Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Sep 13, 2020 at 12:33 comment added Jeremy Dover +1, except for this: your answer gave me an idea for a puzzle, and I'm not going to get anything else done until I scratch that itch. :-)
Sep 13, 2020 at 8:04 comment added Stiv @Deusovi Clarification made! Your point also aligns with what I say in Point 5 re trivial ('less interesting') solutions. I'd also be really interested to see an example of the puzzle mechanism you mention in your comment on the main question - that sounds like another way to make this combination work :)
Sep 13, 2020 at 7:59 history edited Stiv CC BY-SA 4.0
Rewording
Sep 13, 2020 at 7:52 comment added Stiv @Deusovi That's fair in general for grid-deduction puzzles - agreed. However, for a nonogram specifically you definitely need to have an interesting target solution in mind, otherwise there's no reward for solving it. That was my intended meaning so I will adjust my wording to specify nonograms in particular. Thanks!
Sep 13, 2020 at 7:49 comment added Deusovi +1, except for this: "The key to producing a combination puzzle like this is to work backwards from the intended solution." -- this is the way to produce less interesting logic puzzles. The best logic puzzles are constructed in the same way they're intended to be solved -- this lets you force particular deductions, and ensure that your puzzle is unique with a nice solve path. (This is why nonograms often don't have interesting deductions.)
Sep 13, 2020 at 7:46 history answered Stiv CC BY-SA 4.0