Skip to main content
Notice removed Draw attention by Daniel Grimmer
Bounty Ended with Prahar's answer chosen by Daniel Grimmer
added 5 characters in body
Source Link

I'm new to Weyl transformations and am struggling to find online the answer to what should be a simple question. Consider an $n=D+1$ dimensional spacetime with metric $g_{ab}$ and some stress-energy tensor $T_{ab}$ (e.g., from the variation of some action, say of a perfect fluid). If I perform a Weyl transformation $$g_{ab}\mapsto\bar{g}_{ab}=\Omega^2 g_{ab}$$ then what happens to the stress-energy tensor? In particular, what is its scaling behavior, $\Delta$?

$$T_{ab}\mapsto\bar{T}_{ab}=\Omega^{-\Delta} T_{ab}$$

Specifically, how does this depend on the spacetime's dimensions $n=D+1$? I have found the answer online in the $n=4$ case in several books (edit: For instance, with raised indices, we have $T^{ab}$ having $\Delta=6$ in Eq.(2.14) of [ref]). I have found some discussion of the issue in a generic dimension here but the discussion there is inconsistent with itself. I know that the scaling behavior is different if the indices are raised or lowered, e.g., $T_{ab}$ vs $T_{a}{}^b$ vs $T^{ab}$ But I don't think the discussion I found distinguishes these properly.

The hyper-specific question which I am looking for an answer to is as follow: What is the scaling behavior of the rest mass density distribution, $\rho$, which would go into the stress-energy of a perfect fluid, $$T_{ab}=(P+\rho) u_a u_b + g_{ab} P$$ I am particularly interested in the $n=1+1$ case generalizing Eq.(2.21) of [ref]. The reason that I am asking about stress-energy is that I know that I can figure out how $\rho$ and $P$ scale if I know how the stress-energy scales. If I am right, $\rho$ would scale in the same way as the trace of the stress-energy tensor, correct? Would rest charge density transform any differently?

Note: I am interested in this question outside of the context of CFT. Please do not assume that the theory that I am working with is conformally invariant or that the stress-energy is traceless.

Edit: I have replaced "conformal weight" with "scaling behavior" everywhere. The way that both I and this post are defining $\Delta$ it does depend on how the indices are raised or lowered.

[ref] Beyond Einstein Gravity: A Survey of Gravitational Theories for Cosmology by Valerio Faraoni and Salvatore Capozziello.

I'm new to Weyl transformations and am struggling to find online the answer to what should be a simple question. Consider an $n=D+1$ dimensional spacetime with metric $g_{ab}$ and some stress-energy tensor $T_{ab}$ (e.g., from the variation of some action, say of a perfect fluid). If I perform a Weyl transformation $$g_{ab}\mapsto\bar{g}_{ab}=\Omega^2 g_{ab}$$ then what happens to the stress-energy tensor? In particular, what is its scaling behavior, $\Delta$?

$$T_{ab}\mapsto\bar{T}_{ab}=\Omega^{-\Delta} T_{ab}$$

Specifically, how does this depend on the spacetime's dimensions $n=D+1$? I have found the answer online in the $n=4$ case in several books (edit: For instance, with raised indices, we have $T^{ab}$ having $\Delta=6$ in Eq.(2.14) of [ref]). I have found some discussion of the issue in a generic dimension here but the discussion there is inconsistent with itself. I know that the scaling behavior is different if the indices are raised or lowered, e.g., $T_{ab}$ vs $T_{a}{}^b$ vs $T^{ab}$ But I don't think the discussion I found distinguishes these properly.

The hyper-specific question which I am looking for an answer to is as follow: What is the scaling behavior of the rest mass density distribution, $\rho$, which would go into the stress-energy of a perfect fluid, $$T_{ab}=(P+\rho) u_a u_b + g_{ab} P$$ I am particularly interested in the $n=1+1$ case generalizing Eq.(2.21) of [ref]. The reason that I am asking about stress-energy is that I know that I can figure out how $\rho$ and $P$ scale if I know how the stress-energy scales. If I am right, $\rho$ would scale in the same way as the trace of the stress-energy tensor, correct? Would rest charge density transform any differently?

