Skip to main content
replaced http://puzzling.stackexchange.com/ with https://puzzling.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

I have some browser tabs that have been open for several days.  A few of them show my reputation as either 2221 or 2231.*  My rep is currently 2165, for a drop of 66 from the high-water mark.  My # of posts edited and my progress toward earning a “Sportsmanship” badge also went down.
__________
* I believe that I most recently refreshed these tabs between 2016‑08‑18 04:00 and 2016‑08‑18 06:15; i.e., a little under three days ago.  Of course the reputation score in the top bar may have updated since then.

I seem to recall that, if you (gain or) lose a lot of rep because a user was deleted (or because of voting fraud), you get an annotation to that effect in the “reputation” tab of your user profile page.  I don’t have anything like that.  My reputation history shows a delta of +9 (one upvote and one down) in the past four days.  This leaves an unexplained drop of 75.

From the “answers” tab I see that my answer to What is the next number in the series : 3, 24, 75, 175, 342, ?What is the next number in the series : 3, 24, 75, 175, 342, ?, with a score of 1, was deleted at 04:05 (on 2016‑08‑18):

deleted recent answers

(Actually, it was the question that was deleted.)  This explains 10 points (and the other statistics).  If the vote breakdown on that answer was $\Large\frac{\color{green}{+9}}{\color{red}{-8}}$, that would explain $90-16=74$ points.   $\Large\frac{\color{green}{+7}}{\color{red}{-6}}~\color{green}{\checkmark}$ would explain $70-12+15=73$ points, but I really doubt that either of those happened.

This question may appear to be a duplicate of Disappearing reputation, but the answer there was that question(s) (where the OP got rep from answer(s)) had been deleted.  I have investigated that avenue and pretty much ruled it out.

I presume that, if there had been a widespread glitch, multiple people would have been affected, and this issue would have been raised here (in meta) by now; but I don’t see it.  Can anybody (presumably somebody with privileges) explain what happened to my reputation?

I have some browser tabs that have been open for several days.  A few of them show my reputation as either 2221 or 2231.*  My rep is currently 2165, for a drop of 66 from the high-water mark.  My # of posts edited and my progress toward earning a “Sportsmanship” badge also went down.
__________
* I believe that I most recently refreshed these tabs between 2016‑08‑18 04:00 and 2016‑08‑18 06:15; i.e., a little under three days ago.  Of course the reputation score in the top bar may have updated since then.

I seem to recall that, if you (gain or) lose a lot of rep because a user was deleted (or because of voting fraud), you get an annotation to that effect in the “reputation” tab of your user profile page.  I don’t have anything like that.  My reputation history shows a delta of +9 (one upvote and one down) in the past four days.  This leaves an unexplained drop of 75.

From the “answers” tab I see that my answer to What is the next number in the series : 3, 24, 75, 175, 342, ?, with a score of 1, was deleted at 04:05 (on 2016‑08‑18):

deleted recent answers

(Actually, it was the question that was deleted.)  This explains 10 points (and the other statistics).  If the vote breakdown on that answer was $\Large\frac{\color{green}{+9}}{\color{red}{-8}}$, that would explain $90-16=74$ points.   $\Large\frac{\color{green}{+7}}{\color{red}{-6}}~\color{green}{\checkmark}$ would explain $70-12+15=73$ points, but I really doubt that either of those happened.

This question may appear to be a duplicate of Disappearing reputation, but the answer there was that question(s) (where the OP got rep from answer(s)) had been deleted.  I have investigated that avenue and pretty much ruled it out.

I presume that, if there had been a widespread glitch, multiple people would have been affected, and this issue would have been raised here (in meta) by now; but I don’t see it.  Can anybody (presumably somebody with privileges) explain what happened to my reputation?

I have some browser tabs that have been open for several days.  A few of them show my reputation as either 2221 or 2231.*  My rep is currently 2165, for a drop of 66 from the high-water mark.  My # of posts edited and my progress toward earning a “Sportsmanship” badge also went down.
__________
* I believe that I most recently refreshed these tabs between 2016‑08‑18 04:00 and 2016‑08‑18 06:15; i.e., a little under three days ago.  Of course the reputation score in the top bar may have updated since then.

