Skip to main content
15 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 20, 2023 at 9:41 comment added Stiv Haha, I think I read your explanation with a sense of gobsmacked awe that you'd managed to decipher it in a way I had completely unintended! I had to try to make this one as concrete as possible so that this precise word would be extracted, as (of course) it's needed for the meta at the end of the series, and is probably one of the most obscure words on the list... I'm not a big fan of scutwork (with the exception that I do love a pub quiz, so this themed series does involve some puzzles that begin with a set of trivia questions to be answered) so I do try and put in safety ropes for solvers!
Oct 19, 2023 at 19:57 history edited msh210 CC BY-SA 4.0
added 2 characters in body
Oct 19, 2023 at 19:56 comment added M Oehm (But to my defence, there was a time when reverse-engineering unspaced stretches of often misencoded Morse singals was all the rage. This question for example had a good premise, but the author misjudged how hard decoding unspaced Morse is.)
Oct 19, 2023 at 19:54 comment added M Oehm Thanks to you. This is such a well crafted puzzle with several aha moments on the way, I don't know what you thought when I flaunted my reverse-morsing skills when I really should have known better. I feel adequately silly now.
Oct 19, 2023 at 19:27 vote accept Stiv
Oct 19, 2023 at 19:27 comment added Stiv All good now! Checkmark awarded. Thanks for seeing it through.
Oct 19, 2023 at 18:55 history edited M Oehm CC BY-SA 4.0
Binned my abundant waffling.
Oct 19, 2023 at 18:48 comment added M Oehm You know how it is: Once you have a hammer ... Plus, I'm obviously not very good at spotting subtle hints. Or rhetorical questions, for that matter.
Oct 19, 2023 at 18:33 comment added Stiv Oh wow, your method for finding the splits is much more complex than required! There's a built-in method in the ordered answer list that should already show you where the divisions are...!
Oct 19, 2023 at 17:08 history edited M Oehm CC BY-SA 4.0
Waffled a bit about how I find splits in Morse code that's all run together.
Oct 19, 2023 at 15:44 comment added M Oehm Ha, such subtle hints are above my head. :) Will expand the answer to answer @LeppyR64's question.
Oct 19, 2023 at 15:25 comment added Stiv This is the correct answer though, so well done for persevering! Also, the locations do have a purpose rather than just being a red herring - the first blockquote in this answer of Deusovi's links to some advice on an external blogpost suggesting that if something is already ordered then it probably needs to be reordered :) It was intended as a hint towards that.
Oct 19, 2023 at 15:14 comment added Stiv @LeppyR64 Good question, which I'd ideally like to see mentioned in the answer :)
Oct 19, 2023 at 14:52 comment added LeppyR64 How did you determine the splits between the characters?
Oct 19, 2023 at 12:14 history answered M Oehm CC BY-SA 4.0