of the calculation will tell me which two have been swapped.

Is this possible? If so, how can I do it?

Out-of-character disclaimer: I don't know the answer to this question.

I'm Dave.

In revenge for my calculator key-switching prank, Rybo has performed a similar prank on me!

My calculator has the usual number keys, and keys for the usual four arithmetic operations:

0123456789 ; +-x÷

All of the digits are where they should be, but two of the arithmetic-operation keys have been swapped. I don't know which two. Rybo says I'm only allowed to perform one operation - compute one sum using some of the ten digits and the four operation keys, as well as brackets () if necessary, any number of times - in such a way that the result of the calculation will tell me which two have been swapped.

Is this possible? If so, how can I do it?

Out-of-character disclaimer: I don't know the answer to this question.

Source Link
Rand al'Thor
  • 117.3k
  • 28
  • 324
  • 630

Rybo switched the calculator keys!

I'm Dave.

In revenge for my calculator key-switching prank, Rybo has performed a similar prank on me!

My calculator has the usual number keys, and keys for the usual four arithmetic operations:

0123456789 ; +-x÷

All of the digits are where they should be, but two of the arithmetic-operation keys have been swapped. I don't know which two. Rybo says I'm only allowed to perform one operation - compute one sum using some of the ten digits and the four operation keys any number of times - in such a way that the result of the calculation will tell me which two have been swapped.

Is this possible? If so, how can I do it?

Out-of-character disclaimer: I don't know the answer to this question.