I seem to recall that, if you (gain or) lose a lot of rep because a user was deleted (or because of voting fraud), you get an annotation to that effect in the “reputation” tab of your user profile page.  I don’t have anything like that.  My reputation history shows a delta of +9 (one upvote and one down) in the past four days.  This leaves an unexplained drop of 75.

From the “answers” tab I see that my answer to What is the next number in the series : 3, 24, 75, 175, 342, ?, with a score of 1, was deleted at 04:05 (on 2016‑08‑18):

deleted recent answers

(Actually, it was the question that was deleted.)  This explains 10 points (and the other statistics).  If the vote breakdown on that answer was $\Large\frac{\color{green}{+9}}{\color{red}{-8}}$, that would explain $90-16=74$ points.   $\Large\frac{\color{green}{+7}}{\color{red}{-6}}~\color{green}{\checkmark}$ would explain $70-12+15=73$ points, but I really doubt that either of those happened.

This question may appear to be a duplicate of Disappearing reputation, but the answer there was that question(s) (where the OP got rep from answer(s)) had been deleted.  I have investigated that avenue and pretty much ruled it out.

I presume that, if there had been a widespread glitch, multiple people would have been affected, and this issue would have been raised here (in meta) by now; but I don’t see it.  Can anybody (presumably somebody with privileges) explain what happened to my reputation?

replaced http://meta.puzzling.stackexchange.com/ with https://puzzling.meta.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

I have some browser tabs that have been open for several days.  A few of them show my reputation as either 2221 or 2231.*  My rep is currently 2165, for a drop of 66 from the high-water mark.  My # of posts edited and my progress toward earning a “Sportsmanship” badge also went down.
__________
* I believe that I most recently refreshed these tabs between 2016‑08‑18 04:00 and 2016‑08‑18 06:15; i.e., a little under three days ago.  Of course the reputation score in the top bar may have updated since then.

I seem to recall that, if you (gain or) lose a lot of rep because a user was deleted (or because of voting fraud), you get an annotation to that effect in the “reputation” tab of your user profile page.  I don’t have anything like that.  My reputation history shows a delta of +9 (one upvote and one down) in the past four days.  This leaves an unexplained drop of 75.

From the “answers” tab I see that my answer to What is the next number in the series : 3, 24, 75, 175, 342, ?, with a score of 1, was deleted at 04:05 (on 2016‑08‑18):

deleted recent answers

(Actually, it was the question that was deleted.)  This explains 10 points (and the other statistics).  If the vote breakdown on that answer was $\Large\frac{\color{green}{+9}}{\color{red}{-8}}$, that would explain $90-16=74$ points.   $\Large\frac{\color{green}{+7}}{\color{red}{-6}}~\color{green}{\checkmark}$ would explain $70-12+15=73$ points, but I really doubt that either of those happened.

This question may appear to be a duplicate of Disappearing reputationDisappearing reputation, but the answer there was that question(s) (where the OP got rep from answer(s)) had been deleted.  I have investigated that avenue and pretty much ruled it out.

I presume that, if there had been a widespread glitch, multiple people would have been affected, and this issue would have been raised here (in meta) by now; but I don’t see it.  Can anybody (presumably somebody with privileges) explain what happened to my reputation?

I have some browser tabs that have been open for several days.  A few of them show my reputation as either 2221 or 2231.*  My rep is currently 2165, for a drop of 66 from the high-water mark.  My # of posts edited and my progress toward earning a “Sportsmanship” badge also went down.
__________
* I believe that I most recently refreshed these tabs between 2016‑08‑18 04:00 and 2016‑08‑18 06:15; i.e., a little under three days ago.  Of course the reputation score in the top bar may have updated since then.

I seem to recall that, if you (gain or) lose a lot of rep because a user was deleted (or because of voting fraud), you get an annotation to that effect in the “reputation” tab of your user profile page.  I don’t have anything like that.  My reputation history shows a delta of +9 (one upvote and one down) in the past four days.  This leaves an unexplained drop of 75.

From the “answers” tab I see that my answer to What is the next number in the series : 3, 24, 75, 175, 342, ?, with a score of 1, was deleted at 04:05 (on 2016‑08‑18):

deleted recent answers

(Actually, it was the question that was deleted.)  This explains 10 points (and the other statistics).  If the vote breakdown on that answer was $\Large\frac{\color{green}{+9}}{\color{red}{-8}}$, that would explain $90-16=74$ points.   $\Large\frac{\color{green}{+7}}{\color{red}{-6}}~\color{green}{\checkmark}$ would explain $70-12+15=73$ points, but I really doubt that either of those happened.

