Skip to main content
Notice removed Reward existing answer by Lukas Rotter
Bounty Ended with Jeremy Dover's answer chosen by Lukas Rotter
Notice added Reward existing answer by Lukas Rotter
Bounty Started worth 100 reputation by Lukas Rotter
added 47 characters in body
Source Link
Jeremy Dover
  • 28.8k
  • 3
  • 69
  • 163

This puzzle is part of the Puzzling Stack Exchange Advent Calendar 2021. The accepted answer to this question will be awarded a bounty worth 100 reputation.

< Previous Door Next Door >Next Door >


It was late in the night when I heard a whoosh from the chimney, which turned out to be a tall, old man. I stood up from my table of puzzles that I was trying to solve, and walked cautiously towards the man. But then, the doorbell rang. I quickly ran towards the door, still eyeing the intruder, and slowly creaked the door open, ready to close it again... except outside was Ingrid Deduction, with her backpack of her essentials: laptop, pens, and paper.

"Well, what a pleasure it is to see you again!" Ingrid said, as she walked into the room. "I suppose you saw Santa Claus?"

"Santa Claus? Where?" I asked, surprised.

"He's over there," whispered Ingrid, pointing to the tall, old man.

Shocked, I walked to shake his outstretched hand. I scurried away to Ingrid, and sat down on my chair.

"So, what happened that you had to come tonight?"

"Well, my sleigh got broken while I was starting to pack my presents into the sacks... So I needed to find Bob Sleigh, my sleigh fixer. But, I couldn't find him on the North Pole, so I went to try find him around here, and that's how I found Ingrid. She said that I might have something around here that might help. You see, this is a dilemma as without presents, the Christmas Spirit goes down! And... if Christmas Spirit goes down... war will happen."

I was shocked and terrified at the same time. I turned to Ingrid. "S-so?"

Ingrid, replied "So, did you see anything out of the ordinary? Something that you don't remember having?"

I thought for a second about Bob Sleigh, then remembered. I had a piece of paper here that had Bob Sleigh as its title. I turned, and quickly opened my closet full of paper. After a few minutes, I found it, the piece of paper with a puzzle and some jumble of letters that could have been elvish.

"Here! Does this help?"

Ingrid quickly opened her laptop and with a sad smile, turned to Santa.

"I think you need to see this."

Santa expression was grim, and with a whoosh he was gone.

What happened that made him go?

Puzzle

Esbj Devzh, J on hcsjgimm hgyi enlo mpm dim zojg. J olw kgwuiswo, evj abyff mekq ap hiw Yszzo Qcmw mc zgpessk. Elme hss ujjmvm ap guwlp gubs smnpw, itk zcvj ssuk. Nfh csno, itk toww fw. Bnl coovtxa choh ug hvmir uvf zltxoufgt xzv Knyjguelw. Yapdy!

SOLVER NOTES

Thanks to Stiv for letting me borrow Ingrid for a bit of colour!

Despite having a holiday dressing, this puzzle is just a sudoku with letters (and more) .

  • There are 9 letters

  • The 9 letters appear in each box, row, and column once.

  • There is a logical solution to the Sudoku, and should be written in the answer. (and more)

I hope you enjoy!

This puzzle is part of the Puzzling Stack Exchange Advent Calendar 2021. The accepted answer to this question will be awarded a bounty worth 100 reputation.

< Previous Door Next Door >


It was late in the night when I heard a whoosh from the chimney, which turned out to be a tall, old man. I stood up from my table of puzzles that I was trying to solve, and walked cautiously towards the man. But then, the doorbell rang. I quickly ran towards the door, still eyeing the intruder, and slowly creaked the door open, ready to close it again... except outside was Ingrid Deduction, with her backpack of her essentials: laptop, pens, and paper.

"Well, what a pleasure it is to see you again!" Ingrid said, as she walked into the room. "I suppose you saw Santa Claus?"

"Santa Claus? Where?" I asked, surprised.

"He's over there," whispered Ingrid, pointing to the tall, old man.

Shocked, I walked to shake his outstretched hand. I scurried away to Ingrid, and sat down on my chair.

"So, what happened that you had to come tonight?"

