Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • $\begingroup$ As an aside: since the constraint force in this case must be perpendicular to the surface, $\nabla g\cdot\dot{\mathbf{x}}=0$, then you could write $\ddot{\mathbf{x}}\cdot\dot{\mathbf{x}}=0$ which may be a more tractable way to solve the problem. $\endgroup$
    – Kyle Kanos
    Commented Jun 22 at 14:57
  • $\begingroup$ Alternatively, since constraints reduce the degrees of freedom, you can use $g=0$ to imply that $z=\pm\left(r^2-x^2-y^2\right)^{1/2}$ to eliminate $z$ from the system of equations. $\endgroup$
    – Kyle Kanos
    Commented Jun 22 at 14:58
  • $\begingroup$ Thanks. I added an image to show what I am talking about. My question is not about these problems in general, it is about this one. This one is a non-stiff, non-dissipative system. For me it clearly needs a symplectic integrator. My question is really directed at the second-order ODE with quadratic constraints. I would expect this to be solved by a quadratic integrator but clearly the integration is missing some important high-order terms. Eliminating z is an option, but I have essentially eliminated the constraint instead. As an exercise I find the problem interesting as stated. $\endgroup$ Commented Jun 23 at 7:52
  • $\begingroup$ You have 3 questions between the title and the body; 2 of them are explicitly about the generic case I address in this answer (to wit: the title and last question). If you want a more stable integrator that involves velocity-dependent forces, you could see this answer of mine. $\endgroup$
    – Kyle Kanos
    Commented Jun 23 at 16:40
  • $\begingroup$ Thank you. I apologise if my question wasn't asking the thing I wanted to know exactly, but for me it was the behaviour of the integrator in the face of simple equations/constraints that surprising. I didn't see the problem with the velocity dependence on the velocity and for me this is the crux of the issue. I'm going to give the 'correct' answer to LPZ because I think he/she has explained what the cause is. $\endgroup$ Commented Jun 25 at 18:47