This question may appear to be a duplicate of Disappearing reputation, but the answer there was that question(s) (where the OP got rep from answer(s)) had been deleted.  I have investigated that avenue and pretty much ruled it out.

I presume that, if there had been a widespread glitch, multiple people would have been affected, and this issue would have been raised here (in meta) by now; but I don’t see it.  Can anybody (presumably somebody with privileges) explain what happened to my reputation?

I have some browser tabs that have been open for several days.  A few of them show my reputation as either 2221 or 2231.*  My rep is currently 2165, for a drop of 66 from the high-water mark.  My # of posts edited and my progress toward earning a “Sportsmanship” badge also went down.
__________
* I believe that I most recently refreshed these tabs between 2016‑08‑18 04:00 and 2016‑08‑18 06:15; i.e., a little under three days ago.  Of course the reputation score in the top bar may have updated since then.

I seem to recall that, if you (gain or) lose a lot of rep because a user was deleted (or because of voting fraud), you get an annotation to that effect in the “reputation” tab of your user profile page.  I don’t have anything like that.  My reputation history shows a delta of +9 (one upvote and one down) in the past four days.  This leaves an unexplained drop of 75.

From the “answers” tab I see that my answer to What is the next number in the series : 3, 24, 75, 175, 342, ?, with a score of 1, was deleted at 04:05 (on 2016‑08‑18):

deleted recent answers

(Actually, it was the question that was deleted.)  This explains 10 points (and the other statistics).  If the vote breakdown on that answer was $\Large\frac{\color{green}{+9}}{\color{red}{-8}}$, that would explain $90-16=74$ points.   $\Large\frac{\color{green}{+7}}{\color{red}{-6}}~\color{green}{\checkmark}$ would explain $70-12+15=73$ points, but I really doubt that either of those happened.

This question may appear to be a duplicate of Disappearing reputation, but the answer there was that question(s) (where the OP got rep from answer(s)) had been deleted.  I have investigated that avenue and pretty much ruled it out.

I presume that, if there had been a widespread glitch, multiple people would have been affected, and this issue would have been raised here (in meta) by now; but I don’t see it.  Can anybody (presumably somebody with privileges) explain what happened to my reputation?

Source Link
Peregrine Rook
  • 4.9k
  • 10
  • 11

What happened to my reputation (points)?

I have some browser tabs that have been open for several days.  A few of them show my reputation as either 2221 or 2231.*  My rep is currently 2165, for a drop of 66 from the high-water mark.  My # of posts edited and my progress toward earning a “Sportsmanship” badge also went down.
__________
* I believe that I most recently refreshed these tabs between 2016‑08‑18 04:00 and 2016‑08‑18 06:15; i.e., a little under three days ago.  Of course the reputation score in the top bar may have updated since then.

I seem to recall that, if you (gain or) lose a lot of rep because a user was deleted (or because of voting fraud), you get an annotation to that effect in the “reputation” tab of your user profile page.  I don’t have anything like that.  My reputation history shows a delta of +9 (one upvote and one down) in the past four days.  This leaves an unexplained drop of 75.

From the “answers” tab I see that my answer to What is the next number in the series : 3, 24, 75, 175, 342, ?, with a score of 1, was deleted at 04:05 (on 2016‑08‑18):

deleted recent answers

(Actually, it was the question that was deleted.)  This explains 10 points (and the other statistics).  If the vote breakdown on that answer was $\Large\frac{\color{green}{+9}}{\color{red}{-8}}$, that would explain $90-16=74$ points.   $\Large\frac{\color{green}{+7}}{\color{red}{-6}}~\color{green}{\checkmark}$ would explain $70-12+15=73$ points, but I really doubt that either of those happened.

This question may appear to be a duplicate of Disappearing reputation, but the answer there was that question(s) (where the OP got rep from answer(s)) had been deleted.  I have investigated that avenue and pretty much ruled it out.

I presume that, if there had been a widespread glitch, multiple people would have been affected, and this issue would have been raised here (in meta) by now; but I don’t see it.  Can anybody (presumably somebody with privileges) explain what happened to my reputation?