Skip to main content
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 3 at 2:06 comment added cheekylittleduck Thanks for making this so clear! For the following question, I believe no matter what the origin of the complex part, all of this should still work, i.e. for conductors its just ohmic loss, but if you are absorbing light due to electronic transitions in a semiconductor, it is still all n + iK.
May 2 at 7:30 comment added Conreu I see, I had only seen complex refractive indexes in conductors. I'd really like and it'd be really interesting if you added an answer about these other cases as to complement my answer.
May 2 at 6:58 comment added W_vH This is an excellent answer! I always struggle with the math when curl is used, and I can’t seem to implement this for the case that you didn’t mention: complex refractive index in dielectric (applicable in e.g. food dyes, or even just water in infrared). I will try again later, but perhaps your answer can be improved by adding that case.
May 2 at 1:26 history edited Conreu CC BY-SA 4.0
added 98 characters in body
May 2 at 1:19 history answered Conreu CC BY-SA 4.0