Skip to main content
Notice removed Draw attention by ACB
Bounty Ended with theozh's answer chosen by ACB
Notice added Draw attention by ACB
Bounty Started worth 50 reputation by ACB
edited tags
Link
Rand al'Thor
  • 117.3k
  • 28
  • 324
  • 630
Source Link
Rand al'Thor
  • 117.3k
  • 28
  • 324
  • 630

How to make gifs showing a puzzle's solution process?

I've been repeatedly asked to turn this into a PSE question, so here goes.

Some people may have noticed that, when I answer a question, my answer often includes, as well as a step-by-step explanation of the deductions and a picture of the final solved grid, an animated GIF showing the deductions being entered into the grid one by one. (Here's a couple more examples in case my explanation isn't clear enough. Self-promotion alert, obviously.)

How are these gifs created? (Obviously I have an answer in mind, but I'm also open to other answers if anyone else has a better method than mine.)

I think this question is on-topic since it's about how to show the solution process of a puzzle, which is similar to what we often do in the tag. (I don't want to create a puzzle-solution tag as it'd probably be dreadfully misused.)