Skip to main content
Post Closed as "Not suitable for this site" by ZeroTheHero, John Rennie, Hyperon
Bumped by Community user
deleted 18 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
Qmechanic
  • 206.6k
  • 48
  • 566
  • 2.3k

I’m looking for the lagrangian function of the following problem (as seen in the picture). We have a mass connected to two springs. We can deglect the mass in two dimensions.

Structure of the problem

My main problems are:

  1. What coordinats should I use?

    What coordinates should I use?

  2. How can I define the potential energy of the springs in regard of the mass?

    How can I define the potential energy of the springs in regard of the mass?

In Newtonian mechanics, the approach is clear. I use polar-like coordinates and obtain a 2D-vector field resulting in two coupled ode’s.

I assume the potential energy is way easier than I think. Probably something like (in Cartesian coordinates):

$$ V = \frac{1}{2} k \left( x^2 + y^2 \right) $$

But isn’t that the potential energy for a setup with two additional vertical springs? Somehow I can't wrap my head around this. I would very much appreciate your help!

Thanks in advanced!

I’m looking for the lagrangian function of the following problem (as seen in the picture). We have a mass connected to two springs. We can deglect the mass in two dimensions.

Structure of the problem

My main problems are:

  1. What coordinats should I use?
  2. How can I define the potential energy of the springs in regard of the mass?

In Newtonian mechanics, the approach is clear. I use polar-like coordinates and obtain a 2D-vector field resulting in two coupled ode’s.

I assume the potential energy is way easier than I think. Probably something like (in Cartesian coordinates):

$$ V = \frac{1}{2} k \left( x^2 + y^2 \right) $$

But isn’t that the potential energy for a setup with two additional vertical springs? Somehow I can't wrap my head around this. I would very much appreciate your help!

Thanks in advanced!

I’m looking for the lagrangian function of the following problem (as seen in the picture). We have a mass connected to two springs. We can deglect the mass in two dimensions.

Structure of the problem

My main problems are:

  1. What coordinates should I use?

  2. How can I define the potential energy of the springs in regard of the mass?

In Newtonian mechanics, the approach is clear. I use polar-like coordinates and obtain a 2D-vector field resulting in two coupled ode’s.

I assume the potential energy is way easier than I think. Probably something like (in Cartesian coordinates):

$$ V = \frac{1}{2} k \left( x^2 + y^2 \right) $$

But isn’t that the potential energy for a setup with two additional vertical springs? Somehow I can't wrap my head around this. I would very much appreciate your help!

Source Link

Lagrangian function of a mass-spring-system with deflections in 2D

I’m looking for the lagrangian function of the following problem (as seen in the picture). We have a mass connected to two springs. We can deglect the mass in two dimensions.

Structure of the problem

My main problems are:

  1. What coordinats should I use?
  2. How can I define the potential energy of the springs in regard of the mass?

In Newtonian mechanics, the approach is clear. I use polar-like coordinates and obtain a 2D-vector field resulting in two coupled ode’s.

I assume the potential energy is way easier than I think. Probably something like (in Cartesian coordinates):

$$ V = \frac{1}{2} k \left( x^2 + y^2 \right) $$

But isn’t that the potential energy for a setup with two additional vertical springs? Somehow I can't wrap my head around this. I would very much appreciate your help!

Thanks in advanced!