"Well, my sleigh got broken while I was starting to pack my presents into the sacks... So I needed to find Bob Sleigh, my sleigh fixer. But, I couldn't find him on the North Pole, so I went to try find him around here, and that's how I found Ingrid. She said that I might have something around here that might help. You see, this is a dilemma as without presents, the Christmas Spirit goes down! And... if Christmas Spirit goes down... war will happen."

I was shocked and terrified at the same time. I turned to Ingrid. "S-so?"

Ingrid, replied "So, did you see anything out of the ordinary? Something that you don't remember having?"

I thought for a second about Bob Sleigh, then remembered. I had a piece of paper here that had Bob Sleigh as its title. I turned, and quickly opened my closet full of paper. After a few minutes, I found it, the piece of paper with a puzzle and some jumble of letters that could have been elvish.

"Here! Does this help?"

Ingrid quickly opened her laptop and with a sad smile, turned to Santa.

"I think you need to see this."

Santa expression was grim, and with a whoosh he was gone.

What happened that made him go?

Puzzle

Esbj Devzh, J on hcsjgimm hgyi enlo mpm dim zojg. J olw kgwuiswo, evj abyff mekq ap hiw Yszzo Qcmw mc zgpessk. Elme hss ujjmvm ap guwlp gubs smnpw, itk zcvj ssuk. Nfh csno, itk toww fw. Bnl coovtxa choh ug hvmir uvf zltxoufgt xzv Knyjguelw. Yapdy!

SOLVER NOTES

Thanks to Stiv for letting me borrow Ingrid for a bit of colour!

Despite having a holiday dressing, this puzzle is just a sudoku with letters (and more) .

  • There are 9 letters

  • The 9 letters appear in each box, row, and column once.

  • There is a logical solution to the Sudoku, and should be written in the answer. (and more)

I hope you enjoy!

This puzzle is part of the Puzzling Stack Exchange Advent Calendar 2021. The accepted answer to this question will be awarded a bounty worth 100 reputation.

< Previous Door Next Door >


It was late in the night when I heard a whoosh from the chimney, which turned out to be a tall, old man. I stood up from my table of puzzles that I was trying to solve, and walked cautiously towards the man. But then, the doorbell rang. I quickly ran towards the door, still eyeing the intruder, and slowly creaked the door open, ready to close it again... except outside was Ingrid Deduction, with her backpack of her essentials: laptop, pens, and paper.

"Well, what a pleasure it is to see you again!" Ingrid said, as she walked into the room. "I suppose you saw Santa Claus?"

"Santa Claus? Where?" I asked, surprised.

"He's over there," whispered Ingrid, pointing to the tall, old man.

Shocked, I walked to shake his outstretched hand. I scurried away to Ingrid, and sat down on my chair.

"So, what happened that you had to come tonight?"

"Well, my sleigh got broken while I was starting to pack my presents into the sacks... So I needed to find Bob Sleigh, my sleigh fixer. But, I couldn't find him on the North Pole, so I went to try find him around here, and that's how I found Ingrid. She said that I might have something around here that might help. You see, this is a dilemma as without presents, the Christmas Spirit goes down! And... if Christmas Spirit goes down... war will happen."

I was shocked and terrified at the same time. I turned to Ingrid. "S-so?"

Ingrid, replied "So, did you see anything out of the ordinary? Something that you don't remember having?"

I thought for a second about Bob Sleigh, then remembered. I had a piece of paper here that had Bob Sleigh as its title. I turned, and quickly opened my closet full of paper. After a few minutes, I found it, the piece of paper with a puzzle and some jumble of letters that could have been elvish.

"Here! Does this help?"

Ingrid quickly opened her laptop and with a sad smile, turned to Santa.

"I think you need to see this."

Santa expression was grim, and with a whoosh he was gone.

What happened that made him go?

Puzzle

Esbj Devzh, J on hcsjgimm hgyi enlo mpm dim zojg. J olw kgwuiswo, evj abyff mekq ap hiw Yszzo Qcmw mc zgpessk. Elme hss ujjmvm ap guwlp gubs smnpw, itk zcvj ssuk. Nfh csno, itk toww fw. Bnl coovtxa choh ug hvmir uvf zltxoufgt xzv Knyjguelw. Yapdy!

SOLVER NOTES

Thanks to Stiv for letting me borrow Ingrid for a bit of colour!

Despite having a holiday dressing, this puzzle is just a sudoku with letters (and more) .