Note: I am interested in this question outside of the context of CFT. Please do not assume that the theory that I am working with is conformally invariant or that the stress-energy is traceless.

Edit: I have replaced "conformal weight" with "scaling behavior" everywhere. The way that both I and this post are defining $\Delta$ it does depend on how the indices are raised or lowered.

[ref] Beyond Einstein Gravity: A Survey of Gravitational Theories for Cosmology by Valerio Faraoni and Salvatore Capozziello.

I'm new to Weyl transformations and am struggling to find online the answer to what should be a simple question. Consider an $n=D+1$ dimensional spacetime with metric $g_{ab}$ and some stress-energy tensor $T_{ab}$ (e.g., from the variation of some action, say of a perfect fluid). If I perform a Weyl transformation $$g_{ab}\mapsto\bar{g}_{ab}=\Omega^2 g_{ab}$$ then what happens to the stress-energy tensor? In particular, what is its scaling behavior, $\Delta$?

$$T_{ab}\mapsto\bar{T}_{ab}=\Omega^{-\Delta} T_{ab}$$

Specifically, how does this depend on the spacetime's dimensions $n=D+1$? I have found the answer online in the $n=4$ case in several books (edit: For instance, with raised indices, we have $T^{ab}$ having $\Delta=6$ in Eq.(2.14) of [ref]). I have found some discussion of the issue in a generic dimension here but the discussion there is inconsistent with itself. I know that the scaling behavior is different if the indices are raised or lowered, e.g., $T_{ab}$ vs $T_{a}{}^b$ vs $T^{ab}$ But I don't think the discussion I found distinguishes these properly.

The hyper-specific question which I am looking for an answer to is as follow: What is the scaling behavior of the rest mass density distribution, $\rho$, which would go into the stress-energy of a perfect fluid, $$T_{ab}=(P+\rho) u_a u_b + g_{ab} P$$ I am particularly interested in the $n=1+1$ case generalizing Eq.(2.21) of [ref]. Would rest charge density transform any differently?

Note: I am interested in this question outside of the context of CFT. Please do not assume that the theory that I am working with is conformally invariant or that the stress-energy is traceless.

Edit: I have replaced "conformal weight" with "scaling behavior" everywhere. The way that both I and this post are defining $\Delta$ it does depend on how the indices are raised or lowered.

[ref] Beyond Einstein Gravity: A Survey of Gravitational Theories for Cosmology by Valerio Faraoni and Salvatore Capozziello.

added 53 characters in body
Source Link

I'm new to Weyl transformations and am struggling to find online the answer to what should be a simple question. Consider an $n=D+1$ dimensional spacetime with metric $g_{ab}$ and some stress-energy tensor $T_{ab}$ (e.g., from the variation of some action, say of a perfect fluid). If I perform a Weyl transformation $$g_{ab}\mapsto\bar{g}_{ab}=\Omega^2 g_{ab}$$ then what happens to the stress-energy tensor? In particular, what is its scaling behavior, $\Delta$?

$$T_{ab}\mapsto\bar{T}_{ab}=\Omega^{-\Delta} T_{ab}$$

Specifically, how does this depend on the spacetime's dimensions $n=D+1$? I have found the answer online in the $n=4$ case in several books (edit: For instance, with raised indices, we have $T^{ab}$ having $\Delta=6$ in Eq.(2.14) of [ref]). I have found some discussion of the issue in a generic dimension here but the discussion there is inconsistent with itself. I know that the scaling behavior is different if the indices are raised or lowered, e.g., $T_{ab}$ vs $T_{a}{}^b$ vs $T^{ab}$ But I don't think the discussion I found distinguishes these properly.

