Skip to main content
added picture
Source Link

!][1]My set-up is the following: i have an iron bolt suspended on a string next to an electromagnet, of which I steadily increase the voltage and thereby the magnetic field. Supposing the force is linear with the magnetic field and dependent on the distance between the bolt and magnet. The exact dependence is what I seek, but assume that it is ~ $1/r^\alpha$ with $\alpha$ an undetermined constant. What is the relation between the deviation of the bolt (sin(theta)$sin(\theta)$) and the strength of the magnetic field? The data seems to point to a cubic relationship (sin(theta)$sin(\theta)$ ~ B ^3$B ^3$) but I cant find why, any approximations ( even wild ones) are welcome.

!][1]My set-up is the following: i have an iron bolt suspended on a string next to an electromagnet, of which I steadily increase the voltage and thereby the magnetic field. Supposing the force is linear with the magnetic field and dependent on the distance between the bolt and magnet. What is the relation between the deviation of the bolt (sin(theta)) and the strength of the magnetic field? The data seems to point to a cubic relationship (sin(theta) ~ B ^3) but I cant find why, any approximations ( even wild ones) are welcome.

!][1]My set-up is the following: i have an iron bolt suspended on a string next to an electromagnet, of which I steadily increase the voltage and thereby the magnetic field. Supposing the force is linear with the magnetic field and dependent on the distance between the bolt and magnet. The exact dependence is what I seek, but assume that it is ~ $1/r^\alpha$ with $\alpha$ an undetermined constant. What is the relation between the deviation of the bolt ($sin(\theta)$) and the strength of the magnetic field? The data seems to point to a cubic relationship ($sin(\theta)$ ~ $B ^3$) but I cant find why, any approximations ( even wild ones) are welcome.

added picture
Source Link

So I am trying to figure out the deviation of an iron pendulum in function of the strength of the field. My!][1]My set-up is the following: i have an iron bolt suspended on a string next to an electromagnet, of which I steadily increase the voltage and thereby the magnetic field. Supposing the force is linear with the magnetic field and inverse dependent on the distance between the bolt and magnet. How would you fitWhat is the datarelation between the deviation of the bolt (sin(theta)) and the strength of the magnetic field? I am only interested if a inverse square force or an inverse cubic force is a better fit. The The data seems to go cubicallypoint to a cubic relationship (sin(theta) ~ B ^3) but I cant find why, any approximations ( even wild ones) are welcome.

So I am trying to figure out the deviation of an iron pendulum in function of the strength of the field. My set-up is the following: i have an iron bolt suspended on a string next to an electromagnet, of which I steadily increase the voltage and thereby the magnetic field. Supposing the force is linear with the field and inverse dependent on the distance. How would you fit the data? I am only interested if a inverse square force or an inverse cubic force is a better fit. The data seems to go cubically, any approximations ( even wild ones) are welcome.

!][1]My set-up is the following: i have an iron bolt suspended on a string next to an electromagnet, of which I steadily increase the voltage and thereby the magnetic field. Supposing the force is linear with the magnetic field and dependent on the distance between the bolt and magnet. What is the relation between the deviation of the bolt (sin(theta)) and the strength of the magnetic field? The data seems to point to a cubic relationship (sin(theta) ~ B ^3) but I cant find why, any approximations ( even wild ones) are welcome.

Source Link

Charged pendulum and a fixed point charge

So I am trying to figure out the deviation of an iron pendulum in function of the strength of the field. My set-up is the following: i have an iron bolt suspended on a string next to an electromagnet, of which I steadily increase the voltage and thereby the magnetic field. Supposing the force is linear with the field and inverse dependent on the distance. How would you fit the data? I am only interested if a inverse square force or an inverse cubic force is a better fit. The data seems to go cubically, any approximations ( even wild ones) are welcome.