  • There are 9 letters

  • The 9 letters appear in each box, row, and column once.

  • There is a logical solution to the Sudoku, and should be written in the answer. (and more)

I hope you enjoy!

Became Hot Network Question
added 2 characters in body
Source Link
bobble
  • 10.3k
  • 4
  • 34
  • 82

This puzzle is part of the Puzzling StackExchangeStack Exchange Advent Calendar 2021. The accepted answer to this question will be awarded a bounty worth 100 reputation.

< Previous Door Next Door >


It was late in the night when I heard a whoosh from the chimney, which turned out to be a tall, old man. I stood up from my table of puzzles that I was trying to solve, and walked cautiously towards the man. But then, the doorbell rang. I quickly ran towards the door, still eyeing the intruder, and slowly creaked the door open, ready to close it again... except outside was Ingrid Deduction, with her backpack of her essentials: laptop, pens, and paper.

"Well, what a pleasure it is to see you again!" Ingrid said, as she walked into the room. "I suppose you saw Santa Claus?"

"Santa Claus? Where?" I asked, surprised.

"He's over there," whispered Ingrid, pointing to the tall, old man.

Shocked, I walked to shake his outstretched hand. I scurried away to Ingrid, and sat down on my chair.

"So, what happened that you had to come tonight?"

"Well, my sleigh got broken while I was starting to pack my presents into the sacks... So I needed to find Bob Sleigh, my sleigh fixer. But, I couldn't find him on the North Pole, so I went to try find him around here, and thatsthat's how I found Ingrid. She said that I might have something around here that might help. You see, this is a dilemma as without presents, the Christmas Spirit goes down! And... if Christmas Spirit goes down... war will happen."

I was shocked and terrified at the same time. I turned to Ingrid. "S-so?"

Ingrid, replied "So, did you see anything out of the ordinary? Something that you don't remember having?"

I thought for a second about Bob Sleigh, then remembered. I had a piece of paper here that had Bob Sleigh as its title. I turned, and quickly opened my closet full of paper. After a few minutes, I found it, the piece of paper with a puzzle and some jumble of letters that could have been elvish.

"Here! Does this help?"

Ingrid quickly opened her laptop and with a sad smile, turned to Santa.

"I think you need to see this."

Santa expression was grim, and with a whoosh he was gone.

What happened that made him go?

Puzzle

Esbj Devzh, J on hcsjgimm hgyi enlo mpm dim zojg. J olw kgwuiswo, evj abyff mekq ap hiw Yszzo Qcmw mc zgpessk. Elme hss ujjmvm ap guwlp gubs smnpw, itk zcvj ssuk. Nfh csno, itk toww fw. Bnl coovtxa choh ug hvmir uvf zltxoufgt xzv Knyjguelw. Yapdy!

SOLVER NOTES

Thanks to Stiv for letting me borrow Ingrid for a bit of colour!

Despite having a holiday dressing, this puzzle is just a sudoku with letters (and more) .

  • There are 9 letters

  • The 9 letters appear in each box, row, and column once.

  • There is a logical solution to the Sudoku, and should be written in the answer. (and more)

I hope you enjoy!

This puzzle is part of the Puzzling StackExchange Advent Calendar 2021. The accepted answer to this question will be awarded a bounty worth 100 reputation.

< Previous Door Next Door >


It was late in the night when I heard a whoosh from the chimney, which turned out to be a tall, old man. I stood up from my table of puzzles that I was trying to solve, and walked cautiously towards the man. But then, the doorbell rang. I quickly ran towards the door, still eyeing the intruder, and slowly creaked the door open, ready to close it again... except outside was Ingrid Deduction, with her backpack of her essentials: laptop, pens, and paper.

"Well, what a pleasure it is to see you again!" Ingrid said, as she walked into the room. "I suppose you saw Santa Claus?"

"Santa Claus? Where?" I asked, surprised.

"He's over there," whispered Ingrid, pointing to the tall, old man.

Shocked, I walked to shake his outstretched hand. I scurried away to Ingrid, and sat down on my chair.

"So, what happened that you had to come tonight?"

"Well, my sleigh got broken while I was starting to pack my presents into the sacks... So I needed to find Bob Sleigh, my sleigh fixer. But, I couldn't find him on the North Pole, so I went to try find him around here, and thats how I found Ingrid. She said that I might have something around here that might help. You see, this is a dilemma as without presents, the Christmas Spirit goes down! And... if Christmas Spirit goes down... war will happen."

