Skip to main content
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 30, 2013 at 15:41 comment added JForster thanks again --by coincidence I started Theoretical Minimum last week. It's a shame about work ;).
Jul 30, 2013 at 1:52 comment added Michael @JForster I toured Fermilab as a kid not long after they discovered the top quark. It was a wonderful experience, both for the physics and the wildlife. :)
Jul 30, 2013 at 1:51 comment added Michael @JForster If you are interested in diving in a bit more the Nobel winner Gerard 't Hooft has a nice resource list. Also Susskind's theoretical minimum. A university library is also a very nice thing to have on hand. I'm largely self-taught and I can tell you it's not easy, but if you are passionate about a subject it gets to be rewarding (emotionally and intellectually if not fiscally). Best thing to do is follow your interests.
Jul 29, 2013 at 23:12 comment added JForster Thank you --that was extremely helpful. I hadn't seen Matt Strassler's blog before but it looks like a fantastic resource. I have become acutely aware over the years since getting out of college how essential a grasp of the math is and there are aspects of it that I feel I understand in broad outline (group theory seems fundamentally not horribly intractable, although it also seems to get complicated pretty fast) but I feel immensely frustrated with the slow pace of acquisition of new knowledge. The CMS detector is wild, btw :) Large Hadron Collider is Large.
Jul 29, 2013 at 23:06 history answered Michael CC BY-SA 3.0