Skip to main content
Post Closed as "Not suitable for this site" by bobble, Stiv, Rand al'Thor, Voldemort's Wrath, Taco
replaced http://puzzling.stackexchange.com/ with https://puzzling.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

Let's call De Bruijn n-phrase a sequence $S$ of n words $W_1 W_2 W_3... W_n$ such that any "left-rotation" of its words constitutes a correct and meaningful phrase. The left-rotations of $S$ are:

  • $W_1 W_2 W_3... W_n$
  • $W_2 W_3... W_n W_1$
  • $W_3... W_n W_1 W_2$
  • $...$
  • $W_n W_1 W_2 W_3...$

An (uninteresting) example of a De Bruijn 2-phrase is "work hard" / "hard work".

I don't know any example of a De Bruijn 3-phrase, but a more restrictive question of minea more restrictive question of mine was answered with "someone I love" / "I love someone" (unfortunately, "love someone I" is not valid).

Challenge: find the longest De Bruijn phrase.

NB. Since I am a non-native English speaker, I would be grateful if you could paraphrase in plain English each left-rotation of your phrase.

Let's call De Bruijn n-phrase a sequence $S$ of n words $W_1 W_2 W_3... W_n$ such that any "left-rotation" of its words constitutes a correct and meaningful phrase. The left-rotations of $S$ are:

  • $W_1 W_2 W_3... W_n$
  • $W_2 W_3... W_n W_1$
  • $W_3... W_n W_1 W_2$
  • $...$
  • $W_n W_1 W_2 W_3...$

An (uninteresting) example of a De Bruijn 2-phrase is "work hard" / "hard work".

I don't know any example of a De Bruijn 3-phrase, but a more restrictive question of mine was answered with "someone I love" / "I love someone" (unfortunately, "love someone I" is not valid).

Challenge: find the longest De Bruijn phrase.

NB. Since I am a non-native English speaker, I would be grateful if you could paraphrase in plain English each left-rotation of your phrase.

Let's call De Bruijn n-phrase a sequence $S$ of n words $W_1 W_2 W_3... W_n$ such that any "left-rotation" of its words constitutes a correct and meaningful phrase. The left-rotations of $S$ are:

  • $W_1 W_2 W_3... W_n$
  • $W_2 W_3... W_n W_1$
  • $W_3... W_n W_1 W_2$
  • $...$
  • $W_n W_1 W_2 W_3...$

An (uninteresting) example of a De Bruijn 2-phrase is "work hard" / "hard work".

I don't know any example of a De Bruijn 3-phrase, but a more restrictive question of mine was answered with "someone I love" / "I love someone" (unfortunately, "love someone I" is not valid).

Challenge: find the longest De Bruijn phrase.

NB. Since I am a non-native English speaker, I would be grateful if you could paraphrase in plain English each left-rotation of your phrase.

improve title
Link
Rand al'Thor
  • 117.3k
  • 28
  • 324
  • 630

Longest "De Bruijn phrase" in English (phrase which is meaningful after left-rotating words)

Longest "De Bruijn phrase" in English (phrase which is meaningful after left-rotating words)

fixed indice typo
Source Link
Aristide
  • 465
  • 4
  • 9
Loading
added 4 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
Beastly Gerbil
  • 60.6k
  • 10
  • 177
  • 324
Loading
edited title
Link
Beastly Gerbil
  • 60.6k
  • 10
  • 177
  • 324
Loading
Source Link
Aristide
  • 465
  • 4
  • 9
Loading