Skip to main content
Added tags, minor edits
Source Link
Arnon Weinberg
  • 19.8k
  • 8
  • 56
  • 92

What makes something positive reinforcement: theThe intention or the outcome? I have two examples I'm trying to understand.

First, if I am teaching my dog a trick and I give her a treat whenever I say "sit" and she sits, I'm intending to reinforce that behavior. Let's say my dog is deaf, so she isn't learning from my verbal command, and she doesn't learn to sit when I say "sit". Is this still considered positive reinforcement because of my intention, or is it not positive reinforcement because it is not effective?

AlternativelySecond, say I'm trying to teach my dog not to bark whenever the doorbell rings. Whenever the doorbell rings, she barks, and I give her a treat to distract her. Instead of learning that the doorbell is no threat (which was my intention), she learns that if she barks she gets a treat. Does this count as positive reinforcement, even though I did not intend to reinforce that behavior?

Essentially, I'm trying to understand whether intention and/or effectiveness have any impact on what we can consider positive reinforcement.

Any sources related to this would be extremely helpful, thanks!

What makes something positive reinforcement: the intention or the outcome? I have two examples I'm trying to understand.

First, if I am teaching my dog a trick and I give her a treat whenever I say "sit" and she sits, I'm intending to reinforce that behavior. Let's say my dog is deaf, so she isn't learning from my verbal command, and she doesn't learn to sit when I say "sit". Is this still considered positive reinforcement because of my intention, or is it not positive reinforcement because it is not effective?

Alternatively, say I'm trying to teach my dog not to bark whenever the doorbell rings. Whenever the doorbell rings, she barks, and I give her a treat to distract her. Instead of learning that the doorbell is no threat (which was my intention), she learns that if she barks she gets a treat. Does this count as positive reinforcement, even though I did not intend to reinforce that behavior?

Essentially, I'm trying to understand whether intention and/or effectiveness have any impact on what we can consider positive reinforcement.

Any sources related to this would be extremely helpful, thanks!

What makes something positive reinforcement: The intention or the outcome? I have two examples I'm trying to understand.

First, if I am teaching my dog a trick and I give her a treat whenever I say "sit" and she sits, I'm intending to reinforce that behavior. Let's say my dog is deaf, so she isn't learning from my verbal command, and she doesn't learn to sit when I say "sit". Is this still considered positive reinforcement because of my intention, or is it not positive reinforcement because it is not effective?

Second, say I'm trying to teach my dog not to bark whenever the doorbell rings. Whenever the doorbell rings, she barks, and I give her a treat to distract her. Instead of learning that the doorbell is no threat (which was my intention), she learns that if she barks she gets a treat. Does this count as positive reinforcement, even though I did not intend to reinforce that behavior?

Essentially, I'm trying to understand whether intention and/or effectiveness have any impact on what we can consider positive reinforcement.

Any sources related to this would be extremely helpful, thanks!

edited tags
Link
Source Link

Does intention matter for positive reinforcement?

What makes something positive reinforcement: the intention or the outcome? I have two examples I'm trying to understand.

First, if I am teaching my dog a trick and I give her a treat whenever I say "sit" and she sits, I'm intending to reinforce that behavior. Let's say my dog is deaf, so she isn't learning from my verbal command, and she doesn't learn to sit when I say "sit". Is this still considered positive reinforcement because of my intention, or is it not positive reinforcement because it is not effective?

Alternatively, say I'm trying to teach my dog not to bark whenever the doorbell rings. Whenever the doorbell rings, she barks, and I give her a treat to distract her. Instead of learning that the doorbell is no threat (which was my intention), she learns that if she barks she gets a treat. Does this count as positive reinforcement, even though I did not intend to reinforce that behavior?

Essentially, I'm trying to understand whether intention and/or effectiveness have any impact on what we can consider positive reinforcement.

Any sources related to this would be extremely helpful, thanks!