Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

9
  • $\begingroup$ Should have known better than to think people would need a hint, correct of course :P The hint (sort of instruction?) may actually be harder to find than the answer itself, will be impressed if you can get that too! If not, I can give it away as the actual answer has been found. Great job, you're too quick with it!! $\endgroup$ Commented Jan 6, 2022 at 20:20
  • $\begingroup$ @BeastlyGerbil Haha, thanks :) You know what, I only actually realised I hadn't explained the hint on the right once I'd posted! Had proper tunnel vision once I spotted what the solution path should be... I've been thinking about it since but don't quite have it yet - I mean, clearly it involves rot13(vagrecergvat gur fvk qbgf nf Oenvyyr fbzrubj - gur oyvaq rlr - naq vg frrzf gur pbybhef va gur Oenvyyr frpgvba ner n pbzovangvba bs bgure pbybhef. Zl fhfcvpvba vf gung gur yrggref bs n jbeq yvxr ENVAOBJ be EBLTOVI unir orra rapbqrq va Oenvyyr naq gurve pbybhe pbqrf nqqrq gbtrgure fbzrubj...) $\endgroup$
    – Stiv
    Commented Jan 6, 2022 at 20:24
  • $\begingroup$ I was debating whether or not the puzzle needed an 'instruction' for the final step, clearly overestimated the difficulty. You're pretty much bang on! I don't want it to be an annoying final part, so I'll leave you with this link and the hint that the last symbol is an eyedropper :) $\endgroup$ Commented Jan 6, 2022 at 20:29
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ @BeastlyGerbil Well, I've used the eyedropper and gone over the palette pretty thoroughly and only managed to create one exact match (the easy one - top right is purely violet!). The hint seems to be pretty difficult to reverse engineer... $\endgroup$
    – Stiv
    Commented Jan 7, 2022 at 9:34
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Thanks @BeastlyGerbil I had the same RGB values as you, but using the defaults provided with the tool you linked to didn't produce the same colours for me. Should have twigged that the colours there were not necessarily the ones you'd used in the puzzle... Ah well. Thanks for the puzzle :) $\endgroup$
    – Stiv
    Commented Jan 7, 2022 at 15:17