I was shocked and terrified at the same time. I turned to Ingrid. "S-so?"

Ingrid, replied "So, did you see anything out of the ordinary? Something that you don't remember having?"

I thought for a second about Bob Sleigh, then remembered. I had a piece of paper here that had Bob Sleigh as its title. I turned, and quickly opened my closet full of paper. After a few minutes, I found it, the piece of paper with a puzzle and some jumble of letters that could have been elvish.

"Here! Does this help?"

Ingrid quickly opened her laptop and with a sad smile, turned to Santa.

"I think you need to see this."

Santa expression was grim, and with a whoosh he was gone.

What happened that made him go?

Puzzle

Esbj Devzh, J on hcsjgimm hgyi enlo mpm dim zojg. J olw kgwuiswo, evj abyff mekq ap hiw Yszzo Qcmw mc zgpessk. Elme hss ujjmvm ap guwlp gubs smnpw, itk zcvj ssuk. Nfh csno, itk toww fw. Bnl coovtxa choh ug hvmir uvf zltxoufgt xzv Knyjguelw. Yapdy!

SOLVER NOTES

Thanks to Stiv for letting me borrow Ingrid for a bit of colour!

Despite having a holiday dressing, this puzzle is just a sudoku with letters (and more) .

  • There are 9 letters

  • The 9 letters appear in each box, row, and column once.

  • There is a logical solution to the Sudoku, and should be written in the answer. (and more)

I hope you enjoy!

This puzzle is part of the Puzzling Stack Exchange Advent Calendar 2021. The accepted answer to this question will be awarded a bounty worth 100 reputation.

< Previous Door Next Door >


It was late in the night when I heard a whoosh from the chimney, which turned out to be a tall, old man. I stood up from my table of puzzles that I was trying to solve, and walked cautiously towards the man. But then, the doorbell rang. I quickly ran towards the door, still eyeing the intruder, and slowly creaked the door open, ready to close it again... except outside was Ingrid Deduction, with her backpack of her essentials: laptop, pens, and paper.

"Well, what a pleasure it is to see you again!" Ingrid said, as she walked into the room. "I suppose you saw Santa Claus?"

"Santa Claus? Where?" I asked, surprised.

"He's over there," whispered Ingrid, pointing to the tall, old man.

Shocked, I walked to shake his outstretched hand. I scurried away to Ingrid, and sat down on my chair.

"So, what happened that you had to come tonight?"

"Well, my sleigh got broken while I was starting to pack my presents into the sacks... So I needed to find Bob Sleigh, my sleigh fixer. But, I couldn't find him on the North Pole, so I went to try find him around here, and that's how I found Ingrid. She said that I might have something around here that might help. You see, this is a dilemma as without presents, the Christmas Spirit goes down! And... if Christmas Spirit goes down... war will happen."

I was shocked and terrified at the same time. I turned to Ingrid. "S-so?"

Ingrid, replied "So, did you see anything out of the ordinary? Something that you don't remember having?"

I thought for a second about Bob Sleigh, then remembered. I had a piece of paper here that had Bob Sleigh as its title. I turned, and quickly opened my closet full of paper. After a few minutes, I found it, the piece of paper with a puzzle and some jumble of letters that could have been elvish.

"Here! Does this help?"

Ingrid quickly opened her laptop and with a sad smile, turned to Santa.

"I think you need to see this."

Santa expression was grim, and with a whoosh he was gone.

What happened that made him go?

Puzzle

Esbj Devzh, J on hcsjgimm hgyi enlo mpm dim zojg. J olw kgwuiswo, evj abyff mekq ap hiw Yszzo Qcmw mc zgpessk. Elme hss ujjmvm ap guwlp gubs smnpw, itk zcvj ssuk. Nfh csno, itk toww fw. Bnl coovtxa choh ug hvmir uvf zltxoufgt xzv Knyjguelw. Yapdy!

SOLVER NOTES

Thanks to Stiv for letting me borrow Ingrid for a bit of colour!

Despite having a holiday dressing, this puzzle is just a sudoku with letters (and more) .

  • There are 9 letters

  • The 9 letters appear in each box, row, and column once.

