Skip to main content

Timeline for The Devil's Shell Game

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 28 at 14:38 comment added Truej @SajanGohil sure. I started with AGB. Then I looked at all 3 possible swaps. That gives us BGA, GAB, and ABG. Then I did each of the 3 swaps on each of those 3 options. That gave me the remaining two. I drew out a map showing your possible paths through the 6 options. That led me to the understanding that you can seperate the map into 2 sections, where you have to go from one to the other. From there it was simply noticing that the G<->B locations combination was unique for each of the 3 options so long as you knew which map section you were in.
Feb 26 at 10:52 comment added SajanGohil Can you share your thought process while coming up with the order?
Feb 20 at 20:04 history edited Truej CC BY-SA 4.0
edited body
Feb 20 at 20:02 comment added Truej Yeah, I honestly misread the swaps. I thought all 3 swaps were possible. But regardless, my solution still works. You could restrict it to saying that the gold tooth skull is involved in every swap. It doesn't matter. The point is that so long as you know what list your start position is in, and if you had an even or odd number of swaps, the gold tooth position tells you where the bead is.
Feb 20 at 8:24 comment added Ivo @AloisChristen he never said that it would be possible to go from 1 to 2. Just that it goes from an even to an odd position. In any case, it proves that even when swapping left and right is allowed this still works
Feb 20 at 8:03 comment added Alois Christen it's not possible to swap left and right skulls, but that's what you doing to go from 1 to 2 (or 3 to 4, or 5 to 6)
Feb 20 at 3:59 history answered Truej CC BY-SA 4.0