The hyper-specific question which I am looking for an answer to is as follow: What is the scaling behavior of the rest mass density distribution, $\rho$, which would go into the stress-energy of a perfect fluid, $$T_{ab}=(P+\rho) u_a u_b + g_{ab} P$$ I am particularly interested in the $n=1+1$ case generalizing Eq.(2.21) of [ref]. The reason that I am asking about stress-energy is that I know that I can figure out how $\rho$ and $P$ scale if I know how the stress-energy scales. If I am right, $\rho$ would scale in the same way as the tracetrace of the stress-energy tensor, correct? Would rest charge density transform any differently?

Note: I am interested in this question outside of the context of CFT. Please do not assume that the theory that I am working with is conformally invariant or that the stress-energy is traceless.

Edit: I have replaced "conformal weight" with "scaling behavior" everywhere. The way that both I and this post are defining $\Delta$ it does depend on how the indices are raised or lowered.

[ref] Beyond Einstein Gravity: A Survey of Gravitational Theories for Cosmology by Valerio Faraoni and Salvatore Capozziello.

I'm new to Weyl transformations and am struggling to find online the answer to what should be a simple question. Consider an $n=D+1$ dimensional spacetime with metric $g_{ab}$ and some stress-energy tensor $T_{ab}$ (e.g., from the variation of some action, say of a perfect fluid). If I perform a Weyl transformation $$g_{ab}\mapsto\bar{g}_{ab}=\Omega^2 g_{ab}$$ then what happens to the stress-energy tensor? In particular, what is its scaling behavior, $\Delta$?

$$T_{ab}\mapsto\bar{T}_{ab}=\Omega^{-\Delta} T_{ab}$$

Specifically, how does this depend on the spacetime's dimensions $n=D+1$? I have found the answer online in the $n=4$ case in several books (edit: For instance, with raised indices, we have $T^{ab}$ having $\Delta=6$ in Eq.(2.14) of [ref]). I have found some discussion of the issue in a generic dimension here but the discussion there is inconsistent with itself. I know that the scaling behavior is different if the indices are raised or lowered, e.g., $T_{ab}$ vs $T_{a}{}^b$ vs $T^{ab}$ But I don't think the discussion I found distinguishes these properly.

The hyper-specific question which I am looking for an answer to is as follow: What is the scaling behavior of the rest mass density distribution, $\rho$, which would go into the stress-energy of a perfect fluid, $$T_{ab}=(P+\rho) u_a u_b + g_{ab} P$$ I am particularly interested in the $n=1+1$ case generalizing Eq.(2.21) of [ref]. The reason that I am asking about stress-energy is that I know that I can figure out how $\rho$ and $P$ scale if I know how the stress-energy scales. If I am right, $\rho$ would scale in the same way as the trace of the stress-energy tensor, correct?

Note: I am interested in this question outside of the context of CFT. Please do not assume that the theory that I am working with is conformally invariant or that the stress-energy is traceless.

Edit: I have replaced "conformal weight" with "scaling behavior" everywhere. The way that both I and this post are defining $\Delta$ it does depend on how the indices are raised or lowered.

[ref] Beyond Einstein Gravity: A Survey of Gravitational Theories for Cosmology by Valerio Faraoni and Salvatore Capozziello.

I'm new to Weyl transformations and am struggling to find online the answer to what should be a simple question. Consider an $n=D+1$ dimensional spacetime with metric $g_{ab}$ and some stress-energy tensor $T_{ab}$ (e.g., from the variation of some action, say of a perfect fluid). If I perform a Weyl transformation $$g_{ab}\mapsto\bar{g}_{ab}=\Omega^2 g_{ab}$$ then what happens to the stress-energy tensor? In particular, what is its scaling behavior, $\Delta$?

$$T_{ab}\mapsto\bar{T}_{ab}=\Omega^{-\Delta} T_{ab}$$

Specifically, how does this depend on the spacetime's dimensions $n=D+1$? I have found the answer online in the $n=4$ case in several books (edit: For instance, with raised indices, we have $T^{ab}$ having $\Delta=6$ in Eq.(2.14) of [ref]). I have found some discussion of the issue in a generic dimension here but the discussion there is inconsistent with itself. I know that the scaling behavior is different if the indices are raised or lowered, e.g., $T_{ab}$ vs $T_{a}{}^b$ vs $T^{ab}$ But I don't think the discussion I found distinguishes these properly.