  • There is a logical solution to the Sudoku, and should be written in the answer. (and more)

I hope you enjoy!

added 13 characters in body
Source Link
Stevo
  • 2.7k
  • 1
  • 10
  • 33

This puzzle is part of the Puzzling StackExchange Advent Calendar 2021. The accepted answer to this question will be awarded a bounty worth 100 reputation.

< Previous Door Next Door >


It was late in the night when I heard a whoosh from the chimney, which turned out to be a tall, old man. I stood up from my table of puzzles that I was trying to solve, and walked cautiously towards the man. But then, the doorbell rang. I quickly ran towards the door, still eyeing the intruder, and slowly creaked the door open, ready to close it again... except outside was Ingrid Deduction, with her backpack of her essentials: laptop, pens, and paper.

"Well, what a pleasure it is to see you again!" Ingrid said, as she walked into the room. "I suppose you saw Santa Claus?"

"Santa Claus? Where?" I asked, surprised.

"He's over there," whispered Ingrid, pointing to the tall, old man.

Shocked, I walked to shake his outstretched hand. I scurried away to Ingrid, and sat down on my chair.

"So, what happened that you had to come tonight?"

"Well, my sleigh got broken while I was starting to pack my presents into the sacks... So I needed to find Bob Sleigh, my sleigh fixer. But, I couldn't find him on the North Pole, so I went to try find him around here, and thats how I found Ingrid. She said that I might have something around here that might help. You see, this is a dilemma as without presents, the Christmas Spirit goes down! And... if Christmas Spirit goes down... war will happen."

I was shocked and terrified at the same time. I turned to Ingrid. "S-so?"

Ingrid, replied "So, did you see anything out of the ordinary? Something that you don't remember having?"

I thought for a second about Bob Sleigh, then remembered. I had a piece of paper here that had Bob Sleigh as its title. I turned, and quickly opened my closet full of paper. After a few minutes, I found it, the piece of paper with a puzzle and some jumble of letters that could have been elvish.

"Here! Does this help?"

Ingrid quickly opened her laptop and with a sad smile, turned to Santa.

"I think you need to see this."

Santa expression was grim, and with a whoosh he was gone.

What happened that made him go?

Puzzle

Esbj Devzh, J on hcsjgimm hgyi enlo mpm dim zojg. J olw kgwuiswo, evj abyff mekq ap hiw Yszzo Qcmw mc zgpessk. Elme hss ujjmvm ap guwlp gubs smnpw, itk zcvj ssuk. Nfh csno, itk toww fw. Bnl coovtxa choh ug hvmir uvf zltxoufgt xzv Knyjguelw. Yapdy!

SOLVER NOTES

Thanks to Stiv for letting me borrow Ingrid for a bit of colour!

Despite having a holiday dressing, this puzzle is just a sudoku with letters (and more) .

  • There are 9 letters

  • The 9 letters appear in each box, row, and column once.

  • There is a logical solution to the Sudoku, and should be written in the answer. (and more)

I hope you enjoy!

This puzzle is part of the Puzzling StackExchange Advent Calendar 2021. The accepted answer to this question will be awarded a bounty worth 100 reputation.

< Previous Door Next Door >


It was late in the night when I heard a whoosh from the chimney, which turned out to be a tall, old man. I stood up from my table of puzzles that I was trying to solve, and walked cautiously towards the man. But then, the doorbell rang. I quickly ran towards the door, still eyeing the intruder, and slowly creaked the door open, ready to close it again... except outside was Ingrid Deduction, with her backpack of her essentials: laptop, pens, and paper.

"Well, what a pleasure it is to see you again!" Ingrid said, as she walked into the room. "I suppose you saw Santa Claus?"

"Santa Claus? Where?" I asked, surprised.

"He's over there," whispered Ingrid, pointing to the tall, old man.

Shocked, I walked to shake his outstretched hand. I scurried away to Ingrid, and sat down on my chair.

"So, what happened that you had to come tonight?"

"Well, my sleigh got broken while I was starting to pack my presents into the sacks... So I needed to find Bob Sleigh, my sleigh fixer. But, I couldn't find him on the North Pole, so I went to try find him around here, and thats how I found Ingrid. She said that I might have something around here that might help. You see, this is a dilemma as without presents, the Christmas Spirit goes down! And... if Christmas Spirit goes down... war will happen."

