Skip to main content
3 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 13, 2021 at 2:19 comment added Solomon Slow @AlfredCentauri, I never was a real EE, even though I may have played at that role on a few occasions during my career. I guess I used that word because I maybe misunderstood diagrams like the one on this page. I'm not so sure about "dynamic" or "small signal" resistance though for this particular case. What if I replaced "impedance" in my answer with "effective series resistance?"
Oct 13, 2021 at 1:09 comment added Alfred Centauri Hi Solomon, is it the case that impedance is defined as $Z=\Delta V / \Delta I$? In my recollection, as an EE old timer, the quantity on the right hand side is an approximation of the so-called dynamic resistance or small-signal resistance. Impedance, on the other hand, is a complex quantity defined as the ratio of the voltage and current phasors associated with a circuit element in AC steady state.
Oct 11, 2021 at 23:24 history answered Solomon Slow CC BY-SA 4.0