The hyper-specific question which I am looking for an answer to is as follow: What is the scaling behavior of the rest mass density distribution, $\rho$, which would go into the stress-energy of a perfect fluid, $$T_{ab}=(P+\rho) u_a u_b + g_{ab} P$$ I am particularly interested in the $n=1+1$ case generalizing Eq.(2.21) of [ref]. The reason that I am asking about stress-energy is that I know that I can figure out how $\rho$ and $P$ scale if I know how the stress-energy scales. If I am right, $\rho$ would scale in the same way as the trace of the stress-energy tensor, correct? Would rest charge density transform any differently?

Note: I am interested in this question outside of the context of CFT. Please do not assume that the theory that I am working with is conformally invariant or that the stress-energy is traceless.

Edit: I have replaced "conformal weight" with "scaling behavior" everywhere. The way that both I and this post are defining $\Delta$ it does depend on how the indices are raised or lowered.

[ref] Beyond Einstein Gravity: A Survey of Gravitational Theories for Cosmology by Valerio Faraoni and Salvatore Capozziello.

edited title
Source Link

I'm new to Weyl transformations and am struggling to find online the answer to what should be a simple question. Consider an $n=D+1$ dimensional spacetime with metric $g_{ab}$ and some stress-energy tensor $T_{ab}$ (e.g., from the variation of some action, say of a perfect fluid). If I perform a Weyl transformation $$g_{ab}\mapsto\bar{g}_{ab}=\Omega^2 g_{ab}$$ then what happens to the stress-energy tensor? In particular, what is its scaling behavior, $\Delta$?

$$T_{ab}\mapsto\bar{T}_{ab}=\Omega^{-\Delta} T_{ab}$$

Specifically, how does this depend on the spacetime's dimensions $n=D+1$? I have found the answer online in the $n=4$ case in several books (edit: For instance, with raised indices, we have $T^{ab}$ having $\Delta=6$ in Eq.(2.14) of [ref]). I have found some discussion of the issue in a generic dimension here but the discussion there is inconsistent with itself. I know that the scaling behavior is different if the indices are raised or lowered, e.g., $T_{ab}$ vs $T_{a}{}^b$ vs $T^{ab}$ But I don't think the discussion I found distinguishes these properly.

The hyper-specific question which I am looking for an answer to is as follow: What is the scaling behavior of the rest mass density distribution, $\rho$, which would go into the stress-energy of a perfect fluid, $$T_{ab}=(P+\rho) u_a u_b + g_{ab} P$$ I am particularly interested in the $n=1+1$ case generalizing Eq.(2.21) of [ref]. The reason that I am asking about stress-energy is that I know that I can figure out how $\rho$ and $P$ scale if I know how the stress-energy scales. If I am right, $\rho$ would scale in the same way as the trace of the stress-energy tensor, correct?

Note: I am interested in this question outside of the context of CFT. Please do not assume that the theory that I am working with is conformally invariant or that the stress-energy is traceless.

Edit: I have replaced "conformal weight" with "scaling behavior" everywhere. The way that both I and this post are defining $\Delta$ it doesdoes depend on how the indices are raised or lowered.

[ref] Beyond Einstein Gravity: A Survey of Gravitational Theories for Cosmology by Valerio Faraoni and Salvatore Capozziello.

