Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ now we're cookin! +1 sweet. if someone beats 111, I will be surprised. My best was also 111, although quite a bit different than this exact solution. $\endgroup$
    – JLee
    Commented Jul 15, 2022 at 14:00
  • $\begingroup$ @JLee Yeah on second thought 110 is unlikely, though I wouldn't say out the question. I'm going to try and either find some other 111s, or try prove 110 possible/impossible :) $\endgroup$ Commented Jul 15, 2022 at 14:02
  • $\begingroup$ If anyone finds 110, I will throw them 100 pts (not like you need it! haha) $\endgroup$
    – JLee
    Commented Jul 15, 2022 at 14:05
  • $\begingroup$ @JLee added a rough proof that 111 is optimal, it's by no means thorough, but I think its intuitive enough to show 110 is not possible $\endgroup$ Commented Jul 15, 2022 at 14:30
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ @JLee improved my 'proof' if you can call it that, much easier to read. I'm incredibly confident that 111 is optimal - the only real tricky bit is showing that the pink squares must be a +3 $\endgroup$ Commented Jul 15, 2022 at 15:34