Skip to main content
Removed from Network Questions by Qmechanic
Became Hot Network Question
Got rid of the ALL CAPS
Source Link
hft
  • 21.9k
  • 2
  • 30
  • 63

If a car is ACCELERATING*accelerating* uphill, does it GAIN more*gain* kinetic energy?

I had an exam yesterday on physics (9th Grade), there was a question that confused me a lot. It said: "If a Gas Car is accelerating uphill, what happens to its G.P.E and K.E?"

A: It loses potential energy and loses kinetic energy.

B: It loses potential energy and gains kinetic energy.

C: It gains potential energy and loses kinetic energy.

D: It gains potential energy and gains kinetic energy.

--I chose the answer D, because the car is ACCELERATINGaccelerating so its definitely gaining more speed so it must GAINgain kinetic energy too. The teacher said that it wasn't the right choice, C was. He didn't really explain why, I argued that it said that the car was "accelerating" and not "decelerating".   

I could really use some help on this~!

If a car is ACCELERATING uphill, does it GAIN more kinetic energy?

I had an exam yesterday on physics (9th Grade), there was a question that confused me a lot. It said: "If a Gas Car is accelerating uphill, what happens to its G.P.E and K.E?"

A: It loses potential energy and loses kinetic energy.

B: It loses potential energy and gains kinetic energy.

C: It gains potential energy and loses kinetic energy.

D: It gains potential energy and gains kinetic energy.

--I chose the answer D, because the car is ACCELERATING so its definitely gaining more speed so it must GAIN kinetic energy too. The teacher said that it wasn't the right choice, C was. He didn't really explain why, I argued that it said that the car was "accelerating" and not "decelerating".  I could really use some help on this~!

If a car is *accelerating* uphill, does it *gain* kinetic energy?

I had an exam yesterday on physics (9th Grade), there was a question that confused me a lot. It said: "If a Gas Car is accelerating uphill, what happens to its G.P.E and K.E?"

A: It loses potential energy and loses kinetic energy.

B: It loses potential energy and gains kinetic energy.

C: It gains potential energy and loses kinetic energy.

D: It gains potential energy and gains kinetic energy.

--I chose the answer D, because the car is accelerating so its definitely gaining more speed so it must gain kinetic energy too. The teacher said that it wasn't the right choice, C was. He didn't really explain why, I argued that it said that the car was "accelerating" and not "decelerating". 

I could really use some help on this~!

edited tags; edited tags
Link
Qmechanic
  • 206.6k
  • 48
  • 566
  • 2.3k
Source Link

If a car is ACCELERATING uphill, does it GAIN more kinetic energy?

I had an exam yesterday on physics (9th Grade), there was a question that confused me a lot. It said: "If a Gas Car is accelerating uphill, what happens to its G.P.E and K.E?"

A: It loses potential energy and loses kinetic energy.

B: It loses potential energy and gains kinetic energy.

C: It gains potential energy and loses kinetic energy.

D: It gains potential energy and gains kinetic energy.

--I chose the answer D, because the car is ACCELERATING so its definitely gaining more speed so it must GAIN kinetic energy too. The teacher said that it wasn't the right choice, C was. He didn't really explain why, I argued that it said that the car was "accelerating" and not "decelerating". I could really use some help on this~!