Skip to main content
Post Closed as "Not suitable for this site" by Bob D, Hyperon, Vincent Thacker
edited tags
Link
Bob D
  • 73.7k
  • 6
  • 57
  • 146
Source Link

Work using angle vs. displacement

I am trying to calculate the work done on this wheel as it undergoes one full revolution, and is rolling without slipping.

enter image description here

I am aware that work can be calculated either using the integral of force with respect to displacement, or the integral of torque with respect to angle.

Since the speed of the contact point B is zero, the friction does not do any work. The weight and normal force are perpendicular to the displacement so neither do they. There is only F. The point A moves at twice the speed as point C, thus undergoes the displacement $4\pi r$. This means the work is

$$ \int_0^{4\pi r}Fdr = 4\pi r F. $$

But if I use the integral with torque instead, I get

$$ \int_0^{2\pi}Fr d\theta = 2 \pi r F. $$

These aren't equal so I must be missing something. Isn't the angle rotated $2\pi$? Or should I not be considering rotation around C but rather B? These are the only explanations I can find but I don't know what is correct.