Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

14
  • $\begingroup$ I like this reformulation of the answer to clarify things. In the context of this answer, my point from before is that $p$ will have some prior which is neither concentrated at 0 nor at 0.5 - note we do not need to know what the prior is just that it is not concentrated on a specific value, which seems fair since the intention is not specified. Then averaging over this prior gives A the highest probability of winning. Stef argued that you can't do this but I don't see why not. $\endgroup$
    – hexomino
    Commented Dec 24, 2021 at 22:11
  • $\begingroup$ I don't think we can do that. Consider the following statement: "This box contains a ball with probability $p$, otherwise it's empty." Can you say that it has non-zero probability of containing a ball, since if we put a prior over $p$, it's not concentrated on specific value 0? $\endgroup$
    – justhalf
    Commented Dec 25, 2021 at 4:16
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Hm, yea, I guess our differences is whether we view the process that generates $p$ as part of the probability space or not. For me if $p$ is unspecified, then the process that had generated $p$ doesn't matter, since I consider it to already be in the past. If instead the question specifies how to generate $p$, then I would include that in the probability space. So we differ in when we put our baseline for probability. I start it after $p$ is generated, and you start it before $p$ is generated. So in the multiverse of all values of $p$, you are outside any of them, while I'm inside one. $\endgroup$
    – justhalf
    Commented Dec 27, 2021 at 17:40
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Yea, so you're taking into account the puzzle writer's thought into the prior. As in, "there is a possibility that the puzzle writer intends $p$ to be non-zero, so we can say that there is a non-zero probability for B and C to not be perfectly correlated". However, I would say that this isn't valid here, since we are already given a question, and the puzzle writer already has a fixed intention. So if we answer from the PoV of the question, there is no more assigning probability to the prior of $p$. But if we answer from the PoV of external observer ... $\endgroup$
    – justhalf
    Commented Dec 28, 2021 at 4:10
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Interesting discussion overall. I don't know how to resolve our differences. But to respond to your remark "and then not ask for an answer in terms of $p$", I think usually if not mentioned, then you present the answer in terms of the unknowns. E.g., "I have some dogs and chickens, totaling to 10 animals. Do I own more than 30 animal leg?". Then your answer will be basically "well, that depends on how many dogs you have. I can make a formula that is based on the number of dogs $N$, but I can't do better than that." It's the same here, Stef's answer is saying "this is the formula based on $p$." $\endgroup$
    – justhalf
    Commented Dec 28, 2021 at 4:16