I was shocked and terrified at the same time. I turned to Ingrid. "S-so?"

Ingrid, replied "So, did you see anything out of the ordinary? Something that you don't remember having?"

I thought for a second about Bob Sleigh, then remembered. I had a piece of paper here that had Bob Sleigh as its title. I turned, and quickly opened my closet full of paper. After a few minutes, I found it, the piece of paper with a puzzle and some jumble of letters that could have been elvish.

"Here! Does this help?"

Ingrid quickly opened her laptop and with a sad smile, turned to Santa.

"I think you need to see this."

Santa expression was grim, and with a whoosh he was gone.

What happened that made him go?

Puzzle

Esbj Devzh, J on hcsjgimm hgyi enlo mpm dim zojg. J olw kgwuiswo, evj abyff mekq ap hiw Yszzo Qcmw mc zgpessk. Elme hss ujjmvm ap guwlp gubs smnpw, itk zcvj ssuk. Nfh csno, itk toww fw. Bnl coovtxa choh ug hvmir uvf zltxoufgt xzv Knyjguelw. Yapdy!

SOLVER NOTES

Thanks to Stiv for letting me borrow Ingrid for a bit of colour!

Despite having a holiday dressing, this puzzle is just a sudoku with letters.

  • There are 9 letters

  • The 9 letters appear in each box, row, and column once.

I hope you enjoy!

This puzzle is part of the Puzzling StackExchange Advent Calendar 2021. The accepted answer to this question will be awarded a bounty worth 100 reputation.

< Previous Door Next Door >


It was late in the night when I heard a whoosh from the chimney, which turned out to be a tall, old man. I stood up from my table of puzzles that I was trying to solve, and walked cautiously towards the man. But then, the doorbell rang. I quickly ran towards the door, still eyeing the intruder, and slowly creaked the door open, ready to close it again... except outside was Ingrid Deduction, with her backpack of her essentials: laptop, pens, and paper.

"Well, what a pleasure it is to see you again!" Ingrid said, as she walked into the room. "I suppose you saw Santa Claus?"

"Santa Claus? Where?" I asked, surprised.

"He's over there," whispered Ingrid, pointing to the tall, old man.

Shocked, I walked to shake his outstretched hand. I scurried away to Ingrid, and sat down on my chair.

"So, what happened that you had to come tonight?"

"Well, my sleigh got broken while I was starting to pack my presents into the sacks... So I needed to find Bob Sleigh, my sleigh fixer. But, I couldn't find him on the North Pole, so I went to try find him around here, and thats how I found Ingrid. She said that I might have something around here that might help. You see, this is a dilemma as without presents, the Christmas Spirit goes down! And... if Christmas Spirit goes down... war will happen."

I was shocked and terrified at the same time. I turned to Ingrid. "S-so?"

Ingrid, replied "So, did you see anything out of the ordinary? Something that you don't remember having?"

I thought for a second about Bob Sleigh, then remembered. I had a piece of paper here that had Bob Sleigh as its title. I turned, and quickly opened my closet full of paper. After a few minutes, I found it, the piece of paper with a puzzle and some jumble of letters that could have been elvish.

"Here! Does this help?"

Ingrid quickly opened her laptop and with a sad smile, turned to Santa.

"I think you need to see this."

Santa expression was grim, and with a whoosh he was gone.

What happened that made him go?

Puzzle

Esbj Devzh, J on hcsjgimm hgyi enlo mpm dim zojg. J olw kgwuiswo, evj abyff mekq ap hiw Yszzo Qcmw mc zgpessk. Elme hss ujjmvm ap guwlp gubs smnpw, itk zcvj ssuk. Nfh csno, itk toww fw. Bnl coovtxa choh ug hvmir uvf zltxoufgt xzv Knyjguelw. Yapdy!

SOLVER NOTES

Thanks to Stiv for letting me borrow Ingrid for a bit of colour!

Despite having a holiday dressing, this puzzle is just a sudoku with letters (and more) .

  • There are 9 letters

  • The 9 letters appear in each box, row, and column once.

  • There is a logical solution to the Sudoku, and should be written in the answer. (and more)

I hope you enjoy!

Source Link
Stevo
  • 2.7k
  • 1
  • 10
  • 33
Loading