Skip to main content
replaced http://puzzling.stackexchange.com/ with https://puzzling.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

I recently posted the following question herehere. Now, due to collaboration of the various users who have answered the question, they have been able to come up with the solution. However, each of the answerers are fairly new to the site and as such have left their answers quite unsatisfactorily (in my opinion, with little to no justification).

I could leave this question open, and it is likely a more reputable user will come and 'collect' all this information and put it as the accepted answer. However, since all the work has been done, it seems quite unfair for the other users.

On the other hand, I could mark the most recent answeranswer as correct, however that would be misleading for future users.

My solution is for me to post up a Community Wiki answer, but a question:

  1. Is there a way to emphasise both the Community Wiki answer and the accepted answer, or would the Community Wiki answer merely fall to the bottom (if there are not enough up votes).

  2. Is this a fair use of the Community Wiki?


**Update**

The original answerer ended up justifying their work, so I have edited to clarify draw conclusions from their work (and credited all other participants), and accepted this answerthis answer.

I recently posted the following question here. Now, due to collaboration of the various users who have answered the question, they have been able to come up with the solution. However, each of the answerers are fairly new to the site and as such have left their answers quite unsatisfactorily (in my opinion, with little to no justification).

I could leave this question open, and it is likely a more reputable user will come and 'collect' all this information and put it as the accepted answer. However, since all the work has been done, it seems quite unfair for the other users.

On the other hand, I could mark the most recent answer as correct, however that would be misleading for future users.

My solution is for me to post up a Community Wiki answer, but a question:

  1. Is there a way to emphasise both the Community Wiki answer and the accepted answer, or would the Community Wiki answer merely fall to the bottom (if there are not enough up votes).

  2. Is this a fair use of the Community Wiki?


**Update**

The original answerer ended up justifying their work, so I have edited to clarify draw conclusions from their work (and credited all other participants), and accepted this answer.

I recently posted the following question here. Now, due to collaboration of the various users who have answered the question, they have been able to come up with the solution. However, each of the answerers are fairly new to the site and as such have left their answers quite unsatisfactorily (in my opinion, with little to no justification).

I could leave this question open, and it is likely a more reputable user will come and 'collect' all this information and put it as the accepted answer. However, since all the work has been done, it seems quite unfair for the other users.

On the other hand, I could mark the most recent answer as correct, however that would be misleading for future users.

My solution is for me to post up a Community Wiki answer, but a question:

  1. Is there a way to emphasise both the Community Wiki answer and the accepted answer, or would the Community Wiki answer merely fall to the bottom (if there are not enough up votes).

  2. Is this a fair use of the Community Wiki?


**Update**

The original answerer ended up justifying their work, so I have edited to clarify draw conclusions from their work (and credited all other participants), and accepted this answer.

Added notes
Source Link
Inazuma
  • 2.7k
  • 8
  • 6

I recently posted the following question here. Now, due to collaboration of the various users who have answered the question, they have been able to come up with the solution. However, each of the answerers are fairly new to the site and as such have left their answers quite unsatisfactorily (in my opinion, with little to no justification).

I could leave this question open, and it is likely a more reputable user will come and 'collect' all this information and put it as the accepted answer. However, since all the work has been done, it seems quite unfair for the other users.

On the other hand, I could mark the most recent answer as correct, however that would be misleading for future users.

My solution is for me to post up a Community Wiki answer, but a question:

  1. Is there a way to emphasise both the Community Wiki answer and the accepted answer, or would the Community Wiki answer merely fall to the bottom (if there are not enough up votes).

  2. Is this a fair use of the Community Wiki?


**Update**

The original answerer ended up justifying their work, so I have edited to clarify draw conclusions from their work (and credited all other participants), and accepted this answer.

I recently posted the following question here. Now, due to collaboration of the various users who have answered the question, they have been able to come up with the solution. However, each of the answerers are fairly new to the site and as such have left their answers quite unsatisfactorily (in my opinion, with little to no justification).

I could leave this question open, and it is likely a more reputable user will come and 'collect' all this information and put it as the accepted answer. However, since all the work has been done, it seems quite unfair for the other users.

On the other hand, I could mark the most recent answer as correct, however that would be misleading for future users.

My solution is for me to post up a Community Wiki answer, but a question:

  1. Is there a way to emphasise both the Community Wiki answer and the accepted answer, or would the Community Wiki answer merely fall to the bottom (if there are not enough up votes).

  2. Is this a fair use of the Community Wiki?

I recently posted the following question here. Now, due to collaboration of the various users who have answered the question, they have been able to come up with the solution. However, each of the answerers are fairly new to the site and as such have left their answers quite unsatisfactorily (in my opinion, with little to no justification).

I could leave this question open, and it is likely a more reputable user will come and 'collect' all this information and put it as the accepted answer. However, since all the work has been done, it seems quite unfair for the other users.

On the other hand, I could mark the most recent answer as correct, however that would be misleading for future users.

My solution is for me to post up a Community Wiki answer, but a question:

  1. Is there a way to emphasise both the Community Wiki answer and the accepted answer, or would the Community Wiki answer merely fall to the bottom (if there are not enough up votes).

  2. Is this a fair use of the Community Wiki?


**Update**

The original answerer ended up justifying their work, so I have edited to clarify draw conclusions from their work (and credited all other participants), and accepted this answer.

Source Link
Inazuma
  • 2.7k
  • 8
  • 6

Writing a Community-Wiki answer to supplement the accepted answer

I recently posted the following question here. Now, due to collaboration of the various users who have answered the question, they have been able to come up with the solution. However, each of the answerers are fairly new to the site and as such have left their answers quite unsatisfactorily (in my opinion, with little to no justification).

I could leave this question open, and it is likely a more reputable user will come and 'collect' all this information and put it as the accepted answer. However, since all the work has been done, it seems quite unfair for the other users.

On the other hand, I could mark the most recent answer as correct, however that would be misleading for future users.

My solution is for me to post up a Community Wiki answer, but a question:

  1. Is there a way to emphasise both the Community Wiki answer and the accepted answer, or would the Community Wiki answer merely fall to the bottom (if there are not enough up votes).

  2. Is this a fair use of the Community Wiki?