Skip to main content

There's a statement I discovered in the book I am reading which says

Kinetic energy changes only when speed changes and that happens when the restaurantresultant force has a tangential component.

Does that mean Kinetickinetic energy will changechanges only when there is a resultant force component that is parallel to the velocity component? Or is something lacking in my understanding of the word tangential?

There's a statement I discovered in the book I am reading which says

Kinetic energy changes only when speed changes and that happens when the restaurant force has a tangential component.

Does that mean Kinetic energy will change only when there is a resultant force component that is parallel to the velocity component? Or is something lacking in my understanding of the word tangential?

There's a statement I discovered in the book I am reading which says

Kinetic energy changes only when speed changes and that happens when the resultant force has a tangential component.

Does that mean kinetic energy changes only when there is a resultant force component that is parallel to the velocity component? Or is something lacking in my understanding of the word tangential?

edited tags; edited tags
Link
Qmechanic
  • 206.6k
  • 48
  • 566
  • 2.3k
Source Link

What is the tangential component of any vector?

There's a statement I discovered in the book I am reading which says

Kinetic energy changes only when speed changes and that happens when the restaurant force has a tangential component.

Does that mean Kinetic energy will change only when there is a resultant force component that is parallel to the velocity component? Or is something lacking in my understanding of the word tangential?