I'm new to Weyl transformations and am struggling to find online the answer to what should be a simple question. Consider an $n=D+1$ dimensional spacetime with metric $g_{ab}$ and some stress-energy tensor $T_{ab}$ (e.g., from the variation of some action, say of a perfect fluid). If I perform a Weyl transformation $$g_{ab}\mapsto\bar{g}_{ab}=\Omega^2 g_{ab}$$ then what happens to the stress-energy tensor? In particular, what is its scaling behavior, $\Delta$?

$$T_{ab}\mapsto\bar{T}_{ab}=\Omega^{-\Delta} T_{ab}$$

Specifically, how does this depend on the spacetime's dimensions $n=D+1$? I have found the answer online in the $n=4$ case in several books. I have found some discussion of the issue in a generic dimension here but the discussion there is inconsistent with itself. I know that the scaling behavior is different if the indices are raised or lowered, e.g., $T_{ab}$ vs $T_{a}{}^b$ vs $T^{ab}$ But I don't think the discussion I found distinguishes these properly.

The hyper-specific question which I am looking for an answer to is as follow: What is the scaling behavior of the rest mass density distribution, $\rho$, which would go into the stress-energy of a perfect fluid, $$T_{ab}=(P+\rho) u_a u_b + g_{ab} P$$ I am particularly interested in the $n=1+1$ case. The reason that I am asking about stress-energy is that I know that I can figure out how $\rho$ and $P$ scale if I know how the stress-energy scales. If I am right, $\rho$ would scale in the same way as the trace of the stress-energy tensor, correct?

Note: I am interested in this question outside of the context of CFT. Please do not assume that the theory that I am working with is conformally invariant or that the stress-energy is traceless.

Edit: I have replaced "conformal weight" with "scaling behavior" everywhere. The way that both I and this post are defining $\Delta$ it does depend on how the indices are raised or lowered.

I'm new to Weyl transformations and am struggling to find online the answer to what should be a simple question. Consider an $n=D+1$ dimensional spacetime with metric $g_{ab}$ and some stress-energy tensor $T_{ab}$ (e.g., from the variation of some action, say of a perfect fluid). If I perform a Weyl transformation $$g_{ab}\mapsto\bar{g}_{ab}=\Omega^2 g_{ab}$$ then what happens to the stress-energy tensor? In particular, what is its scaling behavior, $\Delta$?

$$T_{ab}\mapsto\bar{T}_{ab}=\Omega^{-\Delta} T_{ab}$$

Specifically, how does this depend on the spacetime's dimensions $n=D+1$? I have found the answer online in the $n=4$ case in several books (edit: For instance, with raised indices, we have $T^{ab}$ having $\Delta=6$ in Eq.(2.14) of [ref]). I have found some discussion of the issue in a generic dimension here but the discussion there is inconsistent with itself. I know that the scaling behavior is different if the indices are raised or lowered, e.g., $T_{ab}$ vs $T_{a}{}^b$ vs $T^{ab}$ But I don't think the discussion I found distinguishes these properly.

The hyper-specific question which I am looking for an answer to is as follow: What is the scaling behavior of the rest mass density distribution, $\rho$, which would go into the stress-energy of a perfect fluid, $$T_{ab}=(P+\rho) u_a u_b + g_{ab} P$$ I am particularly interested in the $n=1+1$ case generalizing Eq.(2.21) of [ref]. The reason that I am asking about stress-energy is that I know that I can figure out how $\rho$ and $P$ scale if I know how the stress-energy scales. If I am right, $\rho$ would scale in the same way as the trace of the stress-energy tensor, correct?

Note: I am interested in this question outside of the context of CFT. Please do not assume that the theory that I am working with is conformally invariant or that the stress-energy is traceless.

Edit: I have replaced "conformal weight" with "scaling behavior" everywhere. The way that both I and this post are defining $\Delta$ it does depend on how the indices are raised or lowered.

[ref] Beyond Einstein Gravity: A Survey of Gravitational Theories for Cosmology by Valerio Faraoni and Salvatore Capozziello.

edited title
Link
Loading
Replaced "conformal weight" with scaling behavior.
Source Link
Loading
added 24 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
Notice added Draw attention by Daniel Grimmer
Bounty Started worth 50 reputation by Daniel Grimmer
added 198 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
Loading
deleted 2 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
edited title
Link
Qmechanic
  • 206.6k
  • 48
  • 566
  • 2.3k
Loading
Source Link
Loading