Skip to main content

Timeline for The end of open-ended puzzles

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 16, 2020 at 23:53 comment added Christopher Theodore @Randal'Thor no problem. I think the policy is flawed (not directing that at anyone with malice). This very topic uses a corrupted definition of the word puzzle, as a main element for the basis for the "consensus", of what puzzles are. This is my reason for stating it's a flawed policy. I happen to like games that test ingenuity. The just aren't riddles, or logic problems, etc.. I do get there are some issues with open-ended puzzles.. anyways.
Mar 16, 2020 at 23:44 comment added Rand al'Thor @ChristopherTheodore The thing is, we didn't go around closing all the old open-ended questions (although maybe we should). We've just been applying this policy proactively, not retroactively. Which of course is confusing to newcomers who see old well-received not-closed open-ended questions. Sorry about that :-/
Mar 16, 2020 at 23:36 comment added Christopher Theodore @Randal'Thor looking at your example "Growing anagrams" which is still an open questions, (and regarding my current closed question), I thought the example was a type of open-ended question that was NOT off-topic.
May 13, 2019 at 8:26 comment added Rand al'Thor @BmyGuest Personally I'm not sure if I like this consensus either, but I came here too late to turn around the decision, so it seems this is our new policy. I'm just here to make sure it's not applied over-zealously ;-)
May 13, 2019 at 8:10 comment added BmyGuest Or maybe not. Considering that "consensus" has been reached. (Even if I might not consent ;c) ).
May 13, 2019 at 8:09 comment added BmyGuest No offence taken. (And I think thanks to your post, the questions has recently seen a bit of traffic ;c) ) But your answer made me wonder a bit, and I'm actually becoming less and less convinced of the opinion. I'm thinking of coming up with a counter-arguement in this discussion, but am unfortunately running low on time right now.
May 13, 2019 at 8:06 comment added Rand al'Thor @BmyGuest No offence to your question (which I upvoted years ago), but I'm not sure if that "bound on the length of English words" falls into the category of "too large a bound to reasonably fit in a SE post". I'm happy to edit my answer and replace that example by another one if you can find something more clearly open-ended.
May 13, 2019 at 8:02 comment added BmyGuest I agree with your ideas, but I most certainly disagree on GrowingAngrams being without an upper limit. As there is a bound on the length of English words, this will be the absolute upper bound of growing anagrams as well, wouldn't you agree? (And if there is a the argument of 'new' words being possibly invented, then one could easily restrict it by pointing to one of the "english-dictionary-lists" people have used for the answers anyway.) So, good arguments, maybe not the most convincing examples.
May 10, 2019 at 9:44 history answered Rand al'Thor CC BY-SA 4.0