Skip to main content
edited tags; edited title
Link
Qmechanic
  • 206.6k
  • 48
  • 566
  • 2.3k

What does this vertical line notation mean (Noehter's theorem)?

added 57 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
Níckolas Alves
  • 22.1k
  • 3
  • 34
  • 106

Here is the definition of the Noether momentum in my script.

enter image description here

But$$I = \left.\frac{\partial L}{\partial \dot{x}} \frac{d x}{d \alpha} \right|_{\alpha=0} = \frac{\partial L}{\partial \dot{x}} = m \dot{x} = p_x.$$ But I don't understand exactly what this vertical line with $\alpha=0$ means, I would have interpreted it as $\frac{dx}{d0}$ now.

Here is the definition of the Noether momentum in my script.

enter image description here

But I don't understand exactly what this vertical line with $\alpha=0$ means, I would have interpreted it as $\frac{dx}{d0}$ now.

Here is the definition of the Noether momentum in my script.

$$I = \left.\frac{\partial L}{\partial \dot{x}} \frac{d x}{d \alpha} \right|_{\alpha=0} = \frac{\partial L}{\partial \dot{x}} = m \dot{x} = p_x.$$ But I don't understand exactly what this vertical line with $\alpha=0$ means, I would have interpreted it as $\frac{dx}{d0}$ now.

Source Link

What does this notation mean (Noehter's theorem)

Here is the definition of the Noether momentum in my script.

enter image description here

But I don't understand exactly what this vertical line with $\alpha=0$ means, I would have interpreted it as $\frac{dx}{d0}$ now.